Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Apart from the arbitration agreement itself, the arbitration rules selected by the parties will govern the arbitration. Arbitral rules tend to have two specific purposes: (1) the promulgation of a specific set of rules to govern the arbitration process; and (2) the administration of the arbitration itself (i.e., naming or challenging an arbitrator). S. I. Strong, Research and Practice in International Commercial Arbitration, §2.38 (2009). Researchers should be cautious, however, as the arbitration agreement may be varied by the parties. Researchers should pay close attention to those rules that state, "unless otherwise agreed in writing by the parties." This could signify an instance where the parties have deviated from the standard arbitration rule. See Margaret Moses. Introduction to International Commercial Arbitration, 7 (2017).
Guides to Arbitral Institutions
Guide to the ICC Rules of Arbitration
This is a comprehensive text found in Kluwer Arbitration, which relates solely to the ICC Arbitral Rules. This book includes a wealth of information related specifically to the ICC, such as the text of the ICC Rules of Arbitration, Standard ICC Arbitration Clauses, and ICC Dispute Board Rules (plus much more).
Guide to ICSID Arbitration (2010)
This is a procedural guide beginning with an introduction to the ICSID and then going through the process of drafting ICSID agreements to enforcement and execution of ICSID awards. Includes an appendix with the ICSID Rules of Procedure for Arbitration Proceedings.
A Guide to the NAI (Netherlands Arbitration Institute) Arbitration Rules (2009)
This guide focuses on the NAI's Rules of Arbitration, and includes text of the Netherlands Arbitration Act along with commentary on the rules of arbitration.
The Vienna Rules: A Commentary on International Arbitration in Austria
This book is available through Kluwer Arbitration, and focuses on the International Arbitral Centre of the Austrian Federal Economic Chamber in Vienna, a/k/a The Vienna International Arbitral Centre. This is a very comprehensive text that looks at the Centre itself along with the arbitration process in Vienna. Includes a wealth of appendices related to the ICA practice in Vienna.
Rules from Leading Arbitral Institutions
These are some of the leading arbitral institutions, all of which have promulgated their own rules. Researchers should note that there is no requirement to have the arbitration overseen by an arbitral institution (this would lead to an "ad hoc" arbitration), and also that while institutional arbitrations generally are governed by the institutional rules, there may be exceptions. Strong, supra at §2.39.
International Chamber of Commerce (ICC)
Site includes index of ICC Dispute Resolution Rules. While the site includes links to various languages, researchers should note that only the English and French versions are official.
London Court of International Arbitration (LCIA)
This edition of the LCIA rules became effective in 2014. Researchers will find the text of the rules along with an index feature.
International Centre for Dispute Resolution (ICDR)
A division of the American Arbitration Association, the ICDR has promulgated its own set of international arbitration rules. Rules come in a variety of languages, and include rules specific to certain situations (i.e., manufacturer/supplier disputes). Note that you will have to select the proper version of the rules for your situation.
Arbitration Institute of the Stockholm Chamber of Commerce (SCC)
Includes arbitration rules, expedited rules, mediation rules, and SCC procedures under various versions of the UNCITRAL Arbitration rules. Rules took effect January 1, 2017.
Singapore International Arbitration Centre (SIAC)
The SIAC is currently in the fifth edition of arbitral rules, which took effect on August 1, 2016. Alternatively, parties can choose to adopt the UNCITRAL Arbitration Rules, as revised in 2010.
United Nations Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL)
Rules include procedural rules for use regarding the conduct of arbitral proceedings arising out of commercial relationships--they are widely used in ad hoc arbitrations and are also used in other administered arbitrations. Recently revised in 2010, and amended in 2013 to include new article 1, paragraph 4.
International Bar Association (IBA)
Includes guides, rules, and other free materials, including the IBA's Rules on Taking Evidence in International Commercial Arbitration. Researchers may also be interested in the IBA Guidelines on Conflict of Interest in International Arbitration.
Arbitration Rules of the Australian Centre for International Commercial Arbitration (ACICA)
Researchers may also wish to check this website for commentary to the Arbitration Rules (found under the Resources tab), and should note that there are also rules for expedited arbitration (2016) and mediation (2007--found under the "Mediation" tab). ACICA rules were most recently amended in 2016.
Chinese European Arbitration Centre (CEAC) Hamburg Arbitration Rules
The Chinese European Arbitration Centre GmbH was founded on 02 September 2008 and registered with the commercial register on 12 September 2008. As of 18 September 2008 the Chinese European Arbitration Centre has been inaugurated and is commencing its activities. The consolidated English version of the rules was released in 2012.
World Intellectual Property Organization Arbitration Rules
The latest version of WIPO Arbitration rules took effect June 1, 2014. For additional resources, click the "Arbitration" bread crumb link.
2018 HKIAC Administered Arbitration Rules
These Rules have been adopted by the Council of the Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre (HKIAC) for use by parties who seek the procedural flexibility and cost effectiveness of an arbitration administered by HKIAC.
Compilations of Arbitration Centers
Juris International: Arbitration and Mediation Centers
This is a free database, organized by nation, of the various arbitral and mediation centers. The database entries are nicely organized, and when available, provides links to the arbitral institution's website as well as links to helpful information such as model clauses and arbitral rules.
Database Research (Arbitral Rules)
The Detroit Mercy Law Library's collection includes subscriptions to Westlaw and Kluwer Arbitration, with practical tools helpful in conducting research on arbitral rules.
Link provides direct access to the database for International Arbitration Rules.
Not recommended for location of full text of rules. Kluwer Arbitration's website permits the research to get a quick glance at the scope of a rule--this is not the full text of the rule. From the home page, locate the "Institution's Procedural Rule" from the "Practice Tools" tab and select the link for the appropriate institution and topic. This feature is good for comparing rules from multiple jurisdictions or on multiple topics.