LibGuides: International Commercial Arbitration: Tools

Databases

Kluwer Arbitration
This is our most comprehensive database relating specifically to ICA resources. The database offers a wealth of online resources, including links to books, journals, current awareness, and other tools that would benefit anyone involved in the field of ICA.
Westlaw
WestlawNext has restructured its resources for International Arbitration materials. You can locate these materials on one particular webpage, by selecting "International Materials" under the Browse section. From there, select "International Arbitration Materials" from the right hand of the screen. This will allow you to view all available resources housed within WestlawNext.
Westlaw Research Guide
For additional information and tips on how to use the Westlaw ICA materials more efficiently, check out this link. Guide was published in 2010, so some information may be outdated.
HeinOnline
HeinOnline has a lot of information that is sometimes overshadowed by its Journal Library. Apart from the Law Journal Library, researchers should also look in "Foreign and International Law Resources Database" and the "US Treaties and Agreements Library" or "World Treaty" database.
JSTOR
Great for researching inter-disciplinary materials. Also contains journals with international focus, such as Arab Law Quarterly, Journal of African Law, etc. Be sure to check out the titles listed in the "Law" discipline.
SSRN
This is a free database, which contains articles on a wide variety of subjects. There is a law-specific database known as the Legal Scholarship Network, which researchers can use to make results lists more manageable.
International Investment Arbitration and Public Policy
Includes caselaw regarding bilateral investment treaties, and cases involving free trade agreements, such as NAFTA, CAFTA, and ASEAN. Coverage is very limited with few full-text opinions.
CISG Online (Global Sales Law)
Search for CISG cases online. (Translations not available for all cases).

More Research Guides

A web-based listing of some of the major research guides for ICA.

The American Society of International Law (ASIL)
Great bibliography containing links to arbitration statutes of other nations, as well as a walk through of other relevant resources and databases.
Update to International Commercial Arbitration: Locating the Resources, Jean M. Wenger
Published May 24, 2004--Does contain outdated links. See information button for tips on using this resource.
more...less...
As this guide was published on May 24, 2004, many of the links are no longer valid; however, the index of materials is helpful. Some of the resources may still be located using "The Wayback Machine," or alternatively, researchers may use the guide as a starting point to new research links.
A Selective Guide to Online International Arbitration Resources, Gloria Miccioli
Published June 24, 2004--Does contain outdated links. See more information below for tips on using this resource.
more...less...
As this guide was published on May 24, 2004, many of the links are no longer valid; however, the index of materials is helpful. Some of the resources may still be located using "The Wayback Machine," or alternatively, researchers may use the guide as a starting point to new research links.
GlobaLex
Researchers may find helpful information under the International Law Research link or the Foreign Law Research link. This site has a lot of great research guides, specific to ICA-type issues, which have been compiled by professional librarians. Many research guides also include updates with newer materials. Be sure to view the latest update to International Commercial Law: "International Commercial Arbitration."
International Law Institute's Research Guide for International Commercial and Investment Arbitration

Directories of Arbitrators

More for practitioners, these sites direct researchers to directories of arbitrators, which they may find helpful in the selection of an arbitrator. Researchers may find it helpful to cross-search within the different directory databases.

International Arbitration Institute
This database includes members of the International Arbitration Institute of Paris. Researchers will find this site helpful in terms of the information and search options available. For example, researchers can view the members' experience as both counsel and as arbitrator or can limit their search to a specific language spoken.