Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Treatises Available Through Kluwer Arbitration
The Detroit Mercy Law Library offers a number of important ICA treatises in an online format. Many more treatises are available online through the Library's Kluwer Arbitration database (see link at the end of this list for comprehensive index of online books).
Treatises Available Through Westlaw
Westlaw also offers a variety of treatises and secondary sources in the field of international commercial arbitration. Researchers can begin their research in one of these databases by clicking on the link of the appropriate title of the publication or by browsing the International Arbitration materials in Westlaw (Westlaw account privileges are required). To browse all resources, select "International Materials" from the Browse feature in Westlaw. From the right hand side of the screen, select "International Arbitration Materials." Once in the International Arbitration Materials, you can view featured titles or all titles under "Treatises."
Domke on Commercial Arbitration
This source covers both domestic and international commercial arbitration, and includes references to statutes, case law, and arbitration rules. Researchers can also find forms, checklists, and illustrations/examples.
International Construction Arbitration Handbook
Co-authored by Detroit Mercy Law's very own, Professor Harris, this is a well-organized and comprehensive guide to international construction arbitration. It is also available in print format. Also available in print.
Arbitration in China: A Practical Guide
This is a two-volume set published in 2004. It offers information regarding arbitration in China, and includes texts of rules and conventions, forms, and tables.
Arbitration in Hong Kong: A Practical Guide
Like the above resource, this 2003 set includes two volumes, and offers similar materials, but is particular to Hong Kong.
Resource includes information on domestic and international commercial arbitration, with forms, checklists, rules, customs, and procedures.
Intro. to Arbitration: Swiss and International Perspective
This is volume 10 of the Swiss Commercial Law Series, and it includes a discussion of International Arbitration in Switzerland, and developments in international arbitral institutions, such as the AAA, CIETAC, etc.
Understanding Transnational Commercial Arbitration
Provides a multi-authored view, focusing on the practical side of matters in ICA.
The Detroit Mercy Law Library also has other helpful materials apart from our treatises. Check these out!
Arbitration of International Business Disputes by
Call Number: K2400 .P368 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Arbitration of International Business Disputes 2nd edition is a fully revised and updated anthology of essays by Rusty Park, a leading scholar in international arbitration and a sought-after arbitrator for both commercial and investment treaty cases. This collection focuses on controversial questions in arbitration of trade, financial, and investment disputes. The essays address some of the most interesting topics in cross-border business dispute resolution, many of which have endured over several decades and remain subject to radically different views. Examples include the proper role of judicial review, the allocation of jurisdictional tasks, evolution of arbitration's statutory and treaty framework, free trade and bilateral investment agreements, and the balance between fixed rules and arbitral discretion. The book is structured around three themes: arbitration's legal framework; the conduct of arbitral proceedings; and a comparison of arbitration in specific fields such as finance, intellectual property, and taxation. In each of these areas, analysis includes the tensions between fairness and efficiency, and the accurate application of substantive law as well as the implications of mandatory procedural norms. Augmented by more than a dozen new contributions and a revised introduction, this 2nd edition retains all of its earlier practical and scholarly relevance, and includes a Foreword by V. V. (Johnny) Veeder QC.
Confidentiality in International Commercial Arbitration by
Call Number: K 2400 .S648 2011
Publication Date: 2011
A work dedicated solely to confidentiality in ICA. This work covers basics from distinguishing confidentiality to privacy and the legal basis of confidentiality. The book also includes a chapter on the persons subject to confidentiality agreements and breach of confidentiality agreements and the possible consequences.
Conflict of Laws in International Arbitration by
Call Number: K 2400 .A6 C664 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Offers thirteen individually authored chapters in three main areas, including Conflict of Laws questions concerning the arbitration agreement and the jurisdiction of the tribunal, Conflict of Laws questions concerning law applicable to the merits, and Conflicts of Laws questions concerning the arbitration procedure.
Consent in International Arbitration by
Call Number: K2400 .S74 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Examining the notion, nature, and extent of consent in both commercial arbitration and investment arbitration, this book provides practitioners and academics with a thorough, case-related analysis of an issue which raises many questions. Whilst considering the evolution of arbitration and its consensual nature - enlargement of the parties' freedom to consent to arbitration, and development from commercial arbitration to investment arbitration - it addresses important theoretical questions to offer practical solutions. These include: how consent to arbitrate is expressed and when mutual consent to arbitration is reached; which law shall govern the arbitration agreement or, more particularly, consent as an element of the substantive validity of it; and, conversely, according to which law will a possible lack of consent be judged; how consent should be interpreted; which relationship exists between consent as part of the substantive validity of an arbitration agreement and its formal validity; which, if any, are the implied terms when consenting to arbitration; how consent to arbitrate influences procedural aspects (counterclaims, joinder, consolidation), and which solutions adopted by treaties, national laws or arbitration rules are, or would be, the most respectful of parties' consent in this respect; what in investment arbitration is the relationship between consent and most-favored-nation clauses or the influence of umbrella clauses. The book includes original arguments and puts forward new suggestions with regard to the changeable consensual character of arbitration. It also provides a particular focus on problems that frequently arise in practice of international arbitration, for example issues related to complex multiparty arbitration and to jurisdictional questions in investment arbitration.
Handbook on International Arbitration and ADR by
Call Number: K 2400 .H3633 2010
Publication Date: 2010
There are six parts to this book, which focus on international arbitrators and institutions; international arbitration proceedings; enforcement of arbitral awards; negotiation and mediation; international mediation; and investment trade arbitration and mediation. Each part contains several chapters that have been written by individual authors, from a wide variety of backgrounds.
Primers and Treatises in Print
This section highlights some of the major ICA works contained within our collection. Major treatises can be found in "ICA--The Basics."
International Commercial Arbitration by
Call Number: K2400 .B676 2014
Publication Date: 2014 (Course Reserve)
The second edition of Gary Born's International Commercial Arbitration is an authoritative 4,408 page treatise, in three volumes, providing the most comprehensive commentary and analysis, on all aspects of the international commercial arbitration process, that is available. The first edition of International Commercial Arbitration is widely acknowledged as the preeminent commentary in the field. It was awarded the 2011 Certificate of Merit by the American Society of International Law and was voted the International Dispute Resolution Book of the Year by the Oil, Gas, Mining and Infrastructure Dispute Management list serve in 2010. The first edition has been extensively cited in national court decisions and arbitral awards around the world. The treatise comprehensively examines the law and practice of contemporary international commercial arbitration, thoroughly explicating all relevant international conventions, national arbitration statutes and institutional arbitration rules. It focuses on both international instruments (particularly the New York Convention) and national law provisions in all leading jurisdictions (including the UNCITRAL Model Law on International Commercial Arbitration). Practitioners, academics, clients, institutions and other users of international commercial arbitration will find clear and authoritative guidance in this work.
Redfern and Hunter on International Arbitration by
Publication Date: 2015
A comprehensive single volume treatise on the subject of international commercial arbitration. Link to online resource; prior edition available in print at the circulation desk.
International Construction Arbitration Handbook by
Call Number: K2400.A15 I575
Publication Date: 2016
This is a two-volume set, and is currently located in course reserve. Prior editions can be found on the second floor of the Law Library. Second volume consists solely of appendices, and includes major treaties and conventions, arbitration laws, arbitration rules, arbitration guides/protocols, and sample provisions.
Treatises Available Through Lexis Advance
Recent Additions to the Collection
Here, we will highlight some of our recent additions, which are no longer featured on the homepage of this research guide. Many of the recent additions offer great content and are relevant to current issues in the field.
The Complete Guide to the Willem C. Vis Commercial Arbitration Moot by
Call Number: K2400 .C66 2017
Publication Date: 2017
Eleven teams of student participants attended the first Willem C Vis International Arbitration Moot in 1993/1994. Twenty years later 290 teams from 67 countries plus a huge number of coaches and arbitrators gathered in what is now considered one of the largest international arbitration events in the world. The cases dealt with are based on an international sales transaction governed by CISG, including procedural issues of arbitration. This book is meant for participants of the Vis Moot. It provides the reader with step-by-step practical advice in order to maximise his or her experience. It explains registration and offers tips on finding and organising the team, analysing the case, writing memoranda, presenting the case in the oral pleadings and organising the trips to Vienna or Hong Kong. Any student contemplating taking part in the so-called 'Moot Experience' will find the information needed to make the Vis Moot a real lifetime experience.
The Development of World Trade Organization Law by
Call Number: K4610 .M477 2016
Publication Date: 2016
The World Trade Organization is a central player in international trade regulation. The rights and duties that form WTO law are not created in a vacuum, however, and there exists a complex network of domestic, regional and international influences on the development of WTO law that go beyondthe disciplines found in the covered agreements or the interpretations given by panels and the Appellate Body. As such, understanding the development of WTO law in a wider institutional context is critical to comprehending WTO law in a new age of legal globalization. The Development of World Trade Organization Law: Examining Change in International Law examines the development of WTO law through an analysis of competing global actors, norms, and institutions. Taking a different approach to social-scientific or traditional legal models, this book argues that suchglobalized actors are the driving force behind the development of WTO law yet not in control of it. Identifying causal language as key to understanding this development, the volume examines three different causal influences: instrumental, systemic, and constitutive. It applies this causalmethodology to three key areas of WTO law: safeguard measures, sanitary and phytosanitary measures, and subsidies. The volume provides detailed explanations of why the law has developed as it has and offers insights into the future functioning of the WTO system.
The Doctrine of Res Judicata Before International Commercial Arbitral Tribunals by
Call Number: K2400 .S334 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Today, international commercial disputes regularly involve multiple parties, contracts, and issues. As a result, the number of disputes that are tried in two or more different forums has increased, giving rise to difficult issues regarding the conclusive and preclusive effects of prio rjudgments or awards. As a result, the doctrine of res judicata, which requires that a final decision by a court or arbitral tribunal is conclusive and should not be re-litigated, is of increasing significance. Dr Silja Schaffstein provides the first practical and comprehensive guidelines formatters of res judicata for international commercial arbitration practitioners. Structured in two parts, part one examines the doctrine of res judicata in domestic and international litigation whilst part two determines whether and how the res judicata doctrine may be applied by international commercial arbitral tribunals. Dr Schaffstein identifies situations in which resjudicata issues are likely to arise before international commercial arbitral tribunals and provides actionable solutions. The book determines the key features of the doctrine of res judicata in the laws of England, the United States, France and Switzerland, as representative of the common lawsystem on the one hand and the civil law system on the other hand. The book also presents the doctrine of res judicata in the context of private international law, alongside its crucial aspects and application in public international law by international courts and tribunals. The aim of the work is to demonstrate how transnational principles of res judicata should be elaborated for international commercial arbitral tribunals. The analysis looks at how the doctrine should be applied by international commercial arbitral tribunals in their relations with other arbitraltribunals or state courts, and within the arbitral proceedings pending before them. The work sets out the transnational principles in the form of guidelines for international arbitrators.
Still Looking for a Resource?
This form allows our patrons to suggest that materials be added to our collection. Unless it is a source you have previously evaluated, you may wish to first utilize the Inter Library Loan (ILL) method.
Suggest a Purchase
Students and faculty may suggest a purchase using this form. Library staff will evaluate the suggestion and determine whether to add the resource to our collection.
Interlibrary Loan Form
Use this form if you would like to request materials from another institution.
LC Subject Headings
International Commercial Arbitration
Conflict of laws
Arbitration and award -- United States
Arbitration and award
American Arbitration Association -- Rules and practice
Dispute resolution (Law)