Treaties, Conventions, and Other Sources of LawNational Arbitration Statutes/LegislationArbitration RulesArbitral AwardsCase LawBooksJournalsModel Arbitration Clauses
This is the "Welcome" page of the "International Commercial Arbitration" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

International Commercial Arbitration   Tags: adr, alternative dispute resolution, arbitration, international  

Last Updated: Apr 28, 2017 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/ica Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 

ICA Course Offerings at UDM Law

List of courses available from the University of Detroit Mercy School of Law in the field of International Commercial Arbitration.

Willem C. Vis ICA Moot

Information about the Annual Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot Competition.

ICA News from Lexis

Stay current in the area of ICA with Lexis. Search "International Arbitration Report NewsBrief: Mealey's" for current topics, or begin your search by looking at recent updates within the past week or month.

 

Welcome!

This guide is designed to help locate primary and secondary resources specific to the field of international commercial arbitration (ICA) within the UDM Law Library Collections, and which relate to our curriculum. This first page of the research guide provides links and feeds to news and blog sites, which will help researchers stay current in the area of ICA, as well as some links to courses offered here at UDM Law and international moot court competitions.

 

ICA News and Perspectives from Kluwer Arbitration

Features entries relating to current issues in the field of international commercial arbitration. The blog is regularly updated.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

TDM News

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

International Arbitration Blog

Blog posts come several times a year, and covers notable legal cases in ICA along with other trends and issues in the field of ICA. Some postings are in languages other than English.

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Reference Librarian

Profile Image
Alicia Dyer
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Send Email
 

New in Our Collection

Here you will find the latest additions to our collection of ICA materials.

Cover Art
The Complete (but Unofficial) Guide to the Willem C Vis Commercial Arbitration Moot - Jörg Risse (Editor)
Call Number: K2400 .C66 2015
ISBN: 1509903224
Publication Date: 2015
Eleven teams of student participants attended the first Willem C Vis International Arbitration Moot in 1993/1994. Twenty years later 290 teams from 67 countries plus a huge number of coaches and arbitrators gathered in what is now considered one of the largest international arbitration events in the world. The cases dealt with are based on an international sales transaction governed by CISG, including procedural issues of arbitration.This book is meant for participants of the Vis Moot. It provides the reader with step-by-step practical advice in order to maximize his or her experience. It explains registration and offers tips on finding and organizing the team, analyzing the case, writing memoranda, presenting the case in the oral pleadings and organizing the trips to Vienna or Hong Kong. Any student contemplating taking part in the so-called 'Moot Experience' will find the information needed to make the Vis Moot a real lifetime experience.

Cover Art
The Doctrine of Res Judicata Before International Commercial Arbitral Tribunals - Silja Schaffstein
Call Number: K2400 .S334 2016
ISBN: 0198715617
Publication Date: 2016
Structured in two parts, part one examines the doctrine of res judicata in domestic and international litigation whilst part two determines whether and how the res judicata doctrine may be applied by international commercial arbitral tribunals. Dr Schaffstein identifies situations in which res judicata issues are likely to arise before international commercial arbitral tribunals and provides serviceable solutions. The book presents the keyfeatures of the doctrine of res judicata in the laws of England, the United States, France, and Switzerland, i.e. major representatives of the common law system on the one hand and the civil law system on the other hand.The book also presents the doctrine of res judicata in the context of private international law, alongside its crucial aspects and application in public international law by international courts and tribunals.

Cover Art
ICC Arbitration in Practice - Erik Schäfer; Christophe Imhoos; Herman Verbist
Call Number: K2400 .V47 2016
ISBN: 904113171X
Publication Date: 2016
The Rules of Arbitration of the International Chamber of Commerce - commonly referred to as the ICC Rules -- are the rules most frequently used in commercial disputes between business partners from different countries. Since they were first launched in 1922, these Rules have been applied in over 21,000 cases. The second revised edition of this eminently practical volume provides an article-by-article commentary of the current version of the ICC Rules of Arbitration in force as from 1 January 2012. Using clear and concise language, unencumbered by footnotes and illustrated by flow diagrams, the authors guide the reader through the various stages of ICC arbitration proceedings, from initiation to the final award. This thorough analysis is enhanced with other invaluable material, including: * a digest of statistics relating to ICC arbitration for the years 2009 to 2013; * references to selected national arbitration laws and to the UNCITRAL Model Law on International Commercial Arbitration; * a bibliography, including useful web sites; and * a separate chapter on ICC's other dispute resolution services, such as mediation, expert proceedings, dispute boards, DOCDEX and the pre-arbitral referee procedure. Appendices provide the reader with the texts of ICC's various dispute resolution rules and other relevant documents. The authors, all practicing lawyers, have all worked as counsel at the Secretariat of the ICC International Court of Arbitration. They have gone on to represent parties and act as arbitrators in many international proceedings. They also serve as mediators and party representatives in international mediations. They are also members of the ICC Commission on Arbitration and ADR and participated in the discussions leading to the 2012 ICC Rules of Arbitration. Written from a practical perspective, this book remains an essential resource for company lawyers who wish to familiarize themselves with ICC arbitration, assess the pros and cons of entering into an arbitration clause referring to the ICC Rules, or obtain information and guidance on how to proceed in a given situation. Arbitration practitioners will find useful information on the practice of ICC arbitration, including various notes of the ICC Court Secretariat and reports of the ICC Commission on Arbitration and ADR.

Cover Art
An Introduction to International Arbitration - Ilias Bantekas
Call Number: K2400 .B36 2015
ISBN: 1107527805
Publication Date: 2015
This concise yet comprehensive textbook introduces the reader to the law and practice of international arbitration. Arbitration is a complex field due to the variety of disciplines involved and necessitates an approach that takes nothing for granted. Written by a renowned scholar and practitioner, this book explains the divergent issues of civil procedure, contracts, conflict of laws, international law amongst others in an accessible manner. Focusing mainly on international commercial arbitration, the book also features a distinct chapter on consumer and online arbitration and an equally comprehensive chapter on international investment arbitration.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip