Researchers should note that arbitral awards are binding only on the parties to that particular arbitration. S. I. Strong, Research and Practice in International Commercial Arbitration, §5.21 (2009). According to Strong, however, arbitral awards can be helpful to researchers when considering issues not covered by national statutes or that are infrequently discussed in national courts, such as procedural matters and challenges to arbitrators. Id.
- Westlaw Arbitral Awards
To access ICA materials, look for "International Materials" under the Browse feature of WestlawNext. On the right-hand navigation bar, select "International Arbitration Materials." When you reach that screen, you can choose the appropriate jurisdiction under "Awards," or click on "All International Arbitration Awards" for a more comprehensive list.
Below is a compilation of resources available to researchers at the UDM Law Library in print or online from which they can search for arbitral decisions.
- ASA Bulletin
Available through Kluwer Arbitration.
- Caselaw on UNCITRAL Texts (CLOUT)
A database developed by the UNCITRAL Secretariat for searching thorugh various case law and arbitral awards that relate to the Conventions and Model Laws that have emanated from the work of the Commission. This link takes the researcher to the search feature of the database, which also includes links to browse features by country or legislative text.
- The Hague Court Reports: Comprising the Awards, Accompanied by Syllabi . . .
Available online through HeinOnline. Researchers should note that this is a historical collection, with reports from 1916 and 1932.
- ICSID "Cases"
Pursuant to the requirements of the ICSID, the Secretary General must publish (with the consent of both disputing parties) reports of conciliation commissions or awards rendered by arbitral tribunals in ICSID proceedings. This is the database for finding those decisions. Website is helpful to researchers to find basic information and issues in cases as well as the location of any published decisions.
- International Chamber of Commerce-International Court of Arbitration Awards
Includes extracts from some ICC arbitral awards. Researchers should note that the extracts have been redacted to maintain confidentiality requirements.
- Kluwer Arbitration Blog
The Kluwer Arbitration blog contains information on select arbitral awards. Researchers can choose to browse the blog entries by category, which includes a category specific to arbitral awards.
- NAFTA Chapter Eleven Reports
Available online through Kluwer Arbitration.
- Reports of International Arbitral Awards
Multiple search options are available to review reports of arbitral awards involving States or a State and international organizations. Researchers should note that awards between a private individual or body and a state have been omitted.
- Yearbook Commercial Arbitration
Available online through Kluwers Arbitration. Full text available from 1976 to 2010.
For issues specific to international commercial contracts or international contracts on the sale of goods, researchers may find the following sources more useful.
In Lexis Advance, choose the "Browse Sources" feature, and search for "International Arbitration: Mealey's Litigation Report." The source is current from April 1990.
- Arbitral Award Sources on Lexis
From Lexis Advance: International Arbitration: Mealey's Litigation Report is a collection of articles and analysis from experts in the unique field of international arbitration law. Authors provide perspectives from Great Britain, Hong Kong,France, Australia, Japan, Germany, Canada and the United States. Topics range from enforcement of awards to selection of arbitrators to the examination of new statutes and rules.