Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Fall 2021 Law Library Access & Services: Research

The Law Library remains committed to supporting the Detroit Mercy Law community during this period of uncertainty. Email us at lawlibrary@udmercy.edu with any research needs you may have, or to schedule a virtual reference session with one of our librarians.

For problems with passwords or access to remote databases, please contact lawlibrary@udmercy.edu.

Popular Databases with Off-Campus Access

A variety of legal and non-legal databases can be accessed remotely by logging in with your last name and T number. A selection of popular databases are listed below:

Bloomberg Law
Access primary and secondary sources, Bloomberg BNA commentary and analysis, news, company information, dockets, and more. Registration with your Detroit Mercy email required.

ProQuest Congressional
Covers legislative and regulatory information from the United States Government. Includes index records, abstracts, and some full text of congressional publications.

HeinOnline
Searchable image-based PDFs of law journals, multidisciplinary periodicals, essential government documents, international resources, case law, and much more.

Catalog of Government Publications
Finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document, when available.

Municode
Access municipal codes from across the country.

Interdisciplinary Resources

Students can also access a number of interdisciplinary resources from the McNichols campus library. Login through Blackboard may be required.

UDM McNichols Campus Databases

MeL (Michigan eLibrary)
Wide-ranging collection of free electronic resources available to anyone within Michigan. The Legal Information Resource Center features full-text copies of Nolo publications.

Hathi Trust Digital Library
Collection of digitized resources from the print collections of university libraries throughout the United States. Many items dated before 1923 are full-text and are available for download.

ICLE Resources

Institute of Continuing Legal Education (ICLE) books focus on Michigan law and are written to assist attorneys in their practice. Students may sign up for up to two 60-day periods of access to ICLE’s Premium Partnership Resources for use in their coursework per calendar year. ICLE access may be especially useful in the event of a particular research project. Ask your professor if they feel that an ICLE book may be of help to you. For more information on ICLE resources, see www.icle.org. To apply for a password, contact the library at lawlibrary@udmercy.edu.

Remote Services

Need Help?

Email lawlibrary@udmercy.edu
or chat with a librarian.

 

 

View FAQ