LibGuides: Federal Judicial Internships: Secondary Sources

Popular Treatises

Federal Procedure (Thomson Reuters)
This is a multi-volume set that covers civil, criminal, administrative, bankruptcy, and appellate federal procedure. It includes a comprehensive topical index. The index will guide users to other sections within the set. Section numbers are found on the binding.
more...less...
Finding tools include the topical index; table of cases; Sentencing Guidelines with Annotations from the USCA (with topics and West Key Numbers); tables (quickly locate statutes, CFRs, other administrative regulations, court rules, international agreements, and procedural manuals cited within the set); and a Constitution volume (includes the text of the US Constitution and library annotations for the Administrative Procedures Act and Judicial Procedure Act).
Federal Procedural Forms (Thomson Reuters)
To be used in connection with the Federal Procedure. This multi-volume set is set up similar to the Federal Procedure series. Forms do include research references where applicable, such as West's Key Numbers.
more...less...
Finding aids include tables and a comprehensive index.
Moore's Federal Practice--Civil (3d Edition)
This is a multi-volume set pertaining to civil, criminal, appellate, and admiralty law in the federal courts. Civil volumes are organized by court rule number and contain library references and historical appendices with prior versions of the court rules.
more...less...
This set includes two volumes dedicated to Federal Jurisdiction and a single volume dedicated to Federal Venue. Finding tools include indexes and tables (primary sources, statutes, and cases). There is a stand-alone index volume for the civil rules; indexes for criminal, appellate, and admiralty law are incorporated into corresponding volumes for those areas.
Federal Practice and Procedure
Popularly known as "Wright and Miller." This is a multi-volume set that addresses federal criminal procedure, civil procedure, jurisdiction, and evidence. Volumes are divided by main topic (i.e., criminal) and organized by rule.
more...less...
This set includes helpful reference sets for criminal and civil rules, which includes the core text of the rules along with commentary and annotations. There is also a separate civil appendix volume, which includes advisory committee notes and other valuable resources. Finding tools include a general index and tables.
West's Federal Forms
This form set corresponds to West's Federal Practice and Procedure. Volumes are broken down by type of court. To access this database in Westlaw Next, type in, "West's Federal Forms."
Bender's Federal Practice Forms
This set corresponds to Moore's Federal Practice. It is organized by court rule.

Helpful Guides

FJC Publications Catalog
Provides several methods to search through FJC publications.

The Federal Judicial Center compiles and publishes a wide variety of manuals, benchbooks, and guides for the Federal Courts. These links include a list of available topics (e.g., evidence, class actions, etc.) as well as some resources that interns might find of particular interest.

Ethics for Federal Judicial Law Clerks
Follows the Code of Conduct for Judicial Employees. Addresses issues such as confidentiality, conflicts of interest, and gifts.
Benchbook for U.S. District Court Judges
Covers criminal, civil, and miscellaneous proceedings.
Deskbook for Chief Judges of U.S. District Courts
Covers topics of interest for Chief Judges of the US District Courts. Topics include general management, case management, and leadership within the courts.
Civil Litigation Management Manual
Includes information on case management in a wide variety of civil topics. Includes a chapter on personnel resources in litigation management, with a discussion on magistrate chambers.
Keeping Government Secrets: A Pocket Guide for Judges on the State-Secrets Privilege, the Classified Information Procedures Act, and Court Security Officers