Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The UDM Law Library is proud to offer a wide range of indexes for varied use. These indexes are particularly helpful for finding older materials; however, researchers may be surprised at the ease of using the print materials for subject-specific legal information from periodicals. We recommend consulting multiple sources when conducting your research.
Index to Legal Periodicals and Books
Prior volumes of this index are held in the law library; however, this index is no longer current in print form. The Index to Legal Periodicals and Books is located in Row 61 on the third floor of the law library. Alternatively, researchers can use the link to access the Index online. The online version is current and regularly maintained.
Current Law Index
This index is available in print from the UDM Law Library, and is located in Row 61 on the third floor--publication ceased in 2016. This title also corresponds with our LegalTrac database, available online. The print version was published annually, and included two volumes (one to browse by subject and the other to browse by author or title).
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
This is an excellent resource that can be used to locate titles and citations to foreign periodicals. Each volume is arranged with a subject index, geographical index, book review index, and author index. This series is no longer being maintained in print; however, it is available from HeinOnline beginning with 1985.
Index to Canadian Legal Literature
This is a multi-volume set that includes a nicely organized subject index. Each volume is dedicated to a specific set of letter combinations (i.e., to locate copyright law materials, consult the CI-DH volume). The set is current through 2012. The ICLL is fully bilingual, and offers comprehensive coverage of Canadian secondary legal literature.
Copyright/IP Journal Titles
This list of links will let you see the library's electronic holdings of a particular journal or law review. Our electronic journal collections are typically found in Hein Online, Lexis, or Westlaw. Many titles are also available in print format. Journal and lwa review titles are located on the third floor of the Law Library.
Here are more databases that researchers may find helpful in the pursuit of copyright law information.
Congressional Research Service Database
This database is sponsored through the University of North Texas and is a comprehensive compilation of CRS reports. The site's aim is to provide integrated, searchable access to many of the full-text CRS reports that have been available at a variety of different web sites since 1990. Many CRS reports are in pdf format.
Databases from the McNichols Campus
Library use only. UDM Law patrons may access materials from the McNichols Campus Databases from within the library. Databases can be helpful if looking at copyright issues from a non-legal perspective.
Newly updated, ProQuest Congressional is a comprehensive database with .pdf files of governmental documents, such as House and Senate Reports, Committee Prints, and CRS Reports.
Multi-Disciplinary Journals from UDM Law
Copyright Law issues extend to a wide variety of disciplines. Researchers may wish to consult a variety of databases in conducting their research. Below, researchers will find a list of databases they may wish to consult for interdisciplinary research needs.
JSTOR (also known as Journal Storage) includes journals from a wide variety of disciplines.
SSRN (Social Science Research Network)
SSRN has articles in 20 core subject areas, including the Legal Scholarship Network. This database is free, and offers abstract and title search features. Abstracts provide helpful glimpses of the articles, and researchers can use the one-click download feature to access relevant articles. This database does include working papers, which may help researchers stay on top of current scholarship in their area.
ProQuest's Government Periodicals Index
This database offers several methods of searching, including a topical index from which researchers can browse different areas of interest. Materials are typically presented in pdf format with direct links to the resource.