StatutesRegulationsAdministrative Law (General Information)Administrative Agencies/Executive DepartmentsBooksJournals/DatabasesMichigan Environmental LawInternational Environmental Law
This is the "International Environmental Law" page of the "Environmental Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Environmental Law  

Last Updated: Aug 28, 2017 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/environmental Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

International Environmental Law Print Page
  Search: 
 

Research Guides for International Environmental Law

  • International Law Research Guides (Georgetown Law Library)
    Researchers will find guides in a wide array of international law topics, including areas such as animal law and environmental law.
  • International Environmental Law (ASIL)
    A research guide on international environmental law by the American Society of International Law.
  • A Basic Guide to International Environmental Law Research
    GlobaLex has put together a basic guide on international environmental law research. These guides are regularly updated, and researchers are encouraged to look at both the current and prior editions of the research guide, based on their particular research needs.
  • Online Research Guide (EISIL)
    The Electronic Information System for International Law (EISIL) has compiled several different resources making this more like a database on international environmental law than a research guide. This site focuses primarily on convention documents or other websites.
  • IEL Research Guide (Peace Palace)
    This research guide provides the basic legal materials available in the Peace Palace Library, both in print and electronic format. Handbooks, leading articles, bibliographies, periodicals, serial publications and documents of interest are presented in the Selective Bibliography section. Be sure to view PP's other research guides, which may be more specific to a particular topic.

CALI Lesson on International Environmental Law

Int'l Environmental Law Periodicals

This list focuses on journals that are either specific to the field of international environmental law or that regularly include articles on international environmental law. Reviewing articles in a journal is a great way to keep abreast of current topics in an area of law. For research purposes, try a search in one of the legal databases or in one of our featured indexes found in the "Journals" tab of this guide.

 

Treatises on International Environmental Law

Cover Art
International Environmental Law in a Nutshell - Lakshman D. Guruswamy
Call Number: K 3585.6 .G87 2012
ISBN: 9780314268174
Publication Date: 2012
Adopting an interdisciplinary framework, the book succinctly, yet accurately, traverses the full gamut of issues challenging the world today. This new edition deals more fully than the third edition with climate change, energy, and sustainable development. It also traverses a host of new challenges, such as drafting a new Kyoto Protocol, the Deepwater Horizon explosion and oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico, and the nuclear meltdown in Fukushima, Japan. It then clearly analyzes the legal responses, whether in the form of treaties, customary law, or soft law instruments.

Cover Art
Principles of International Environmental Law - Philippe Sands; Jacqueline Peel; Adriana Fabra Aguilar (Assisted by); Ruth MacKenzie (As told to); Adriana Fabra (As told to)
Call Number: K3585 .S265 2012
ISBN: 0521769590
Publication Date: 2012
The third edition of this classic textbook offers comprehensive and critical commentary on international environmental law. It fully covers the key topics of the course and is clearly structured to include the history and framework in which international environmental law exists, key areas of regulation and implementation, links to other areas of law and future developments. It has been updated to incorporate all the latest developments in treaty and case law. Extensive feedback on previous editions results in a restructuring of material, including a new part focused on linkage to other areas of international law including human rights, international trade and foreign investment. There is also a new chapter on future developments charting the directions in which the subject is moving. Specialist authors writing on oceans, seas and fisheries and biodiversity add to the expertise of the two principal authors for an authoritative overview of the subject.

Cover Art
A Guide to International Environmental Law - Alexandre Kiss; Dinah Shelton
Call Number: K3585 .K57 2007 (Also available in ebook format)
ISBN: 1571053441
Publication Date: 2007
Guide to International Environmental Law addresses why and how the international system elaborates environmental obligations and monitors compliance with them. The book discusses the relationship between international obligations and national and local law, with particular reference to federal systems. It points out the influence national law has on the emergence of international law and the growing role international norms play in the development and enforcement of national and local environmental policies. It also examines the extent to which environmental protection should be and is taken into account in other regulatory frameworks, from trade law and human rights to disarmament and refugee policy.

Cover Art
International Environmental Law: The Practitioner's Guide to the Laws of the Planet - Roger Romulus Martella; J. Brett Grosko
Call Number: K3585 .I577 2014
ISBN: 1627227377
Publication Date: 2014
Until recently, international environmental law was largely the focus of diplomatic discussions, treaty negotiations, and academic debates of interest to a group of passionate and patient attorneys working for governments and international nongovernmental organizations. With clients becoming multinational in nature and faced with a rapidly emerging and confusing regime of international environmental laws, understanding international environmental law is becoming a core skillset for every environmental attorney. International Environmental Law helps attorneys understand the unique ramifications of these laws, regardless of where they practice and whom they represent. Written by attorneys with extensive experience in the area, International Environmental Law provides an analytical framework to help practitioners advise clients, whether from law firms, in house, or within government and nongovernmental organizations.

 

Books on International Environmental Law

This is not a comprehensive list of titles on the field of International Environmental Law, but is only a representation of some of the types of titles we house in our collection. For additional titles, try a search in our Murphy catalog. You can search by keyword, or you might try to search using a subject heading, such as "Environmental Law, International," "Climatic Changes," "Marine Pollution," "Natural Resources," "Shore Protection," or "Sustainable Development." For additional suggestions in subject heading searches, please see a librarian.

Cover Art
Research Handbook on International Environmental Law - Malgosia Fitzmaurice (Editor); David Ong (Editor); Panos Merkouris (Editor)
Call Number: K 3585 .R48 2010
ISBN: 9781847201249
Publication Date: 2010
This wide-ranging and comprehensive handbook examines developments in international environmental law and the crossover effects of this expansion on other areas of public law, such as trade law and law of the sea.

Cover Art
The Global Environment - Regina S. Axelrod; David Leonard Downie; Norman J. Vig
Call Number: K 3585.4 .G58 2005
ISBN: 156802827X
Publication Date: 2005

Cover Art
The Expropriation of Environmental Governance - Kyla Tienhaara
Call Number: K 3585 .T54 2009
ISBN: 9780521114875
Publication Date: 2009
Recent years have seen an explosive increase in investor-state disputes resolved in international arbitration. This is significant not only in terms of the number of disputes that have arisen and the number of states that have been involved, but also in terms of the novel types of dispute that have emerged. Traditionally, investor-state disputes resulted from straightforward incidences of nationalisation or breach of contract. In contrast, modern disputes frequently revolve around government measures taken to further public policy goals, such as the protection of the environment. This book explores the outcomes of several investor-state disputes over environmental policy. In addition to examining the pleadings of parties and decisions of arbitral tribunals in disputes that have been resolved in arbitration, the influence that investment arbitration has had in negotiated outcomes to conflicts is also explored.

Cover Art
Legal Aspects of Implementing the Kyoto Protocol Mechanisms - David Freestone (Editor); Charlotte Streck (Editor)
Call Number: K3593.A41992 Z4 2005
ISBN: 0199279616
Publication Date: 2005
The first protocol to the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) was adopted in Kyoto in 1997. It is a unique international law instrument which sets stringent, legally binding targets for the reduction of emissions of the "greenhouse gases". Drawing on the emerging body of expertise in this complex area, this book conveys a knowledge of what is becoming known as "Carbon Finance". It provides practical legal advice to public and private sector lawyers and to civil servants who work on the implementation of the Kyoto Protocol to the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change.

Looseleaf Services

Looseleaf materials combine statutes, regulations, cases, rulings, and commentaries into a single, authoritative source. 

  • International Environment Reporter
    This is a great source for browsing the current issues in international environmental law. This resource is available electronically through BNA Premier to UDM Law Students and Faculty.

Locating Treaties

One of the primary texts that must be considered with regard to IEL research consists of international agreements, such as treaties, conventions, etc. This section provides researchers with some ideas and databases to help locate treaties. 

  • ASIL's Guide to Researching Public International Law
    The American Society of International Law sponsors this research guide on treaties, which provides guidance on how to go about treaty research and using electronic resources.
  • Treaty Research Guide (Georgetown Law Library)
    Note--Some links are available only to Georgetown University patrons.
  • United Nations Treaty Collection
    This website contains a wealth of information. It allows researches to search for treaties by popular name, title, or participant. It also allows researchers to quickly locate .pdf text of the treaties and subsequent related documents, and view the participants to that particular treaty.
  • EISIL (International Environmental Law)
    This is a basic research guide, which is sub-divided into several broad categories related to international environmental law. Each category contains "primary documents" relevant to that particular area of IEL.
  • FLARE--Index to Treaties  
      
    The FLARE Index to Treaties is a searchable database of basic information on over 2,000 of the most significant multilateral treaties and some bilateral treaties concluded between 1353 and the present, with details of where the full text of each treaty may be obtained in paper and, if available, electronic form on the internet.
  • ECOLEX
    ECOLEX is a database providing the comprehensive, global sources of information on environmental law. ECOLEX is operated jointly by FAO, IUCN and UNEP.
  • UN Treaty Database (Hein Online)

Locating Legislation

In addition to treaties, conventions, etc., researchers may also find it necessary to review the legislation of a particular nation. This section will help researchers to locate the legislation of foreign nations.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip