The Detroit Mercy Law Library is proud to offer a wide range of indexes for varied use. These indexes are particularly helpful for finding older materials; however, researchers may be surprised at the ease of using the print materials for subject-specific legal information from periodicals. We recommend consulting multiple sources when conducting your research.
- Index to Legal Periodicals and Books
Prior volumes of this index are held in the law library; however, this index is no longer current in print form. The Index to Legal Periodicals and Books is located in Row 61 on the third floor of the law library. Alternatively, researchers can use the link to access the Index online. The online version is current and regularly maintained.
- Current Law Index
This index is available in print from the Detroit Mercy Law Library, and is located in Row 61 on the third floor. This title also corresponds with our LegalTrac database, available online. The print version is published annually, and include two volumes (one to browse by subject and the other to browse by author or title).
- Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
This is an excellent resource that can be used to locate titles and citations to foreign periodicals. Each volume is arranged with a subject index, geographical index, book review index, and author index. This series is no longer being maintained in print; however, it is available from HeinOnline beginning with 1985.
- Index to Canadian Legal Literature
This is a multi-volume set that includes a nicely organized subject index. Each volume is dedicated to a specific set of letter combinations (i.e., to located environmental law materials, consult the DI-FE volume). The set is current through 2012. The ICLL is fully bilingual, and offers comprehensive coverage of Canadian secondary legal literature.
This list of links will let you see the library's electronic holdings of a particular journal or law review. Our electronic journal collections are typically found in Hein Online, Lexis, or Westlaw.
Looseleaf services are regularly updated, and provide researchers with a single source to locate a variety of materials. The Environment Reporter provides weekly reports on current happenings in the world of environmental law and regulation, and news on recent technological developments affecting environmental protection. Researchers can find statutes, regulations, cases, rulings, and commentary in these materials, making it a very valuable research tool.
Environmental Law is an interdisciplinary field, and researchers may wish to include in their research materials outside of the law. Below, researchers will find a list of resources they may wish to consult for interdisciplinary research needs.
JSTOR (also known as Journal Storage) includes journals from a wide variety of disciplines.
- SSRN (Social Science Research Network)
SSRN has articles in 20 core subject areas, including the Legal Scholarship Network. This database is free, and offers abstract and title search features. Abstracts provide helpful glimpses of the articles, and researchers can use the one-click download feature to access relevant articles. This database does include working papers, which may help researchers stay on top of current scholarship in their area.
Here are more databases that researchers may find helpful in the pursuit of environmental law information. Many are freely available online.
- ProQuest Congressional
Locate federal primary resources and Congressional Research Service reports with ease. This is a great database that offers a wealth of information and is user friendly.
- The Center for International Environmental Law
CIEL has compiled a lot of publications related to specific issues in international environmental law. Many of the publications are in pdf format and are easily accessible.
- Congressional Research Service Database
This database is sponsored through the University of North Texas and is a comprehensive compilation of CRS reports. The site's aim is to provide integrated, searchable access to many of the full-text CRS reports that have been available at a variety of different web sites since 1990. Many CRS reports are in pdf format.
- Environmental Law Net
This database has compiled a wealth of freely available resources that may be helpful to environmental law researchers.
Search for treaties, court decisions, legislation, and literature.
There is a ready set section devoted to environmental issues that researchers may find beneficial.
- Databases from the McNichols Campus
Library use only. UDM Law patrons may access materials from the McNichols Campus Databases from within the library. Environmental Law researchers may wish to search in Science Direct, Wiley, SciFinder Scholar, and Medline.