LibGuides: Selected Topics in Criminal Law-Seminar: General Resources

About this Section

This section is not devoted to a particular area of criminal law. It is meant for more general research needs.

Criminal Law Journals

Books from our Collection

Run for the Border: Vice and Virtue in U.S.-Mexico Border Crossings by Steven W. Bender
Call Number: KF4819 .B46 2012
ISBN: 0814789528
Publication Date: 2012
Covering everything from the history of Anglo crossings into Mexico to escape law authorities, to vice tourism and retirement in Mexico, to today's focus on Mexican border-crossing immigrants and drug traffickers, Bender takes lessons from the past 150 years to argue for more explicit and compassionate cross-border cooperation.

Finding Tools/Indexes

Index to Legal Periodicals and Books
Prior volumes of this index are held in the law library; however, this index is no longer current in print form. Alternatively, researchers can use the link to access the Index online. The online version is current and regularly maintained.

The UDM Law Library offers a wide range of indexes for varied use. These indexes are particularly helpful for finding older materials; however, researchers may be surprised at the ease of using the print materials for subject-specific legal information from periodicals.

Current Law Index
This index is available in print from the Law Library; however, publication ceased in 2016. The print version was published annually, and included two volumes (one to browse by subject and the other to browse by author or title).
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
This is an excellent resource that can be used to locate titles and citations to foreign periodicals. Each volume is arranged with a subject index, geographical index, book review index, and author index. This series is no longer being maintained in print; however, it is available from HeinOnline beginning with 1985.
Index to Canadian Legal Literature
This is a multi-volume set that includes a nicely organized subject index. Each volume is dedicated to a specific set of letter combinations (i.e., to locate environmental law materials, consult the DI-FE volume). The set is current through 2011. The ICLL is fully bilingual, and offers comprehensive coverage of Canadian secondary legal literature.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases from UDM Law

JSTOR
JSTOR (also known as Journal Storage) includes journals from a wide variety of disciplines.

For interdisciplinary research, you may wish to include in your research materials outside the realm of the law. Below, students will find a list of resources they may wish to consult for interdisciplinary research needs.

SSRN (Social Science Research Network)
SSRN has articles in 20 core subject areas, including the Legal Scholarship Network. This database is free, and offers abstract and title search features. Abstracts provide helpful glimpses of the articles, and researchers can use the one-click download feature to access relevant articles. This database does include working papers, which may help researchers stay on top of current scholarship in their area.
ProQuest Congressional
Online version of Congressional Information Service (CIS). Includes PDF files of legislative materials.
ProQuest's Government Periodicals Index
This database offers several methods of searching, including a topical index from which researchers can browse different areas of interest. Materials are typically presented in pdf format with direct links to the resource.
Congressional Research Service Database
This database is sponsored through the University of North Texas and is a comprehensive compilation of CRS reports. The site's aim is to provide integrated, searchable access to many of the full-text CRS reports that have been available at a variety of different web sites since 1990.
Databases from the McNichols Campus
The UDM Law Library is able to offer content through databases maintained by the McNichols campus. There is a wide variety of journals and indexes that may benefit you in your research.
more...less...
Best Bets: Academic One File; Alt Watch Press; Gale Criminal Justice Collection; MeL Health and Wellness Resource Center; ProQuest Criminal Justice; ProQuest Gender Watch; Sage Criminology); Wiley Online Library
MeL Databases (Michigan E Library)
Researchers can locate additional online resources through these MeL databases. Access is available on-campus and also with a valid Michigan driver's license number.
Hein Online
Offers pdf versions of many law reviews and law journals as well as governmental resources.

Statistical Information

Federal Justice Statistics Resource Center
Includes judicial and criminal statistical information.
USA.gov (Data and Statistics)
Includes statistical information on crime and justice.
FASTSTATS (Center for Disease Control)
Researchers may find statistics for specific topics, such as illegal drug use or sexually transmitted diseases.

Search Our Catalog

WorldCat

Still Looking for a Resource?

This form allows our patrons to request items via Inter Library Loan (ILL). ILL forms are online, or you may contact a librarian for help with your request.