LibGuides: Family Law: Current Issues

Family Law Prof Blog

Stay current on family law issues with this provocative and helpful legal blog.

Family Law Journals

Stay current in the area of family law with journals. For general research purposes, the UDM Law Library encourages our researchers to consult a variety of resources, which could include journals and law reviews that are not specific to the area of family law.

Family Law Quarterly
Available online through Hein; covers from 1967 to present.
Canadian Family Law Quarterly
Available online through Westlaw; database identifier is CFLQ.
University of Louisville Journal of Family Law
Available in print and also online through Hein Online or Westlaw.
Journal of Law and Family Studies
International Journal of Law, Policy, and the Family
Also available in print and online through Hein, Westlaw, and Lexis.
Family Court Review
Available through Lexis and Westlaw; Westlaw database identifier is FAMCR. Requires login.
International Journal of the Jurisprudence of Family
Available online through Hein.
Journal of the American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers
Also available in print and online via Hein.
Tulane Journal of Law & Sexuality
Available online through Hein, Lexis, and Westlaw.
Children's Legal Rights Journal
Available online from HeinOnline.

In Our Collection

Divorce in the Golden Years by Lindsay Childs
Call Number: KF 535 .S53 2020

ISBN: 9781604428414

Includes topics: nonprobate assets, intestacy, wills/trusts, powers of attorney, spousal support, and retirement plans.
Same-Sex Marriage and the Constitution by Evan Gerstmann
Call Number: KF 539 .G47 2008

ISBN: 9780521709132

Provides a historical overview of constitutional marital issues, and takes an analytical approach to constitutional questions of same-sex marriage.
The Special Needs Child and Divorce by Margaret "Pegi" S. Price
Call Number: KF 547 .P75 2009

ISBN: 9781604424928

Includes chapter with checklists for different stages/issues in litigation, and comprehensive bibliography addressing specific special needs (i.e., ADHD, cancer, spina bifida, etc.). Also contains many samples and forms for use in litigation.
The Military Divorce Handbook by Mark E. Sullivan
Call Number: KF 535 .S85 2011

ISBN: 9781614381051

Publication Date: 2011

Includes chapter related to The Servicemembers Civil Relief Act. Also addresses typical divorce issues such as child support, family support, etc., with focus on military. CD-ROM available from circulation desk.
Incarceration, Reentry and Child Support Issues: National and State Research Overview Report by Dept. of Health and Human Services, Administration for Children and Families, Office of Child Support Enforcement
Call Number: HE 24.2:IN 2/4

Publication Date: 2006
A Judge's Benchbook for the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act by John S. Odom, Jr.
Call Number: KF7680 .O36 2011

ISBN: 1614380147

Publication Date: 2011
Same-Sex Unions Across the United States by Mark Strasser
Call Number: KF 539 .S773 2011

ISBN: 1594609373

Publication Date: 2011
Counseling Unmarried Couples: A Guide to Effective Legal Representation by Frederick Hertz
Call Number: KF 538 .H47 2014

ISBN: 9781614381198

Publication Date: 2014

Subject Guide

Michael Bird

Online Resources

Family Law News (Lexis)
Search Lexis for current and trending issues in family law.
Publications from the National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges
Includes some free and cost-based publications on issues related to the protection and welfare of children and battered women.
Family Law and Practice (Matthew Bender)
View the table of contents of Family Law and Practice, available from Lexis Nexis.
Family Law Articles from the ABA Journal
Current articles grouped loosely by topic.
State Bar of Michigan--Family Law Section
Contains links to public resources, with several publications related to the area of Michigan family law. Practitioners may be interested in the advocacy section, which tracks Michigan bills and court rules that may affect areas of family law practice.
Child Support and Family Law (National Conference of State Legislatures)
The NCSL aims to provide timely, comprehensive, and thorough information on critical issues related to child support policy.
New York Times Child Custody and Support Articles
Browsable list of current articles from the Times. New York Times access is also available through Lexis.
Jurist Legal News & Commentary
Search for topics in U.S. and international news.