Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives & Special Collections: Archives & Special Collections

Detroit Mercy Law Legacy 

Detroit Mercy Law is part of the legacy of the University of Detroit Mercy (Detroit Mercy), Michigan's oldest and largest Catholic university, founded in 1877. Detroit Mercy's founders, the Society of Jesus (Jesuits) and the Religious Sisters of Mercy have always believed in the power of education to change people and through them, the world. Detroit Mercy Law is located in the heart of downtown Detroit, in the same location since the law school opened its doors in 1912. 

Kresge Law Library Archives Mission Statement 

The Kresge Law Library Archives and Special Collections supports foundational teaching and research and maintains a collection of historical materials generated or collected by various departments in the Law Library, including administrative and faculty reports, correspondence, exhibits, publications, photographs, clippings, etc. We maintain comprehensive core archival collections in a variety of formats on each area of law covered by our curriculum or that is the subject of faculty research. The library provides access to high-quality library services designed to meet the archival research of the Detroit Mercy community, and alumni from 1912-present.   

The Law Library houses the School of Law’s archives and Special collection. The collection consists of materials on aspects of Law School history, such as brochures, catalogs, directories, event programs, student and alumni association publicity and reports.  

Sub-Collections: 

University of Detroit Law (1912-1990) 

Mercy College of Detroit Law (1941-1990) 

University of Detroit Mercy Law (1990-2016) 

Detroit Mercy College Law (2016-Present) 

The Law Library Archives Also Includes Special Collections 

Access To Archives & Special Collections

Detroit Mercy Law School is a private institution. The Kresge Law Library Archives and Special Collections is open to faculty, staff, students, alumni and researchers by appointment 

The Archives houses publications of Law School faculty, selected collections of papers of faculty and noted alumni, a collection of law student notebooks, Law School photographs, recordings of Law School lectures and events, and publications of the Law School and Law Review. In addition, the Archives hosts a collection of English Law titles and Flint Water Crisis titles.