See these handouts for the step-by-step process for obtaining full articles.
- AHIMA (American Health Information Management Association)
Website offers information on clinical documentation improvement, ICD-10, privacy and security, EHR's, information governance, and more.
- Clinical Informatics | HIMSS (Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society)
HIMSS helps to ensure adequate and qualified support of clinician objectives and industry best practices.
- Division of Health Informatics and Surveillance (DHIS) | CDC
provides leadership and support in developing public health information systems, managing public health surveillance programs, and provisioning health-related data required to monitor, control, and prevent diseases.
- MDCH - Michigan Department of Community Health
Website includes information on vital statistics for Michigan, physical health & prevention, health care coverage, public safety & environmental health, behavioral health & developmental disability, health statistics and reports, and community health, as well as information from the Health Information Technology Commission.
- Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
Research, Statistics, Data & Systems contains links to information technology, computer data & systems, monitoring programs, research, and statistics, trends, & reports.
Regulations & Guidance section contains info on HIPPA, legislation, regulations and policies, and more.
- NIHR Evaluation, Trials and Studies
- NIHR, Evaluation, Trials and Studies (NETS)
UK institute that funds independent research for health and social care decision makers. Programs include: Efficacy and Mechanism Evaluation; Health Services and Delivery Research; Health Technology Assessment; Public Health Research; Systematic Reviews; and NIHR Clinical Trials Unit.
||EBSCO eBooks: Access from off campus requires an account and second log in. See flash tutorial for assistance
What is "Peer Review"? - An evaluation of scientific or academic work by experts in the same field.
Peer review process:
- Authors submit manuscripts to journals
- Journals enlist other impartial subject experts to review the manuscript
- Subject experts evaluate the manuscripts for accuracy and quality by analyzing research methodology
- Those manuscripts that don't meet the quality and accuracy standards set by the journal/reviewers are returned to the authors for editing. If they don't meet set standards for rigor or methodology, they can be rejected.
How to determine if a journal is peer reviewed:
- CINAHL has a Peer Review limiter that will include articles from only those journals that are deteremined to be peer reviewed.
- Check the "Journal Info" or "About This Journal" page of a journal's website. If the journal is peer reviewed, the website usually mentions it.
Click on the book cover or the title to access the book. You will be required to log in through Knowledge if you are accessing eBooks from off campus.See the Remote Access instructions in the box to the left for assistance.
Many professional organizations have clinical practice guidelines linked from their websites.
- Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality (AHRQ)
Provides an array of links to clinical information (EBP, preventive services, practice guidelines, technology assessment, and outcomes and effectiveness), research funding opportunities, data and survey sources, research findings, priority populations, health information technology, and public health preparedness.
- Association of Rehabilitation Nurses
Includes guidelines on bowel care, multiple sclerosis, and mild traumatic brain injury.
- Centers for Diease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Search a Disease or Condition for the corresponding practice guideline.
- CMA Infobase: Canada's Database of Clinical Practice Guidelines (CPGs)
- Guidelines for Perioperative Practice : Association of periOperative Registered Nurses
Evidence-based guidelines for perioperative RNs and other members of the team to help standardize practice and promote patient and worker safety.
- National Comprehensive Cancer Network (NCCN)
Includes guidelines for treatment by cancer site, detection, prevention, & risk reduction; and more.
- National Guideline Clearinghouse | Home
Mission is to provide physicians and other health professionals, health care providers, health plans, integrated delivery systems, purchasers, and others an accessible mechanism for obtaining objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines and to further their dissemination, implementation, and use.
- National Institutes of Health (NIH)
Clinical Practice Guidelines can be found by utilizing the website search box and using the phrase "clinical practice guidelines" along with whatever topic you need (eg. AIDS "clinical practice guidelines").
Use the "Practice Guideline" filter located under "Article Types"
- PubMed Health
National Library of Medicine database includes A to Z listing of Clinical Guides. PubMed Health is in partnership with such organizations as ARHQ, NCI, Cochrane and more.
- Registered Nurses' Association of Ontario (RNAO)
Over 50 published guidelines as well as a toolkit and educator's resource to support implementation. Can browse by topic or search by keyword
- U.S. Preventive Services Task Force
The USPSTF conducts scientific evidence reviews of a broad range of clinical preventive health care services (such as screening, counseling, and preventive medications) and develops recommendations for primary care clinicians and health systems. These recommendations are published in the form of "Recommendation Statements."