LibGuides: Selected Topics in Professional Responsibility Seminar: General Resources

About this Section

This section is meant for more general research needs--researchers may use this page to locate relevant databases and indexes to assist in the research process.

Research Guides

Legal Ethics Research Guide
Need more resources? Georgetown Research Guides are renowned and very handy!
Researching Legal Ethics
Students may access CALI lessons through an existing or new account. For registration information, please see a reference librarian.
Sources of Law Regulating the Practice of Law
See "Researching Legal Ethics" (above) for more information on CALI accounts.

Finding Tools/Indexes

The Detroit Mercy Law Library offers a wide range of indexes for varied use. These indexes are particularly helpful for finding older materials; however, researchers may be surprised at the ease of using the print materials for subject-specific legal information from periodicals.

Index to Legal Periodicals and Books
Prior volumes of this index are held in the law library; however, this index is no longer current in print form. Alternatively, researchers can use the link to access the Index online. The online version is current and regularly maintained.
Current Law Index
This index is available in print from the Detroit Mercy Law Library, and is located in Row 61 on the third floor. This title also corresponds with our LegalTrac database, available online. The print version is published annually, and include two volumes (one to browse by subject and the other to browse by author or title).
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
This is an excellent resource that can be used to locate titles and citations to foreign periodicals. Each volume is arranged with a subject index, geographical index, book review index, and author index. This series is no longer being maintained in print; however, it is available from HeinOnline beginning with 1985.
Index to Canadian Legal Literature
This is a multi-volume set that includes a nicely organized subject index. Each volume is dedicated to a specific set of letter combinations (i.e., to locate products liability law materials, consult the O-R volume). This set is current. The ICLL is fully bilingual, and offers comprehensive coverage of Canadian secondary legal literature.

Multi-Disciplinary Journals from Detroit Mercy Law

For interdisciplinary research, you may wish to include in your research materials outside the realm of the law. Below, students will find a list of resources they may wish to consult for interdisciplinary research needs.

JSTOR
JSTOR (also known as Journal Storage) includes journals from a wide variety of disciplines.
SSRN (Social Science Research Network)
SSRN has articles in 20 core subject areas, including the Legal Scholarship Network. This database is free, and offers abstract and title search features. Abstracts provide helpful glimpses of the articles, and researchers can use the one-click download feature to access relevant articles. This database does include working papers, which may help researchers stay on top of current scholarship in their area.
ProQuest Congressional
Online version of CIS. Includes .pdf files of legislative materials. This is a very comprehensive database and includes excellent access to CRS (Congressional Research Service) Reports.
Congressional Research Service Database
This database is sponsored through the University of North Texas and is a comprehensive compilation of CRS reports. The site's aim is to provide integrated, searchable access to many of the full-text CRS reports that have been available at a variety of different web sites since 1990.
Databases from the McNichols Campus
The Detroit Mercy Law Library is able to offer content through databases maintained by the McNichols campus. There is a wide variety of journals and indexes that may benefit you in your research.
More Databases from Detroit Mercy Law
Want to locate additional databases? Click here for links to more databases offered by the Detroit Mercy Law Library.

Search Our Catalog

WorldCat

Still Looking for a Resource?

This form allows our patrons to request items via Inter Library Loan (ILL). ILL forms are online, or you may contact a librarian for help with your request.