Includes abstracts of articles from nursing, allied health, biomedical, consumer health journals, and publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing.
For the Nurse Leader assignment: search on a leader's name or use the subject Nursing Leaders
- Health Business Elite
Comprehensive journal content covering all aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management. Topics covered include hospital management, hospital administration, marketing, human resources, computer technology, facilities management and insurance. Health Business Elite contains full text content from more than 450 journals. This database is updated daily.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 830 journals, of which 550 are availabile in full text. About 450 of the journals are peer-reviewed.
- AACN Awards
Website lists awards such as the CNL Visionary Leader Award and the Policy Luminary Award. Website includes award descriptions and recipients.
- American Academy of Nursing
AAN presents a yearly award for Nurse Leader in Aging. The website describes the award and provides recipients' names and bio's.
- American Organization for Nurse Executives (AONE)
AONE Awards include such leadership awards as Lifetime Achievement Award and AONE Affiliate Achievement Award. The Press releases
contain the recipient announcements.
- ANA National Awards
Website lists National Awards Categories
with descriptions and includes a linked pdf listing the Award recipients
- Awards from the NLN
Website lists the leadership awards, descriptions, and recipients.
- Culture of Health: Breakthrough Leaders in Nursing
Program honors innovators who are forging a path to better health in their communities. These nurse leaders work with their Action Coalitions and are ambassadors for the Campaign and its ideals of creating a healthier America through nursing. Includes names and bio's by year.
- Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality (AHRQ) Patient Safety Network
The AHRQ mission is to improve the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of health care for all Americans. Offers Health IT tools and health information management research.
- MDCH - Patient Safety for Professionals
Michigan Department of Community Health developed this site to educate and assist the general public and health professionals in Michigan about Patient Safety
- Pennsylvania Patient Safety Authority
Authority that informs nurses on issues that can affect patient safety and presents strategies they can easily integrate into practice.
- Quality and Patient Safety: AHRQ
Multiple links to a variety of patient safety topics.
SafetyLit (short for safety literature) is a free database service of the SafetyLit Foundation in cooperation with San Diego State University and the World Health Organization. Contains more than 500,000 records and draws content from more than 16,000 professional journals of 30+ distinct professional disciplines.
- U S Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
Responsible for protecting the public health by assuring the safety, effectiveness, and security of human and veterinary drugs, vaccines and other biological products, medical devices, our nation’s food supply, cosmetics, dietary supplements, products that give off radiation, and regulating tobacco products.
American Nursing: a biographical dictionary
Call Number: RT 34 .A44 1988
Publication Date: 1988
3 volume set: contains biographies of 175 women and two men nursing leaders. Most entrants were born before 1900. Signed entries give lengthy biographical information, references, and life dates.
Contemporary American Leaders in Nursing
Call Number: RT 4 .S12
Publication Date: 1977
Contemporary minority leaders in nursing : Afro-American, Hispanic, native American perspectives
Call Number: RT 83.3 .C65
Publication Date: 1983
Making Choices, Taking Chances
Call Number: RT 34 .S36 1988
Publication Date: 1988
Nursing Hall of Fame
Call Number: RT 34 .N87 1984
Publication Date: 1984
Speaking out : the views of nurse leaders
Call Number: RT 42 .A72
Publication Date: 1981
Words of Wisdom from Pivotal Nurse Leaders
Call Number: RT 86.45 .H68 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Accumulated wisdom from well-known nurse leaders.
- American Nurses Association
ANA advances the nursing profession by fostering high standards of nursing practice, promoting the rights of nurses in the workplace, projecting a positive and realistic view of nursing, and by lobbying the Congress and regulatory agencies on health care issues affecting nurses and the public.
- National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN)
Disseminates data and information related to licensure of nurses.
- National League for Nursing
The preferred membership organization for nurse faculty and leaders in nursing education.