These databases will help you find references (citations) for articles. Sometimes the full article will be linked through the reference. If not, see the box below for instructions on finding the full article.
- CINAHL (Ebsco)
Premier database for nursing and allied health articles.
- Cochrane Library
Contains articles and abstracts/citations from the following evidence- based medicine databases: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE); Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL); Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews; and Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
Provides extensive access to educational-related literature, including patient education and staff education literature.
- Health & Wellness Resource Center with Alternative Health Module
Provides access to information on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, Prescription Drugs, etc. Sources include journals, books and Internet links.
- Health Business Elite (Ebsco)
Provides comprehensive journal content covering all aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management. Topics covered include hospital management, hospital administration, marketing, human resources, computer technology, facilities management and insurance.
- Health Reference Center Academic
Provides a collection of over 2,600 journals, including 700 specifically in nursing and allied health fields; personal health information on a wide range of topics; full-text pamphlets; selected health-related articles from an additional 1500 general interest magazines, newsletters, and 2,500+ topical overviews from Clinical Reference Systems.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO)
Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 830 journals, of which 550 are available in full text. About 450 of the journals are peer-reviewed.
- LWW Nursing and Health Professions Premier Collection
Most of these journals can be found in CINAHL and/or PubMed.
- Nursing and Allied Health Collection
Collection focuses on nursing and allied health professions and is of use for both nursing professionals and students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
- Nursing Resource Center
Designed for nursing students: contains disease and drug overviews, care plans, relevant journal results and animated anatomy and physiology diagrams to complement the core encyclopedia texts.
- Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine
Custom collection covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine, providing researchers with access to many topics in the field, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more.
American Psychiatric Association, all earlier editions of the DSM, the Association's major journals 1997-date, and a number of textbooks and assessment manuals.
- PsycINFO (EBSCO)
From the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines.
PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
||PubMed: links to the PubMed online training website where you can find a multitude of short tutorials
Place the name of the JOURNAL that contains your article in the search box below.
Online form to request books and journal articles from other libraries.
||Need help determining if an article or publication is scholarly or not? Click on the image to the left for a chart with distinguishing characteristics.