Clinical Nurse LeaderClinical Nurse SpecialistDoctor of Nursing PracticeFamily Nurse PractitionerHealth Systems ManagementNurse AnesthesiaNurse EducatorRN to BSN
This is the "Evidence Based Nursing" page of the "Nursing " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nursing  

Last Updated: Oct 20, 2017 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/nursing Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Evidence Based Nursing Print Page
  Search: 
 

Evidence-based Practice Databases

These databases can be easily limited to find evidence-based practice literature.

  • CINAHL (Ebsco)
    Premier database for nursing and allied health articles.
  • PubMed
    PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
  • Cochrane Library
    Contains articles and abstracts/citations from the following evidence- based medicine databases: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE); Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL); Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews; and Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
  • PubMed Health
    PubMed Health is based on systematic reviews of clinical trials.
    Specializes in reviews of clinical effectiveness research.Clinical effectiveness research finds answers to the question “What works?” in medical and health care.
 

Literature Review - How-to Books

Cover Art
Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care (eBook) - Helen Aveyard
Publication Date: 2010
Click on the title to get to the full text of the book. Accessible to UDM students and faculty only.

Cover Art
Doing a Literature Review in Nursing, Health and Social Care - Patricia Cronin; Michael Coughlan; Frances Ryan
Publication Date: 2013
(Print book) Guides readers undertaking their own literature review through the process. Chapters address: - Different types of literature reviews - Critically analyzing material - Presenting the final piece of work - Best practice in referencing and plagiarism - Systematic approaches to literature reviews.

Cover Art
Doing Your Literature Review - Jill Jesson; Lydia Matheson; Fiona M. Lacey
Call Number: H 62 .J44 2011
Publication Date: 2011
(Print book) Guides students through the production of either a traditional or a systematic literature review. It gives practical advice on reading and organizing relevant literature and critically assessing the reviewed field.

Cover Art
Health Sciences Literature Review Made Easy - Judith Garrard
Publication Date: 2006
(Print book) Helps students and practitioners critically evaluate article findings. The fundamental principles of searching, organizing, reviewing, and synthesizing are covered at the most basic level.

Cover Art
Succeeding in Literature Reviews and Research Project Plans for Nursing Students - Graham R. Williamson; Andrew Whittaker
Call Number: RT 81.5 .W493 2014
Publication Date: 2014
(Print Book) Shows how to successfully complete a literature review or research project plan. It guides through all the necessary stages from start to finish: preparation and planning, using and critiquing research, writing and completing project.

Literature Review - Websites and Articles

Evidence Based Practice Patient Care

  • ConsultGeri / The Hartford Institute for Geriatric Nursing
    Evidence-based geriatric clinical nursing website that includes: Geriatric protocols for managing over 30 common geriatric syndromes and conditions; Try This Assessment series with over 50 nationally recommended instruments for use with older adults; hospital competencies for older adults for use in nurse orientation and evaluation; opportunities to acquire continuing education contact hours and much more.
 

Database Tutorials

CINAHL Basic Search: (Time: 4:28)
CINAHL Advanced Search: (Time: 5:03)
PubMed: links to the PubMed online training website where you can find a multitude of short tutorials
The Cochrane Library: Introduction - Tutorial is free but it requires registration to view.
The Cochrane Library: Advanced and MESH searching - Tutorial is free but requires registration to view.
 

EBP Filters in PubMed

The following Article Types will allow you to limit to evidence based practice:

Clinical Study Evaluation Study Systematic Reviews
Comparative Study Meta-Analysis Validation Study

 

Evaluation Study = studies determining the effectiveness or utility of processes, personnel, and equipment

Validation Study = research using processes by which the reliability and relevance of a procedure for a specific purpose are established

By selecting Clinical Study you will also automatically include the following (so you don't have to choose them separately):

Clinical Trial Randomized Clinical Trial
Controlled Clinical Trial Observational Study

 

Remember, Systematic Reviews (Article Type) will also include Literature Reviews in the results. They are NOT the same. Literature Reviews are NOT EBP. You will need to evaluate the article to determine the type of Review.

Practice Guidelines: most are EBP, but some are still opinion-based. You will need to review the guideline to ensure it is EBP.

Qualitative Research in PubMed:

  • Use the following search terms to capture the various types of qualitative studies: Qualitative Research, Grounded Theory, focus groups, phenomenology, ethnography, nursing methodology research, narration, interviews as topic, "thematic analysis"

 

 

Resources for Appraising/ Critiquing a Research Study

Framework for How to Read and Critique a Research Study (from the ANA).

Woods, A. D., Fineout-Overholt, E., & Kennedy, S. (2012). Demystifying Research: Simplifying Critical Appraisal. Ovid Insights.

Critical Appraisal Worksheets. Select the worksheet that corresponds to the type of study being appraised (from Duke University).

Critical Appraisal Skills Programme (CASP). Set of 8 critical appraisal tools: Systematic Reviews, RCT's, Cohort Studies, Case Control Studies, Economic Evaluations, Diagnostic Studies, Qualitative studies and Clinical Prediction Rule.

Fossey, E., Harvey, C., McDermott, F., & Davidson, L. (2002). Understanding and evaluating qualitative research. Australian and New Zealand Journal of Psychiatry, 36(6), 717-732.

Evidence-based Practice Websites

 

Books for Research

Cover Art
Doing a Systematic Review: a student's guide - Rumona Dickson (Editor); Angela Boland (Editor); M. Gemma Cherry (Editor)
Publication Date: 2014
Print book - can be found in the library.


Cover Art
How to Read a Paper (eBook) - Trisha Greenhalgh
Publication Date: 2010
Click on the title to get to the full text of the book. Accessible to Detroit Mercy faculty and students only.

Cover Art
Intervention Research (eBook) - Bernadette Mazurek Melnyk; Dianne Morrison-Beedy
Publication Date: 2012
Click on the title to get to the full text of the book. Accessible to Detroit Mercy faculty and students only.

Cover Art
Reading Research - Barbara Jane Davies; Jo Logan
Call Number: R 852 .D38 2011
Publication Date: 2011
(Print book) Introduces the basic steps for understanding and assessing research articles, and shows how research results are ultimately incorporated into clinical practice. Written to address both qualitative and quantitative research.


Cover Art
Studying a Study and Testing a Test - Richard K. Riegelman
Call Number: R 118.6 .R54 2005 (Dental library)
Publication Date: 2005
(Print book) Stepwise program that helps evaluate clinical studies, identify flaws in study design, interpret statistics, and apply evidence from clinical research to practice.


Practice Guidelines

Many professional organizations have clinical practice guidelines linked from their websites.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip