Environmental Law: Statutes

Here you can find the text of 42 USC 7401, et seq., along with other resources compiled by the EPA.

The EPA provides a link to the text of the Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act of 1980 (amended by SARA), along with a lot of other helpful information about the statute. Be sure to look for the left-hand tabs for more information about CERCLA. See 42 USC 9601.

The EPA provides links to the CWA statute, codified at 33 USC 1251, et seq., along with several other informative links within its Clean Power Plan website.

This site, found under the EPA's website, provides the text of the Emergency Planning and Community Right to Know Act, along with updates, requirements, and other helpful links. The statute is located at 42 USC 11001, et seq.

The ESA is codified at 16 USC 1531. This website provides researchers with a quick link to the statute and a few other resources, including a link to the Endangered Species Protection Program's website.

Summarizes current provisions of major statutes forming the legal basis for EPA programs, including the Pollution Prevention Act of 1990; the Clean Air Act; the Clean Water Act; the Ocean Dumping Act; the Safe Drinking Water Act; the Solid Waste Disposal Act; the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act; the Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act of 1980; the Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act; the Toxic Substances Control Act; pesticide laws; and the National Environmental Policy Act.

The Federal Insecticide, Fungicide and Rodenticide Act of 1972 is codified at 7 USC 136, et seq. This website compiled by the EPA provides a wealth of materials, including a link to the text of the statute. If you are looking for the text of the statute, be sure to use the link for "Text of law and related regulations" found under "More Information."

Here, researchers will find the text of NEPA, available from the Legal Information Institute. The statute is codified at 42 USC 4321, et seq.

Here, researchers will find a nice summary of RCRA, which provides the EPA with the authority to control all phases of hazardous waste. The statute is codified at 42 USC 6901; links to the statute are provided at this website with other informative links regarding RCRA.

Note that this link provides an overview of SARA. SARA amended CERCLA; and the text of these statutes is found at 42 USC 6901.

Here, researchers will find a lot of basic information related to the TSCA, along with the text of the statute, which is codified under 15 USC 2601. To read the text of the statute, click on the link to the "Toxic Substances Control Act" located under the "Text of law and related regulations" section.

This is a good place to check current on-goings within the Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works. Researchers should be sure to check out activity within the subcommittees, committee resources (includes committee rules), and the hearings tabs.

Be sure to look under the "Information" tab; here, researchers will find materials on key issues, legislation, correspondence, committee reports, other committee documents, etc. There is a nice compilation of bills referred to this committee under the "Documents" sub-tab.