LibGuides: International Commercial Arbitration: ICA--The Basics

The Basics

This page is geared primarily toward students at Detroit Mercy Law who are looking for broad view resources and/or study aids. This is not meant to be an exhaustive list of resources, and we encourage researchers to continue to browse through our Research and Tools tabs.

Common Abbreviations

Here is a list of some of the more common abbreviations found within the field of ICA. For a more comprehensive list of abbreviations, please see Redfern and Hunter on International Arbitration, Sixth Edition, lxv-lxxxv.

AAA-American Arbitration Association, New York.
ADR-Alternative Dispute Resolution
ASA-Swiss Arbitration Association, Basel
BITs-Bilateral Investment Treaties
CAS-Court of Arbitration for Sport
CEDR-Center for Effective Dispute Resolution, London
CIETAC-China International Economic and Trade Arbitration Commission, Beijing
COGSA-Carriage of Goods by Sea Act (US)
DAB-Dispute Adjudication Board
DIAC-Dubai International Arbitration Center
DIS-German Institution of Arbitration, Cologne
ECHR-Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms (European Convention on Human Rights)
ECOSOC-United Nations Economic and Social Council
FAA-Federal Arbitration Act 1925 (US)
FTA-Free Trade Agreement
ICC-International Chamber of Commerce, Paris
ICCA-International Council for Commercial Arbitration
ICDR-International Centre for Dispute Resolution (Established by the AAA)
ICJ-International Court of Justice, The Hague
ICSID, International Center for the Settlement of Disputes, Washington D.C.
IMF-International Monetary Fund
ITA-Institute for Transnational Arbitration, Plano, TX
JCAA-Japanese Commercial Arbitration Association
LCIA-London Court of International Arbitration
NAC-National Arbitration Awards
NADR-Nationwide Academy for Dispute Resolution
NAFTA-North American Free Trade Agreement
PCA-Permanent Court of Arbitration, The Hague
SCC-Stockholm Chamber of Congress
SCCAM-Swiss Chambers' Court of Arbitration and Mediation
SIAC-Singapore International Arbitration Center
UAA-Uniform Arbitration Act (US)
UDRP-Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy
UNCITRAL-United Nations Commission on International Trade Law, Vienna
UNCTAD-United Nations Conference on Trade and Development, Geneva
WIPO-World Intellectual Property Organization, Geneva

Blackaby, et al., Redfern & Hunter on International Arbitration, lxv-lxxxv (6th ed. 2015).

Overview

Some books in our collection will give you an overview of the field of ICA. These items can be good starting points for seeing the broad scope of the world of ICA, and can lead to important resources in the field.

Arbitration Law in a Nutshell by Thomas Carbonneau
Call Number: KF 9085 .Z9 C37 2017 (Reserve)
ISBN: 1628101520
Publication Date: 2017
This Nutshell on arbitration addresses freedom of contract, federal preemption, and universal arbitrability. It conveys a thorough sense of the relevant case law and applicable rules. It describes the unique features of the various forms of arbitration and covers the current debate about arbitration.
The Principles and Practice of International Commercial Arbitration by Margaret L. Moses
Call Number: K 2400 .M67 2017 (Reserve)
ISBN: 0521685621
Publication Date: 2017
For more than a nutshell view of ICA, but less than a hornbook, try out this book.
International Sales Law - Cisg by Franco Ferrari; Marco Torsello
Call Number: K1028.3198 .F47 2018 (Reserve)
ISBN: 0314275304
Publication Date: 2018
Knowing about the United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (CISG) means to know about the law relating to international import/export contracts applicable to more than 3/4 of world trade. This book provides a valuable guide to the understanding of both the fundamentals of that law and how it is interpreted in various countries, thus making it a helpful tool not only for students but also for practitioners.

Major Treatises

Print versions of important treatises in our library collection.

International Commercial Arbitration by Gary B. Born
Call Number: K2400 .B676 2014
ISBN: 9041152199
Publication Date: 2014 (Course Reserve)
The second edition of Gary Born's International Commercial Arbitration is an authoritative 4,408 page treatise, in three volumes, providing the most comprehensive commentary and analysis, on all aspects of the international commercial arbitration process, that is available. The first edition of International Commercial Arbitration is widely acknowledged as the preeminent commentary in the field. It was awarded the 2011 Certificate of Merit by the American Society of International Law and was voted the International Dispute Resolution Book of the Year by the Oil, Gas, Mining and Infrastructure Dispute Management list serve in 2010. The first edition has been extensively cited in national court decisions and arbitral awards around the world. The treatise comprehensively examines the law and practice of contemporary international commercial arbitration, thoroughly explicating all relevant international conventions, national arbitration statutes and institutional arbitration rules. It focuses on both international instruments (particularly the New York Convention) and national law provisions in all leading jurisdictions (including the UNCITRAL Model Law on International Commercial Arbitration). Practitioners, academics, clients, institutions and other users of international commercial arbitration will find clear and authoritative guidance in this work.
Redfern and Hunter on International Arbitration by Nigel Blackaby, Constantine Partasides; with Alan Redfern, Martin Hunter
Publication Date: 2015
A comprehensive single volume treatise on the subject of international commercial arbitration. Link to online resource; prior edition available in print at the circulation desk.
International Construction Arbitration Handbook by John W. Hinchey and Troy L. Harris
Call Number: K2400 .A15 I575 v.1 and v. 2
ISBN: 9780314801807
Publication Date: 2016
Treatise on international construction arbitration co-authored by one of our very own, Professor Troy L. Harris. Also available online through Westlaw.

Web Resources

LexMercatoria
Contains a wealth of information on ICA materials and main texts (i.e., treaties, conventions, model laws).
The American Society of International Law (ASIL)
Great bibliography containing links to arbitration statutes of other nations, as well as a walk through of other relevant resources and databases.
UNCITRAL (United Nations Commission on International Trade Law)
Includes current news and updates, UNCITRAL commission documents, General Assembly Resolutions, UNCITRAL rules and model laws, and other research materials.

CALI Lessons

These CALI lessons are geared toward more general issues, but could be helpful for some additional understanding in the areas of arbitration and the CISG.

CISG Basics: Scope and General Provisions
This lesson covers the basics of agreements covered by the CISG.
more...less...
Description from CALI.org: The CISG provides a uniform set of rules for international sales contracts where the parties are located in different signatory countries. While some of the rules parallel those under the common law and Article 2 of the U.C.C., many are different. This lesson sets out the basic requisites for determining when the CISG applies and evaluating contracts governed by the CISG. The general attributes of domestic contracts and other CISG contracts are covered in other lessons.
CISG Basics: Formation
Looks at formation of agreements governed by the U.N. Convention on the International Sale of Goods (CISG).
more...less...
Description provided by CALI.org: Lesson addresses basic requisites for determining whether an offer exists, when it is accepted, and how to address a battle of the forms if the CISG applies.
CISG Basics: Performance
This lesson covers performance of agreements covered by the CISG.
more...less...
Description from CALI.org: The CISG provides a uniform set of rules for international sales contracts where the parties are located in different signatory countries. There are 11 separate provisions on contract formation under the CISG. This lesson sets out the basic obligations of sellers and buyers, as well as looking at the ICC's Incoterms and how they affect the seller's obligations. The general attributes of domestic contracts and other CISG contract issues are covered in other lessons.
Introduction to Foreign Legal Research
This lesson gives a brief introduction to some of the basic concepts in foreign legal research (i.e., foreign legal systems, availability of materials, research strategies).

International Commercial Arbitration: ICA--The Basics