This is the "Mobile Apps" page of the "Physician Assistant" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Physician Assistant  

Last Updated: Oct 6, 2017 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/PHA Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Mobile Apps Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Medical Mobile App Info

Apps are available for many subjects and for completing a variety of tasks. However, keep in mind that anyone with adequate programming skills can create an app and go through the appropriate app market channels to make it available commerically. Presently, there are no guidelines or regulations that must be met before a medical app can be launched.

Therefore, analyze any medical or nursing apps before downloading. Note who was involved in the creation of the app.

iMedical Apps is a well respected resource on mobile technology. It is an online publication (blog) written by a team of physicians and medical students that rates medical and healthcare applications for Apple products, Android, devices, and Blackberry. Check it out for suggestions and comments on specific apps.

Presence on this list does not indicate endorsement.

 

Medical Apps (Free)

Databases:

PubMed for Handhelds: search biomedical literature from MEDLINE.

WISER: Designed to assist first responders in hazardous material incidents; provides accurate information about the hazardous substances, the emergency resources available, and the surrounding environmental conditions to save lives and minimize the impact on the environment and physical property.
CINAHL: To download the app, access CINAHL through the UDM library database list. At the bottom of the CINAHL homepage is an "iphone and android apps"link. Click the link and enter your email address to receive download instructions, a link, and a download "key".

Drug Resources:

Epocrates: drug reference application with info on prescription and OTC medications, pill identifier, drug interactions, and several med calculators.
LactMed: database of drugs and dietary supplements that may effect breastfeeding.

Health Professional Training:

3D Brain: Rotates and zooms around 29 interactive brain structures. Discover how each brain region functions, what happens when it is injured, and how it is involved in mental illness.

Change Talk: Childhood Obesity and Overweight: a motivational interviewing skill building simulation for Pediatricians, Nurses, and Family Physicians. Named a 2014 top medical app by iMedicalApps. Collaborate with patients and families to elicit and strengthen their motivation to change their health behaviors.

CPR Game Lite: Cardiac arrest simulator developed to assist those with prior CPR training to become more proficient in advanced CPR. This is a free version with limited cases. The full version is available for a small fee.
Resuscitation!: virtual patient simulator that gives a patient case presentation. You can take a history, perform a physical exam, form a differential diagnosis and administer therapy to treat the patient’s underlying problem. You can place the patient on a monitor, start IV’s, perform procedures, administer medications, obtain radiology studies, EKGs, and a lot more.

Med Calculators:

ASCVD Risk Estimator: by the American College of Cardiology and American Heart Association helps providers and patients estimate 10-year and lifetime risks for atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease. Named best med app of 2014 by iMedicalApps.

Calculate by QxMD:can be used to calculate various clinical scores and indicies

MediCalc: Comprehensive "Medical Calculator System™". It performs automatic computation of more than 300 hundred clinical formulas, equations & scores "commonly used" in medical practice. Free for a limited time!
MedCalc: Tool that enables professionals to easily use complicated medical formulas, scores and classifications. This free version permits access only to a subset of formulas.

Medical News:

MedPage Today: Offers breaking medical news, reference information, and CME's with daily coverage of over 30 specialties.
Medscape: Multipurpose app that offers medical news, drug information, disease & condition information, medical calculator, drug formulary, and CE's.
Medscape MedPulse: Medical news specific app. Stay informed on the latest medical news with award-winning journalism and expert perspectives written specifically for physicians, medical students and healthcare professionals. Read the most essential news across medicine, customize the app by the topics important to you.

Reference and Misc:

CDC Vaccine Schedules: provides ACIP recommended immunizationschedules for children, adolescents, and adults.
DiagnosaurusDDX: Free version. Helps perform differential diagnosis. Search over 1,000 diagnoses by organ system, symptom, or disease, or view all entries. Use “See Related DDx” feature in each entry for alternative diagnoses.
Electronic Preventive Services Selector (ePSS from AHRQ): Designed to help primary care clinicians identify clinical preventive services that are appropriate for their patients. Use the tool to search and browse U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) recommendations on the web or on your PDA or mobile device.
Figure 1community for medical and nursing professionals to safely share clinical cases and discuss treatment. Contribute your own medical cases in a privacy-conscious way. Available for Android also.
Health Hotlines: Directory contains descriptions of about 9,000 biomedical organizations and resources with toll free phone numbers.
MD EzLabs: A collaborative effort to give medical professionals lab values in a quick, easy to understand format and differential diagnosis for abnormal lab values.
MediBabble Translator: Professional-grade medical interpretation app for healthcare providers;a history-taking and physical exam application designed to improve the safety, efficiency, and quality of care for non-English speaking patients.
Blood Donor by American Red Cross: Find nearby Red Cross blood drives, schedule appointments, earn rewards from premier retailers, follow your blood’s journey from donation through delivery (when possible), and create or join a lifesaving team and track its impact on a national leaderboard.
 

Resources Formatted for Handhelds

Databases:

HazMap Mobile: An occupational health database for health and safety professionals and consumers seeking information about the adverse effects of workplace exposures to chemical and biological agents.
PubMed Mobile: Includes millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
TOXNET: Covers toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and related areas.

 

Journals:

The JAMA Network: The Reader can be used both online and offline using a browser on your phone, tablet, laptop, or desktop. Visit JNReader.com to sign in or create an account, then bookmark the app directly to your browser.

Patient Education:

MedlinePlus: Health information for patients and families. Covers diseases, conditions, medications, wellness topics, and the latest news.

Pharmacology/Drug Resources:

DailyMed: Provides high quality information about marketed drugs, including FDA labels (package inserts).
NLM Drug Information Portal: Information for over 31,000 drugs. Names, usage, and structures are displayed, as well as search links to key NLM and government sites, using their mobile version when available.

Librarian Consultant

Profile Image
Jill Turner
Contact Info
School of Dentistry Library
Corktown Campus
313-494-6903 (Dental); 313-993-1157 (McNichols campus)
turnerja1@udmercy.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip