- PhET Interactive Simulations
Over 100 online interactive science and engineering simulations that can be used in lectures or embedded in courses. From the University of Colorado Boulder and sponsored by the NSF and Hewlett Foundation
- MERLOT Engineering Portal
Peer-reviewed and user-rated simulations, assessments, case studies, tutorials and online courses from faculty at 23 universities.
- Openstax CNX
Hundreds of searchable college-level course modules, activities and assignments in engineering and science. Supported by the Hewlett and Gates Foundations
- North Carolina Learning Object Repository
Very large collection of interactive learning objects, videos and handouts in science and engineering
- Orange Grove
Large selection of university-level course modules, videos and textbooks in engineering and science from the state of Florida.
- MIT OpenCourseWare
Includes course materials from over 2,000 courses.
- Open Course Library
Fairly small collection of course materials in chemistry and physics funded by the State of Washington and the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation.
- National Science Digital Library
Collection of images, simulations, lesson plans, websites and a few full courses searchable by course level, format and subject area
- AMSER (Applied Math and Science Educational Resources)
Science and Technology teaching resources aimed mainly at community and technical colleges but free for anyone to use.
- Directory of Open Access Journals
This searchable directory includes thousands of journals that must pass rigorous criteria for open use and reuse.
- PLOS (Public Library of Science)
One of the largest open access publishers, PLOS publishes online journals, blogs, and currents, which focus on new scientific research and ideas on focused topics. PLOS ONE publishes "All work that reaches rigorous technical and ethical standards," regardless of how impactful or popular the topic.
- Digital Commons Open Access Journals
Open access journal content from institutional repositories.
- College Open Textbooks: Engineering & Electronics
Includes links to many peer-reviewed open introductory textbooks and lab manuals. Note any restrictions at the bottom of the page.
- Open Textbook Library
This site, sponsored by the University of Minnesota and Perdue University, includes open access science and engineering textbooks.
- MERLOT II Engineering Textbooks
Over 200 open access textbooks reviewed by experts from 23 universities.
Free introductory chemistry, physics and microbiology textbooks from a nonprofit group of educators.
- Online Textbooks
A list of links to online science and math textbooks from University of Colorado professor Mark Dubin
- OER Commons
Free online chemistry and physics textbooks supported by the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation.
Free, introductory chemistry and physics textbooks with interactive graphics, quizzes and demos from Rice University.
This site offers free engineering and science books for college students, however, books do include some advertisements.
- National Academies Press
More than 5,000 reports from the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine are available as free pdf files.