Historical worksLegislative BranchExecutive BranchJudicial BranchBooks
TextbooksCoursewareLesson plansBest PracticesOA Journals
This is the "OER Resources For Learners" page of the "OPEN Education Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

OPEN Education Resources   Tags: open education  

Last Updated: Jan 21, 2016 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/oer Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

OER Resources For Learners Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

OER for Learners

 


 
Academic Earth

  • Free online lectures from universities such as Berkeley, UCLA, Harvard, MIT, Princeton, Stanford and Yale.
  • Subjects covered include: Astronomy, Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Economics, Engineering, English, Entrepreneurship, History, Law, Mathematics, Medicine, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, and Religion.

Berkeley Webcast 

  • Freely available online course lectures from the University of California Berkeley
  • Prominent speakers and guest lectures are also available on demand.

Boundless

  • Boundless curates free available open textbooks to supplement or replace assigned texts for introductory undergraduate courses
  • Licensed by Creative Commons (CC BY-SA)

CITE

  • A blog on course materials, innovation, and technology in education

Coursera

  • Coursera is an educational technology company that partners with universities to make courses available online. University partners include Stanford, Princeton, Duke, University of Virginia, University of California San Diego, and many other topped rank universities

  • 300+ courses (MOOCs) available at no cost; students receive certificate of completion

  • Coursera hopes to make courses available for university credit in the future

edX

  • edX is a not-for-profit enterprise of founding partners Harvard and MITdesiged as a platform for MOOCs

  • Emphasis on computer and engineering courses; limited offerings in the social sciences

  • Certificates of completion offered for a modest fee, but not for college credit

Flat World Knowledge 

  • Provides a new approach to college textbooks offering rigorously reviewed textbooks online free of cost to students

  • Offers full-text online for free and in a variety of affordable formats

Free Technology Academy 

  • The Free Technology Academy consists of an advanced virtual campus with course modules that can be followed entirely online.

  • Learners enrolled in the FTA will be guided by professional teaching staff from the participating universities around the world.

Internet Archive: OERs

  • Provided by the Internet Archive library, hundreds of free courses, video lectures, and supplemental materials from universities in the United States and China. Many of these lectures are available for download.

Khan Academy

  • An online collection of thousands of video tutorials on subjects such as mathematics, history, finance, physics, chemistry, biology, astronomy, and economics

 Notre Dame Open Courseware

  • An open access portal to University of Notre Dame material used in courses

OnlineCourses.com

  • An aggregation of  free and open courseware for students and professionals, all in a conveniently searchable online courseware platform.

Open Courseware Consortium 

  • Free and open digital publication of high quality educational materials, organized as courses.

  • A collaboration of more than 200 higher education institutions and associated organizations from around the world creating a board and deep body of open educational content using a shared model.

  • Another freely accessible, online collection of courseware, this from Yale University.

  • Lectures and course material available through YouTube and iTunes; no registration required.

    Udacity

    • Udacity is a MOOC platform developed by Stanford University computer science and engineering professors
    • Free certificates of completion; plans for "secured online examination" for a higher level of certification in the future

    WikiBooks 

    • An online wiki-based collection of over two thousand open-content textbooks. Fully editable, published under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike License.

    Wikiversity 

    • Another wiki-based resource containing thousands of open educational resources on the university level.

    Wolfram|Alpha 

    • A free online computational knowledge engine. Highly useful for complex queries, high level mathematical computation, and statistical comparisons.

     World Digital Library 

    • Primary materials from countries and cultures around the world, made available online free of charge.
             

            Open Image Sharing

            Flicker Creative Commons

            • A collection of images published on Flickr using a Creative Commons license.  

            NYPL Digital Library

            • Open access to over 700,000 digital images from the New York Public Library's collections

            Getty Images

            • Hundreds of thousands of images available for non-commercial use

            Medical Stock Images and Footage

            Wellcome Images

             

            Open Video Sharing

            Moving image archive

            • Large collection of movies, films and videos free to use

            Open Video Collection

            • A repository of open access digital videos for education training purposes
            Description

            Loading  Loading...

            Tip