- American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)
The ASCE provides continuing education, leadership training, and technological development, to its members to benefit their careers, the profession and the public. The ASCE website offers free access to job postings
, email job alerts, internship information, and fee-based online and videotaped courses and seminars. The site also includes free electronic newsletters, including a student newsletter, civil engineering news and related legislative news, ethics resources
, programs to involve kids in engineering, and a large section on the history of civil engineering. The Southeastern Michigan Branch
of the ASCE also hosts events and sponsors scholarships
- American Concrete Institute (ACI)
The ACI promotes the education certification of concrete practitioners, and it leads in the development of standards in concrete design, construction, maintenance, and repair. The ACI website provides information on and applications for internships, competitions, and scholarships
, and it includes a network of faculty willing to help students find answers to research and scholarship questions. The site also includes information on various certification programs, upcoming conferences, and seminars and free recorded web sessions
from previous conferences
- American Society of Heating, Refrigeration, and Air Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE)
ASHRAE develops and provides technical information, guidelines, and standards, and it provides for the professional and educational development of HVAC professionals. The ASHRAE website includes homeland security information, mold information, indexes to ASHRAE information going back to 1895, self-directed continuing education courses, research proposals up for bid, standards actions and interpretations, and standards up for public review. The site also includes research proposals up for bid, a product and services directory, and a student zonr
with information about scholarships an design competitions. In addition, you may also sign up for free weekly newsletters on the HVAC&R industry.
- American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE)
The ASEE is a society of academic administrators, professors and teachers that promotes the improvement of engineering education. The site includes profiles of U.S. and Canadian engineering programs, fellowships and internships, scholarships, grants and funding resources. It also includes information on the different types of engineering and related jobs.
- Engineering Society of Detroit (ESD)
The ESD is a multidisciplinary engineering and scientific society that promotes professional development, technology, engineering and science professions, and positive contributions to society. The ESD website includes licensure information and courses, monthly networking events, competitions and awards, career expos with potential employers, and free job postings.
- Tau Beta Pi Engineering Honor Society
TBP is a national, invitation-only honor society of engineers who are high academic achievers and have shown exemplary character. TBP sponsors many scholarships and fellowships.
- Society of Women Engineers (SWE)
The SWE is a nonprofit organization that promotes engineering as a career choice for women. This site includes scholarships, career advice articles, links to information about issues that women face in the workplace, online seminars, and a career center where you can search for and apply for job openings.
- National Society of Black Engineers (NSBE)
The NSBE is a student-managed organization that supports Black engineering students’ academic and professional development and promotes positive involvement in the community. The NSBE website includes community service programs and opportunities, tutoring and mentoring programs, scholarships from both the NSBE and other organizations, and a free career center where you can search and apply for jobs.