Finding a Book on the Shelf
Finding a Print Journal Article
This is the "Ethics" page of the "Civil Engineering" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Civil Engineering  

Last Updated: Nov 3, 2017 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/civilengineering Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Ethics Print Page
  Search: 
 

Websites

  • Ethics (National Society of Professional Engineers)
    The NSPE's website includes their Code of Ethics, summaries of ethics cases adjudicated by the Board of Ethical Review, monthly, fee-based ethics webinars, and an exam to review professional engineering ethics.
  • Code of Ethics (ASCE)
    The ASME website includes a Code of Ethics that serves as the model for professional engineering conduct, case studies that have come before the ASCE Committee on Professional Conduct, and a charter to fight global corruption in the construction industry.
  • Online Ethics Center
    Managed by the National Academy of Engineering's Center for Engineering Ethics and Society, this website includes a glossary of engineering ethics terms, case studies for use in classroom discussions, and teaching tools such as syllabi and sample assignments.
  • Ethics in Science National Clearinghouse (ESENCe)
    This website was a beta site for a national digital library for ethics in science and engineering. It includes documents meant to fulfill a requirement to train undergraduate students, graduate students and postdocs in research ethics. (Scroll down for full text documents)
 

Books on Engineering Ethics

Cover Art
Engineering, Social Justice, and Sustainable Community Development - Advisory Group for the Center for Engineering, Ethics, and Society; National Academy of Engineering
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780309152587
Publication Date: 2010
This book summarizes the first in a series of biennial workshops on the theme of engineering ethics and engineering leadership. This workshop addresses conflicting positive goals for engineering projects in impoverished areas and areas in crisis. The goals of project sponsors and participants, which are often implicit, include protecting human welfare, ensuring social justice, and striving for environmental sustainability alongside the more often explicit goal of economic development or progress.

Cover Art
Ethics in Engineering Practice and Research - Caroline Whitbeck
Call Number: TA 157 .W47 2011
ISBN: 9780521897976
Publication Date: 2011
The first edition of this book focused on the difficult ethical problems engineers encounter in their practice and in research. Resolving these problems involves an iterative process of analysis and synthesis; and there can be more than one acceptable solution. The second edition offers a real-world, problem-centered approach to engineering ethics, using a rich collection of open-ended case studies to develop skill in recognizing and addressing ethical issues and laying the foundation of ethical concepts and reasoning.

Cover Art
Engineering Peace and Justice - P. Aarne Vesilind
Call Number: TA 157 .V47 2010
ISBN: 9781848826731
Publication Date: 2010
"This book details the history of the engineering profession, including its ethical commitment to the public good, and it shows how engineers have, in the past, served their clients as either military or civilian engineers. The book also examines concepts of ethical engineering, including the engineer’s duty to society; engineering’s relationship to war and peace; and the engineer’s commitment to the environment. The final section details some stories of contemporary engineers who have used their technical skills in the promotion of peace, becoming "peace engineers"."

Cover Art
Engineering Education and Practice: Embracing a Catholic Vision - S.M., James L Heft; Kevin Hallinan (Editors)
Call Number: T 73 .E447 2012
ISBN: 9780268031107
Publication Date: 2011
This collection of essays explores how major themes of Catholic social teaching--respect for the environment, sustainability, technological design, and service to the poor--all positively affect engineering curricula, students, and faculty. Authors discuss special fieldwork courses that offer hands-on service-learning opportunities that can reinforce ethical and religious themes.

Cover Art
Ethics and Science - Adam Briggle; Carl Mitcham
Call Number: Q 180.55 .M67 B75 2012
ISBN: 9780521878418
Publication Date: 2012
Who owns your genes? What does climate science imply for policy? Should we teach intelligent design? In this book, Adam Briggle and Carl Mitcham help readers to develop critical thinking skills to build cogent arguments and informed judgements. They introduce ethics and the normative structure of science and then consider the 'society of science' and its norms for the responsible conduct of research. Later chapters explore ethical issues at the interfaces of science, policy, religion, culture and technology. Each chapter features case studies and research questions to stimulate further reflection.

Cover Art
Emerging Military Technologies - Wilson W. S. Wong
Call Number: UF 503 .W66 2013
ISBN: 9780313396137
Publication Date: 2012
This book examines emerging defense technologies such as directed energy weapons, nanotech devices, and bioscience applications that have the potential to dominate international relations in the future, just as nuclear weapons and space infrastructure-assisted conventional weapons do now.

Cover Art
Lessons amid the Rubble - Sarah K. A. Pfatteicher
Call Number: TA 656 .P488 2010
ISBN: 9780801897191
Publication Date: 2010
Pfatteicher examines the collapse of the World Trade Center buildings and draws on historical and current practice in engineering design, construction, and curricula to discuss how engineers should conceive, organize, and execute a search for the reasons behind the failure of man-made structures. Pfatteicher also explores six related events to reveal simple lessons about the engineering enterprise, each of which embodies an ethical dilemma at the heart of the profession.She ties these themes together to highlight issues of professionalism and professional identity infused in engineering education and encourages an explicit, direct conversation about their meaning.

Cover Art
The Engineering Project: Its Nature, Ethics and Promise - Gene Moriarty
Call Number: TA 157 .M835 2008
ISBN: 9780271032542
Publication Date: 2008
We all live our daily lives surrounded by the products of technology that make what we do simpler, faster, and more efficient. But at the same time, many of these products also leave us more disengaged from our natural and even human surroundings. It is the task of what Gene Moriarty calls focal engineering to create products that will achieve a balance between disburdenment and engagement.

Cover Art
Moral Machines: Teaching Robots Right from Wrong - Wendell Wallach; Colin Allen
Call Number: TJ 211 .W36 2009
ISBN: 9780199737970
Publication Date: 2010
Computers are already approving financial transactions, controlling electrical supplies, and driving trains. Soon, service robots will be taking care of the elderly in their homes, and military robots will have their own targeting and firing protocols. Colin Allen and Wendell Wallach argue that as robots take on more and more responsibility, they must be programmed with moral decision-making abilities, for our own safety. Moral Machines is the first book to examine the challenge of building artificial moral agents, probing deeply into the nature of human decision making and ethics.

Cover Art
Unwritten Laws of Ethics and Change in Engineering - American Society of Mechanical Engineers
Call Number: TA 157 .U73 2015
ISBN: 9780791860588
Publication Date: 2015
This new book is based on two popular ASME online self-study courses. Part 1 covers Ethics For Engineers: Doing the Right Thing When No One is Looking, and Part 2 is on Changing Organizational Culture. Practical case studies and real-world examples are included. It is intended for early career engineers and other practicing professionals to address non-technical topics that are often "not taught in school."

Cover Art
Engineering and Warfare - Ethan Blue
Call Number: TA 157 .B58 2014
ISBN: 9781608458769
Publication Date: 2013
This book investigates the close connections between engineering and war, broadly understood, and the conceptual and structural barriers that face those who would seek to loosen those connections. It shows how military institutions and interests have long influenced engineering education, research, and practice and how they continue to shape the field in the present. The analysis draws on philosophy, history, critical theory, and technology studies.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip