- BBC Country Profiles
From the website: "Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.
They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives."
- CIA's The World Factbook
From the website: "The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities."
- Constitution Finder
From the website: "CONSTITUTION FINDER is offered as a public service, without charge, by individuals, members of the University of Richmond School of Law community.
Given the constant flux of the World Wide Web, we cannot guarantee that our index at all times comprehensively represents the Web's content, or that the links we provide offer accurate and current information.
In particular, CONSTITUTION FINDER does not warrant either that translations are accurate or that all amendments have been included."
- Eldis Regional and Country Profiles
From the website: "Eldis is an online information service providing free access to relevant, up-to-date and diverse research on international development issues. The database includes over 40,000 summaries and provides free links to full-text research and policy documents... More..."
- Historical Country Information
From the website: "...provides historical reference information on aspects of the United States’ relations with the countries of the world.
The central component is a guide to matters of diplomatic recognition and the establishment and maintenance of diplomatic relations between the United States and states of the world, from 1776 to the present."
- Human Rights Reports - US Department of State
From the website: "The annual Country Reports on Human Rights Practices – the Human Rights Reports – cover internationally recognized individual, civil, political, and worker rights, as set forth in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and other international agreements.
The U.S. Department of State submits reports on all countries receiving assistance and all United Nations member states to the U.S. Congress in accordance with the Foreign Assistance Act of 1961 and the Trade Act of 1974.:
- International Monetary Fund--Countries
From the website: "The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 188 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world."
- Library of Congress Country Profiles
From the website: "This series of profiles of foreign nations is part of the Country Studies Program, formerly the Army Area Handbook Program. The profiles offer brief, summarized information on a country’s historical background, geography, society, economy, transportation and telecommunications, government and politics, and national security."
These differ from the Library of Congress Country Profile books as they provide succinct information about the countries. The list of countries is not comprehensive.
- NationMaster: Compare Countries on Just about Anything!
From the website: "NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from hundreds of sources. Using the forms below, you can get maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics with ease.
We want to be the web’s one-stop resource for country statistics on everything from obesity to murders."
Includes 305 countries, 43 country groups, 5037 categories, and over 19 million data points.
- United Nations's undata
From the website: "The numerous databases, tables and glossaries containing over 60 million data points cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade" and more.