This is the "Qualitative Research" page of the "Management Research Methodology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Management Research Methodology  

Last Updated: Oct 6, 2017 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/content.php?pid=623432 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Qualitative Research Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books

Cover Art
Action Research: A Methodology for Change and Development - Somekh
ISBN: 9780335227952
Publication Date: 2005
You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
The Coding Manual for Qualitative Researchers - Johnny Saldaña
Call Number: H 62 .S343 2013
ISBN: 9781446247365
Publication Date: 2012
The Second Edition of Johnny Saldaña's international bestseller provides an in-depth guide to the multiple approaches available for coding qualitative data. Fully up-to-date, it includes new chapters, more coding techniques and an additional glossary. In total, 32 coding methods are profiled that can be applied to a range of research genres from grounded theory to phenomenology to narrative inquiry. For each approach, Saldaña discusses the method's origins, a description of the method, practical applications, and a clearly illustrated example with analytic follow-up.

Cover Art
The Coding Manual for Qualitative Researchers - Johnny Saldana
Call Number: H 62 .S343 2009
ISBN: 9781847875488
Publication Date: 2009
The Coding Manual for Qualitative Researchers is unique in providing, in one volume, an in-depth guide to each of the multiple approaches available for coding qualitative data. In total, 29 different approaches to coding are covered, ranging in complexity from beginner to advanced level and covering the full range of types of qualitative data from interview transcripts to field notes. For each approach profiled, Johnny Saldaña discusses the method's origins in the professional literature, a description of the method, recommendations for practical applications, and a clearly illustrated example. Also included in the book is an introduction to how codes and coding initiate qualitative data analysis, their applications with qualitative data analysis software, the writing of supplemental analytic memos, and recommendations for how to best use the manual for particular studies. The Coding Manual for Qualitative Researchers is an invaluable reference for all students, teachers, and practitioners of qualitative inquiry, and a useful textbook for beginning and advanced qualitative research methods courses in such disciplines as education, sociology, communication, anthropology, psychology, and health care.

Cover Art
Doing and Writing Action Research - A. Jack Whitehead; Jean McNiff;
Call Number: LB 1028.24 .M3985 2009
ISBN: 9781847871749
Publication Date: 2009
Doing and Writing Action Research provides a clear, comprehensive, and user-friendly guide to the practical aspects of carrying out action research. Written with practitioners involved in workplace-based professional development programs, as well as those on research training courses, in mind, this book covers all the core issues, with guidance on how to present findings, produce a research report that can inform policy, demonstrate the quality of one's research, and be critical and write theoretically. The book contains many worked examples of action research projects, to help illustrate the guidance on producing successful written accounts.  

Doing Qualitative Community Research - Ernest Quimby
ISBN: 9781608052585
Publication Date: 2012
This text describes important considerations for conceptualizing, designing and carrying out qualitative research in community settings. The book covers various research aspects with respect to teaching, learning, practicing and assessing. Readers will gain insights into qualitative methodology as a vital stand-alone approach and find it to be an illuminating supplement to quantitative methodology and a core component of mixed methods studies. Some key questions answered by the book are: What's in it for us? What are collaborations and partnerships? How can knowledge and skills to achieve meaningful outcomes be acquired and applied? How can scientific rigor be achieved? What are the challenges and how can they be resolved? What is ethical? Whose voices and narratives should be portrayed? What is culturally competent qualitative research? Who and what determine assessments? Can qualitative research help sustain community? What happens when the project ends? How can research shape public policy? The e-book should serve as a useful guide for social science and community research students and teachers alike.

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Doing Qualitative Research - Amir B. Marvasti; David Silverman
Call Number: H 62 .S472 2008
ISBN: 9781412926393
Publication Date: 2008
The Indispensable, Bestselling Qualitative Textbook isáNow Chock-Full of Examples and Pedagogy for theáAmerican Market!David SilvermanÆs seminal Doing Qualitative Research, originally written primarily for the European market, has been completely revised and adapted foráU.S.ástudentsáwith the help of Amir Marvasti of Penn State Altoona. It contains interdisciplinary and real-world examples and student diaries that speak to those readers undertaking new research projects and qualitative dissertations in the U.S.Key Features Offers a thorough review of the major methods in qualitative research and data analysis techniques specific to each methodGives practical advice on key issues, such as defining ôoriginalityö and narrowing down a topicProvides a thorough review of the major methods in qualitative research and data analysis techniques specific to each methodPresents End-of-Chapter Narratives accounts of current or former graduate studentsÆ experiences with the topics covered in the respective chaptersContains web-based exercises designed to help students and their instructors incorporate web-based learning in their coursesIncludes exercises to test readersÆ knowledge and to encourage the development of relevant skillsIntended AudienceThis lively, accessible textbook is ideal for upper-level undergraduate and graduate students in the social sciencesùincluding those in sociology, education, communications, anthropology, and health departments.

Cover Art
Fieldwork, Participation and Practice - Marlene de Laine
Call Number: LB 2394 .L35 2000
ISBN: 0761954864
Publication Date: 2000
A timely and topical look at the role of ethics in fieldwork taking into account some of the major issues confronting qualitative researchers. The main purposes of this book are twofold, to promote an understanding of the harmful possibilities of fieldwork, and provide ways of dealing with ethical problems and dilemmas. To these ends, examples of actual fieldwork are provided that address ethical problems and dilemmas, and posit ways of dealing with them. This book covers traditional and contemporary approaches to fieldwork, including the role of self//identity, participation, feminist methods, ethical and moral issues. The examples discussed include fieldworkers' experiences with sensitive topics, sensitive situations, dramatic scenarios and events, and difficult circumstances for which there seem no satisfactory resolutions. The author tackles the central issues that the role of the fieldworker has to confront. Fieldworkers are often attempting to balance observation with participation, and others struggle with the interests and responsibilities of various audiences (sponsors, gatekeepers, academics, participants); and with the self. She further addresses the problems researchers face around the boundaries between private and public place, conventional and sensitive topics, overt and covert methods, fieldnotes and texts. These dilemmas are placed in the context where decisions have to be made that draw on values, principles, codes of ethics, professional standards and feelings. The main emphasis of the book is on ethical problems and dilemmas that move the researcher to centre stage, although the risk of threat from research for participants is given due recognition.

Cover Art
Foundations of Mixed Methods Research: Integrating Quantitative and Qualitative Approcahes in the Social and Behavioral Sciences - Abbas Tashakkori; Charles B. Teddlie
Call Number: H 62 .T294 2009
ISBN: 9780761930112
Publication Date: 2009
Mixed methodology has become an increasingly popular way of both researching and teaching methodology across the social sciences, and students across these fields are expected to be proficient in both quantitative and qualitative techniques. This text begins with an introduction to and overview of the development of mixed methodology, and then takes students through all aspects of working with mixed methods from research design and data collection through to analysis and conclusions.

Cover Art
Handling Qualitative Data: A Practical Guide - Lyn Richards
Call Number: H 62 .R473 2009
ISBN: 9781848602175
Publication Date: 2009
This new edition of Lyn Richards' best-selling book provides an accessible introduction to qualitative research for students and practitioners. Recognizing that for many new researchers dealing with data is the main point of departure, this book helps them to acquire a progressive understanding of the skills and methodological issues that are central to qualitative research. This second edition features increased coverage of ethical implications, preparing for data collection and reflecting on the nature of data, and there is also a brand new website, offering live, detailed case studies and a software guide with links to information and tutorials in several products.  

Cover Art
Interviews in Qualitative Research - Christine Horrocks; Nigel King
Call Number: H 61.28 .K56 2010
ISBN: 9781412912563
Publication Date: 2010
Interviewing is used very widely in qualitative research, and takes many different forms. It is also a method that is constantly evolving, in response both to theoretical and technological developments. The authors present a clear and thorough guide to the use of interviews in contemporary qualitative research. The book also features a chapter which introduces the principles and practice of the thematic analysis of interview data, and the book concludes with a detailed consideration of the use of interviews in two major qualitative research traditions: phenomenological and narrative approaches.

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
InterViews: Learning the Craft of Qualitative Research Inteviewing - Steinar Kvale; Svend Brinkmann
Call Number: HM 571 .K93 2009
ISBN: 9780761925422
Publication Date: 2008
The first edition of InterViews has provided students and professionals in a wide variety of disciplines with the "whys" and "hows" of research interviewing, preparing students for learning interviewing by doing interviews and by studying examples of best practice. The thoroughly revised Second Edition retains its original seven-stage structure, continuing to focus on the practical, epistemological, and ethical issues involved with interviewing. Authors Steinar Kvale and Svend Brinkmann also include coverage of newer developments in qualitative interviewing, discussion of interviewing as a craft, and a new chapter on linguistic modes of interview analysis. Practical and conceptual assignments, as well as new "tool boxes," provide students with the means to dig deeper into the material presented and achieve a more meaningful level of understanding. New to This Edition · Includes new developments in qualitative interviewing: New materials cover narrative, discursive, and conversational analyses. · Presents interviewing as a social practice: Knowledge produced by interviewing is discussed as linguistic, conversational, narrative, relational, situated, and pragmatic. · Addresses a variety of interviews forms: In addition to harmonious, empathetic interviews, the authors also cover confrontational interviews. This text is ideal for both novice and experienced interview researchers as well as graduate students taking courses in qualitative and research methods in the social sciences and health sciences, particularly departments of education, nursing, sociology, psychology, and the media sciences. Praise for the previous edition: "I think this is one of the most in-depth treatments of the interview process that I have seen. The frank and realistic approach that the authors take to this topic is rather unique and will be very reassuring to researchers who are undertaking an interview study for the first time." --Lisa M. Diamond, University of Utah

Cover Art
Introduction to Action Research - Morten Levin; Davydd J. (James) Greenwood;
Call Number: HM 571 .G74 2007
ISBN: 9781412925976
Publication Date: 2006
The Second Edition of Introduction to Action Research: Social Research for Social Change makes social science matter! It focuses on how it is possible to combine practical problem solving with generating new theoretical insights. Authors Davydd J. Greenwood and Morten Levin combine a thorough discussion of the epistemological foundations of action research with a broad overview of major contemporary trends in the field.

Cover Art
An Introduction to Qualitative Research - Uwe Flick
Call Number: BF 76.5 .F5713 2006
ISBN: 1412911451
Publication Date: 2006
This Third Edition of Uwe Flick's bestselling textbook has been fully revised, expanded and updated but retains all of the student-friendly elements and carefully structured qualities of the previous edition. Brand new features include: - Updated discussions and references throughout the text - The integration into all chapters of additional features including chapter overviews, case studies, lists of key points and end-of-chapter exercises - 6 new chapters including a guide to using the book, a chapter on ethics, the uses of literature in qualitative research, an overview of research design, a discussion centered on using documents, and a final chapter on qualitative online research. This new edition will ensure that An Introduction to Qualitative Research preserves its status as the essential introductory text for all students of qualitative research.

Cover Art
The Landscape of Qualitative Research - Norman K. Denzin; Yvonna S. Lincoln (Eds)
Call Number: H 62 .L274 2008
ISBN: 9781412957588
Publication Date: 2007
The Landscape of Qualitative Research, Third Edition, the first volume of the paperback versions of the The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research, Third Edition, takes a look at the field from a broadly theoretical perspective, and is composed of the Handbook's Parts I ( SLocating the Field ), II ( SMajor Paradigms and Perspectives ), and VI ( SThe Future of Qualitative Research ). The Landscape of Qualitative Research, Third Edition attempts to put the field of qualitative research in context. Part I provides background on the field, starting with history, then action research and the academy, and the politics and ethics of qualitative research. Part II isolates what we regard as the major historical and contemporary paradigms now structuring and influencing qualitative research in the human disciplines. The chapters move from competing paradigms (positivist, post positivist, constructivist, critical theory) to specific interpretive perspectives, feminisms, racialized discourses, cultural studies, sexualities, and queer theory. Part III considers the future of qualitative research. New to the Third Edition • Contains a new Reader's Guide prepared by the editors that helps students and researchers navigate through the chapters, locating the different methodologies, methods, techniques, issues, and theories relevant to their work. Presents an abbreviated Glossary of terms that offer students and researchers a ready resource to help decode the language of qualitative research. Offers recommended Readings that provide readers with additional sources on specific topic areas linked to their research. Intended Audience This text is designed for graduate students taking classes in social research methods and qualitative methods as well as researchers throughout the social sciences and in some fields within the humanities.

Cover Art
The Observational Research Handbook: Understanding How Consumers Live with Your Product - Bill Abrams; American Marketing Association Staff
Call Number: HF 5415.33 .U6 A25 2000
ISBN: 065800073X
Publication Date: 2000
The Observational Research Handbook explores the burgeoning qualitative marketing research technique of ethnography or "descriptive anthropology," the observation and analysis of how consumers respond to a product within their own environments based upon their cultural values and relationships. The most comprehensive professional reference available on the subject, The Observational Research Handbook acquaints marketing and advertising professionals, market researchers, and manufacturers of consumer products with what observational research is, what it can add to a consumer marketing effort, and how an ethnographic marketing study is conducted. The book includes insights on setting study objectives, selecting the appropriate research method, defining the parameters of a study, creating interview scripts, applying specific practices and tips to the actual observations, and then compiling and analyzing the results. A complete case study-featuring a real proposal for an observational research study as well as an actual script and analysis of the results-is included in the appendix. Praise for The Observational Research Handbook: "Building great brands means constantly fishing for new ideas with the power to move consumers. This book should be in every marketer's tackle box. Bill Abrams provides a guide to observational research that's fascinating and instructive. -- Elizabeth Ellers Director, Brand Planning & Research Grey Advertising "Bill Abrams takes a topic that is surrounded by academic mystery and makes it understandable and usable for people in business. The learning that Colgate has obtained from observing people shopping and using our products in their homes has been invaluable in designing new products that meet their needs. Observational research is a cornerstone of our consumer insights program." -- Jim Figura Vice President Consumer Research and Insights Colgate-Palmolive Company "Bill Abrams creative director turned observational research guru, opens your eyes to how you can determine how consumers actually relate to and use your product. When you finish the book, you will be a believer!" -- Charles D. Peebler Jr. Chairman Emeritus True North Communications

Online Interviewing - Nalita James; Hugh Busher
Call Number: H 62 .J345 2009
ISBN: 9781412945318
Publication Date: 2009
Online Interviewing is a short, accessible and highly practical introduction to designing and conducting online interviews in qualitative research. James and Busher focus on helping the reader to understand the methodological and epistemological challenges of carrying out online interviews in the virtual environment. This is an ideal introduction for anyone who is interested in using online methods and who has an interest in the theory of the method.

Cover Art
Qualitative Inquiry under Fire - Norman K. Denzin
ISBN: 9781598747355
Publication Date: 2010
This collection of recent works by Norman K. Denzin provides a history of the field of qualitative inquiry over the past two decades. As perhaps the leading proponent of this style of research, Denzin has led the way toward more performative writing, toward conceptualizing research in terms of social justice, toward inclusion of indigenous voices, and toward new models of interpretation and representation. In these 13 essays-which originally appeared in a wide variety of sources and are edited and updated here-the author traces how these changes have transformed qualitative practice in recent years. In an era when qualitative inquiry is under fire from conservative governmental and academic bodies, he points the way toward the future, including a renewed dialogue on paradigmatic pluralism.

You must log into the ebrary databse to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Qualitative Methods in Business Research - Anne Kovalainen; Päivi Eriksson
Call Number: HD 30.4 .E75 2008
ISBN: 9781412903165
Publication Date: 2008
Qualitative Methods in Business Research is a wide-ranging and accessible book that provides a thorough overview into most common qualitative research methods in business and related fields, such as marketing, management, organization studies, and accounting. This book offers a practical how-to guide to using qualitative methods, and covers all the major qualitative approaches in business studies, including case study research, ethnography, narrative inquiry, discourse analysis, grounded theory, and action research.

Cover Art
Qualitative Inquiry and Research Design - John W. Creswell (Ed.)
Call Number: H 61 .C735 2007
ISBN: 1412916062
Publication Date: 2006
"Creswell does an excellent job categorizing the various qualitative methods into five approaches: narrative research, phenomenology, grounded theory, ethnography, and case study...The author has expanded on and updated the information he presented in the first edition of the book (Creswell, 1998), including discussion of the various schools of thought that have developed among qualitative researchers since the mid 1990's...Qualitative Inquiry & Research Design: Choosing among five approaches is a highly informative book; researchers will likely return again and against to the book as they expand their comfort zone within qualitative research." -Peggy M. Delmas, University of Alabama SCreswell has produced an even more outstanding and valuable text for qualitative research than the First Edition. -Edith King, University of Denver Like the bestselling First Edition, this new version explores the philosophical underpinnings, history, and key elements of each of five qualitative inquiry approaches: narrative research, phenomenology, grounded theory, ethnography, and case study. Using an accessible and engaging writing style, author John W. Creswell compares theoretical frameworks, ways to employ standards of quality, and strategies for writing introductions to studies, collecting data, analyzing data, writing a narrative, and verifying results.

Qualitative Research In the Post-Modern Era - Karyn Cooper
ISBN: 9789400723399
Publication Date: 2012
Qualitative Research is changing as a result of postmodern influences which have changed the way research is interpreted and understood. This has prompted questions which have been knocking at the door of qualitative research for some time now: Who is the researcher in this research account? How does the researcher relate to his/her research? How can the researcher who reads qualitative research relate to and understand the nuances and complexities in qualitative research? How can this volume help us to, not only describe, effect and manage change, but help us to understand, imagine and affect policies, practices and procedures related to research? What can we learn from researchers at the top of their stride who have struggled in order to develop qualitative research? The book includes illustrative interviews with world famous scholars. William Pinar, Norman Denzin, Henry Giroux, Zygmunt Bauman and Maxine Greene invite the student to engage reflectively and to figure out the rudiments and connections of research methodology and methods for theses. The developed so called SThe Five Contexts serves as a theoretical framework for conducting, understanding and interpreting qualitative research in a variety of disciplines in this post-modern era.

Cover Art
Qualitative Research Practice - Clive Seale; David Silverman; Giampietro Gobo (Editor); & Jaber F. Gubrium (Eds.)
ISBN: 9780761947769
Publication Date: 2004
`This comprehensive collection of almost 40 chapters - each written by a leading expert in the field - is the essential reference for anyone undertaking or studying qualitative research. It covers a diversity of methods and a variety of perspectives and is a very practical and informative guide for newcomers and experienced researchers alike' - John Scott, University of Essex `The best ways in which to understand the issues and processes informing qualitative research is to learn from the accounts of its leading practitioners. Here they come together in what is a distinctive and wide-ranging collection that will appeal to postgraduates and social researchers in general' - Tim May, University of Salford `This excellent guide engages in a dialogue with a wide range of expert qualitative researchers, each of whom considers their own practice in an illuminating and challenging way. Overall, the book constitutes an authoritative survey of current methods of qualitative research data collection and analysis' - Nigel Gilbert, University of Surrey Learning to do good qualitative research occurs most fortuitously by seeing what researchers actually do in particular projects and by incorporating their procedures and strategies into one's own research practice. This is one of the most powerful and pragmatic ways of bringing to bear the range of qualitative methodological perspectives available. The chapters in this important new volume are written by leading, internationally distinguished qualitative researchers who recount and reflect on their own research experiences as well as others, past and present, from whom they have learned. It demonstrates the benefits of using particular methods from the viewpoint of real-life experience. From the outside, good research seems to be produced through practitioners learning and following standard theoretical, empirical and procedural formats. But from the inside we learn that qualitative research (like other forms of scientific endeavour) is also a biographical engagement, rendering its scholarly and practical contributions in its own terms. Standards take on practical meaning as the distinct activities of qualitative research resonate throughout the enterprise, complicating its accountability to itself and to others. In an authoritative yet accessible manner, Qualitative Research Practice reveals the special features of this engagement, teaching us that qualitative research is as much a craft and practice as it is a way of knowing. Presenting a comprehensive examination of contemporary and traditional varieties of qualitative research practice, Qualitative Research Practice will be an invaluable resource for advanced students and researchers in any discipline. It is an essential and definitive guide to the major forms of qualitative methods in use today, written by leaders in the relevant fields of research practice.

Cover Art
Qualitative Research Practice - Jane Ritchie; Jane Lewis (Eds.)
Call Number: H 62 .Q3546 2003
ISBN: 0761971092
Publication Date: 2003
`This is a "how to" book on qualitative methods written by people who do qualitative research for a living.... It is likely to become the standard manual on all graduate and undergraduate courses on qualitative methods' - Professor Robert Walker, School of Sociology and Social Policy, University of Nottingham What exactly is qualitative research? What are the processes involved and what can it deliver as a mode of inquiry? Qualitative research is an exciting blend of scientific investigation and creative discovery. When properly executed, it can bring a unique understanding of people's lives which in turn can be used to deepen our understanding of society. It as a skilled craft used by practitioners and researchers in the `real world'; this textbook illuminates the possibilities of qualitative research and presents a sequential overview of the process written by those active in the field. Qualitative Research Practice: - Leads the student or researcher through the entire process of qualitative research from beginning to end - moving through design, sampling, data collection, analysis and reporting. - Is written by practicing researchers with extensive experience of conducting qualitative research in the arena of social and public policy - contains numerous case studies. - Contains plenty of pedagogical material including chapter summaries, explanation of key concepts, reflective points for seminar discussion and further reading in each chapter - Is structured and applicable for all courses in qualitative research, irrespective of field. Drawn heavily on courses run by the Qualitative Unit at the National Centre for Social Research, this textbook should be recommended reading for students new to qualitative research across the social sciences.

Cover Art
Qualitative Marketing Research - Johanna Moisander; Anu Valtonen
Call Number: HF 5415.2 .M623 2006
ISBN: 1412903807
Publication Date: 2006
Aimed at both graduate and undergraduate students majoring in business administration and in other fields of social sciences, Qualitative Marketing Research unpacks the emerging cultural approach in the field of marketing and consumer research and provides an interesting and informed study for anyone interested in cultural approaches to economic and social theory.

Cover Art
Qualitative Marketing Research - David Carson; Audrey Gilmore; Kjell Gronhaug; Chad Perry
Call Number: HF 5415.2 .Q328 2001
ISBN: 0761963650
Publication Date: 2001
As the importance of marketing to business grows, and as new concepts and applications of marketing emerge and evolve, so too does the need for up-to-date market intelligence. This book recognizes that the contribution which qualitative research can make to market understanding and insight is immense, and that statistical information flows are never enough but need to be compounded by market intelligence gained through qualitative methods. Qualitative Marketing Research clearly explains the use and importance of qualitative methods, clarifying the theories behind the methodology and providing concrete examples and exercises which illustrate its application to Management Studies and Marketing. This book is intended for all students of marketing who are required to complete their studies with a dissertation or research project.  

Cover Art
Qualitative Research Methods for the Social Sciences - Bruce Lawrence Berg
Call Number: H 61 .B4715 2000
ISBN: 0205318479
Publication Date: 2000
"This book offers the most comprehensive coverage of qualitative techniques of any book on the market today and does it in a way that is easy to read and follow. The author's central purpose remains a desire to instruct inexperienced researchers in ways of effectively collecting, organizing, and making sense of qualitative data, while stressing the importance of ethics in research and in taking the time to properly design and think through any research endeavor. After reading this book, fledgling researchers should be able to design, collect, and analyze data and then present their results to the scientific community." Considers seven different data collection strategies in detail. Describes focus group interviewing, one of the fastest growing styles of data collection, in detail (Ch. 5), including a new Moderator's Guide that provides the inexperienced focus group facilitator with a step-by-step guide to how the interview should be conducted. Maintains the emphasis on ethics in research (Ch. 3) including a new section on the President's apology for the Tuskegee Syphilis Study." For anyone in the social sciences who needs to develop research methodology.

Cover Art
The Real Life Guide to Accounting Research - Christopher Humphrey; Bill Lee; (eds.)
Call Number: HF 5630 .R39 2004
ISBN: 0080439721
Publication Date: 2004-04-06
A book that goes behind the more official presentations and accounts of research methods to explore the lived experiences, joys and mistakes of a wide range of international researchers principally working in the fields of accounting and finance, but also in management, economics and other social sciences. The authors of the articles in this book address a wide range of issues and obstacles that they have confronted at various stages in their respective research careers. In reflecting on their personal experiences, they provide practical guidance on how to overcome the types of problems that typically confront academic researchers in their day-to-day work. Includes: - Practical tips on how to undertake research and get findings published - Research project management skills - Inernational and interdisciplinary perspectives

Reflective Interviewing: A Guide to Theory and Practice - Kathryn J. Roulston
Call Number: H 62 .R678 2010
ISBN: 9781412948562
Publication Date: 2010
Offering a theoretically-informed guide for researchers learning how to interview in the social sciences, this book provides a practical approach to interviewing, helping researchers to learn about themselves as interviewers in ways that will inform the design, conduct, analysis, and representation of interview data. The author takes the reader through the practicalities of designing and conducting an interview study, and relates various forms of interview to different underlying epistemological assumptions about how knowledge is produced. The book concludes with practical advice and perspectives from experienced researchers who use interviews as a method of data generation.  


Cover Art
Rethinking Marketing: Qualitative Strategies and Exotic Visions - Alf H. Walle
Call Number: HF 5415.2 .W284 2001
ISBN: 1567203884
Publication Date: 2000
Do marketing and consumer research have anything to gain from the humanities and qualitative social sciences? Walle provides professional and aspiring marketers with a rationale for understanding that they do, and a toolkit to help make it possible to use what they've learned. He surveys the social sciences and humanities for instances where by design or accident they have brought their own special viewpoints to bear on the marketing enterprise. But Walle makes clear they become supplements to the scientific method, not surrogates. Readers will grasp quickly what he means and how to apply the lessons the social sciences and humanities teach. His book is a unique, fascinating, readable excursion into realms that marketers might not ordinarily venture into, certainly not for ways to do their work--but that is what they will get: practical new ways to do even the most familiar tasks better.

Cover Art
Reworking Qualitative Data - Janet Heaton
ISBN: 9781412932400
Publication Date: 2004
What is qualitative secondary analysis? How can it be most effectively applied in social research? This timely and accomplished book offers readers a well informed, reliable guide to all aspects of qualitative secondary analysis. The book: · Defines secondary analysis · Distinguishes between quantitative and qualitative secondary analysis · Maps the main types of qualitative secondary analysis · Covers the key ethical and legal issues · Offers a practical guide to effective research · Sets the agenda for future developments in the subject Written by an experienced researcher and teacher with a background in sociology, the book is a comprehensive and invaluable introduction to this growing field of social research.

Cover Art
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research - Norman K. Denzin; Yvonna S. Lincoln (Eds.)
Call Number: H 62 .H2455 2005
ISBN: 0761927573
Publication Date: 2005
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research, Third Edition, represents the state of art for the theory and practice of qualitative inquiry. Built on the foundations of the landmark First and Second Editions (1994, 2000), the Third Edition moves qualitative research boldly into the 21st century. The editors and authors ask how the practices of qualitative inquiry can be used to address issues of social justice in this new century.

Cover Art
Strategies of Qualitative Inquiry - Norman K. Denzin; Yvonna S. Lincoln; (Eds.)
ISBN: 9781412957564
Publication Date: 2007
The Third Edition of this bestseller now contains: - A new Reader's Guide prepared by the editors to help students navigate through the chapters, locating the different methodologies, methods, techniques, issues, and theories relevant to their work. - A newly added, abbreviated Glossary of terms offering students a ready resource to help decode the language of qualitative research. - Recommended Readings to provide readers with additional sources on specific topic areas linked to their research.

Cover Art
Using Software in Qualitative Research: A Step-by-step Guide - Ann Lewins; Christina Silver
Call Number: H 61.3 .L49 2007
ISBN: 0761949224
Publication Date: 2007
UsingSoftware in Qualitative Research combines several aspects of Computer Assisted Qualitative Data Analysis (CAQDAS), helping the reader choose the most appropriate package for their specific needs and get the most out of the software once they are using it. The text considers tasks and processes, bringing them together to demystify qualitative software and encourage flexible and critical choices and uses of software in supporting analysis.

Cover Art
Using Visual Data in Qualitative Research - Marcus Banks
Call Number: http://H 62 .B26 2007
ISBN: 9780761949794
Publication Date: 2008
Examining the wide range of uses of visual images in qualitative research, Using Visual Data in Qualitative Research incorporates discussion of visual data produced by the researcher, and that produced by those under study. It provides a comprehensive introduction to the practice of visually-orientated research.

  


Subject Guide

Profile Image
George Libbey
 
  


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip