This is the "Special Educaton Websites" page of the "Special Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Special Education  

Last Updated: Feb 9, 2017 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/specialeducation Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Special Educaton Websites Print Page
  Search: 
 

Office of Special Education, Michigan Dept of Education

  • Office of Special Education
    The function of the Office of Special Education (OSE) is the general supervision, administration, and funding of special education programs and services for children and youth with disabilities ages 3-21. A free appropriate public education (FAPE) is provided to eligible children according to federal statute and regulations, state statute, administrative rules, and department procedures.

National Center on Response to Intervention

  • National Center on Response to Intervention
    The Center provides technical assistance and information on RTI to educators, and families. Among its services, it provides knowledge production activities, expert training, information dissemination activities, and a rigorous Center evaluation, to help improve the delivery of services in states and districts across the country.

ADA Library - JAN Job Accommodation Network

SERI: Special Education Resources on the Internet

  • SERI: Special Education Resources on the Internet
    From the website: "Special Education Resources on the Internet (SERI) is a collection of Internet accessible information resources of interest to those involved in the fields related to Special Education.

    This collection exists in order to make on-line Special Education resources more easily and readily available in one location."

National Center for Learning Disabilities Inc.

  • National Center for Learning Disabilities
    From the website: "The mission of NCLD is to improve the lives of the 1 in 5 children and adults nationwide with learning and attention issues—by empowering parents and young adults, transforming schools and advocating for equal rights and opportunities."

    Information for parents, for teachers, for the adult with LD. Includes resources.

do2Learn

  • do2Learn
    From the website: "Do2learn provides thousands of free pages with social skills and behavioral regulation activities and guidance, learning songs and games, communication cards, academic material, and transition guides for employment and life skills."

    Some products available for a fee.

Teaching Learners with Multiple Special Needs

Individual with Disabilities Education Act 97

Building the Legacy: IDEA 2004 - ED.gov

  • Building the Legacy: IDEA 2004 - ED.gov
    For children 3-21, from the website: This site was created to provide a "one-stop shop" for resources related to IDEA and its implementing regulations, released on August 3, 2006.

    For children birth though 2: On September 6, 2011, the U.S. Department of Education announced the release of the final regulations for the early intervention program under Part C of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). These final regulations will help improve services and outcomes for America's infants and toddlers with disabilities and their families.

National Resource Center on ADHD

  • National Resource Center on ADHD
    The NRC Library is an Affiliate Member of the National Network of Libraries of Medicine under the auspices of the National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

The Iris Center

  • The Iris Center
    From the website: "We are a national center dedicated to improving education outcomes for all children, especially those with disabilities birth through age twenty-one."

    Covers all special ed topics, includes case studies and video vignettes.

Internet Special Education Resources

  • Internet Special Education Resources
    From the website: "ISER hopes to provide a valuable resource to parents and educators free of charge, while providing education professionals the opportunity to offer their services to the special education community.

    Through ISER:
    A parent can find a local education professional who will: accompany her through the local school's IEP process, help to diagnosis her child's learning difficulty, and locate the best school for her child.

    A parent who is moving to a new town can contact local professionals who can help make the transition smoother for a special needs child.

    A local education consultant or therapist, can advertise her services nationwide for a minimal fee.

    A professional or organization can advertise its services to the special needs professional community of schools and individual practitioners."

PhDinSpecialEducation.com

  • PhDinSpecialEducation.com
    From the website: "The term special needs can apply to a wide array of circumstances that cause individuals to require assistance or non-standard accommodations.

    Cognitive delays and learning disabilities are commonly referred to as special needs, but visual and hearing impairment, physical disabilities that affect mobility, and even congenital conditions of the major organs and body systems can all be considered special needs.

    The websites below, listed in no particular order, are the best resources on the Internet for learning about a wide variety of special needs."

LD Online

  • LD Online
    LD OnLine seeks to provide accurate and up-to-date information and advice about learning disabilities and ADHD. It features hundreds of articles, multimedia, monthly columns by noted experts, first person essays, children’s writing and artwork, a comprehensive resource guide, very active forums, and a Yellow Pages referral directory of professionals, schools, and products.

Special Education News

  • Special Education News
    Special Education News is centered on the news of the special education field. The Web site is also designed to offer unique resources to special education professionals in one convenient place. These include places for educators and others to exchange their views, find links to important information at other sites on the Web and keep track of news and events across the country.

ParentPals.com

  • ParentPals.com
    From the website: "Our goal is to provide special education information, support, tips, games and book and product resources for parents and professionals. Therapists, audiologists, teachers, nurses and physicians contribute information on the following subjects: ADHD, autism, deaf and hard of hearing, emotionally disturbed, homeschooling, gifted, learning disabilities, mental retardation, orthopedically impaired, otherwise health impaired, severe and/or multiple disabilities, speech and language impairment, stuttering, traumatic brain injury and, visually impaired."

DO-IT Disabilities, Opportunities, Internetworking, and Technology

  • DO-IT Disabilities, Opportunities, Internetworking, and Technology
    From the website: "Many capable individuals with disabilities face challenges as they pursue academics and careers. They are underrepresented in many rewarding fields, including science, technology, engineering, and mathematics.

    DO-IT (Disabilities, Opportunities, Internetworking, and Technology) serves to:

    •increase the success of people with disabilities in challenging academic programs and careers.

    •promote the application of universal design to physical spaces, information technology, instruction, and services.

    •freely distribute publications and videos for use in presentations, exhibits, and the classroom.

    •provide resources for students with disabilities, K-12 educators, postsecondary faculty and administrators, librarians, employers, parents, and mentors.


SERGE Special Education Resources for General Educators

  • SERGE: Special Education Resources for General Educators
    From the website: "This website was designed to provide general classroom educators with quick access to information and professional development about addressing the needs of students who have disabilities and special education."
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip