eBrary
Basic Searching Tips
Steps to Evidence Based PracticeEvidence Based Practice
This is the "Evidence Based Practice" page of the "Dental Hygiene" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Dental Hygiene   Tags: dental_hygiene, ebp, evidence_based_dentistry  

Last Updated: Jun 30, 2017 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/dental_hygiene Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Evidence Based Practice Print Page
  Search: 
 

Evidence-based Practice Databases

These databases can be easily limited to find evidence-based practice literature.

  • CINAHL (Ebsco)
    Premier database for nursing and allied health articles.
  • PubMed
    PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
  • Cochrane Library
    Contains articles and abstracts/citations from the following evidence- based medicine databases: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE); Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL); Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews; and Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
  • PubMed Health
    PubMed Health is based on systematic reviews of clinical trials.
    Specializes in reviews of clinical effectiveness research.Clinical effectiveness research finds answers to the question “What works?” in medical and health care.
 

Literature Review - How-to Books

Cover Art
Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care (eBook) - Helen Aveyard
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2010
Click on the title to get to the full text of the book. Accessible to UDM students and faculty only.

Cover Art
Doing a Literature Review in Nursing, Health and Social Care - Patricia Cronin; Michael Coughlan; Frances Ryan
Call Number: RT 81.5 .C68 2013
Publication Date: 2013
(Print book) Guides readers undertaking their own literature review through the process. Chapters address: - Different types of literature reviews - Critically analyzing material - Presenting the final piece of work - Best practice in referencing and plagiarism - Systematic approaches to literature reviews.

Cover Art
Doing Your Literature Review - Jill Jesson; Lydia Matheson; Fiona M. Lacey
Call Number: H 62 .J44 2011
Publication Date: 2011
(Print book) Guides students through the production of either a traditional or a systematic literature review. It gives practical advice on reading and organizing relevant literature and critically assessing the reviewed field.

Cover Art
Health Sciences Literature Review Made Easy - Judith Garrard
Call Number: R 118.6 .G37 2007
Publication Date: 2006
(Print book) Helps students and practitioners critically evaluate article findings. The fundamental principles of searching, organizing, reviewing, and synthesizing are covered at the most basic level.

Literature Review - Websites and Articles

 

Database Tutorials

CINAHL Basic Search: (Time: 4:28)
CINAHL Advanced Search: (Time: 5:03)
PubMed: links to the PubMed online training website where you can find a multitude of short tutorials
The Cochrane Library: Introduction - Tutorial is free but it requires registration to view.
The Cochrane Library: Advanced and MESH searching - Tutorial is free but requires registration to view.

Evidence-based Practice Websites

 

Resource for Critiquing / Evaluating a Research Study

       Outline (by the ANA) on how to critique a research study. Click the link on the ANA webpage for the full text pdf of the outline.

 

Books for Research Evaluation

Cover Art
How to Read a Paper (eBook) - Trisha Greenhalgh
Publication Date: 2010
Click on the title to get to the full text of the book. Accessible to UDM faculty and students only.

Cover Art
Intervention Research (eBook) - Bernadette Mazurek Melnyk; Dianne Morrison-Beedy
Publication Date: 2012
Click on the title to get to the full text of the book. Accessible to UDM faculty and students only.

Cover Art
Reading Research: a user friendly guide for health professionals - Barbara Jane Davies; Jo Logan
Call Number: R 852 .D38 2011
Publication Date: 2011
(Print book) Introduces the basic steps for understanding and assessing research articles, and shows how research results are ultimately incorporated into clinical practice. Written to address both qualitative and quantitative research.

Cover Art
Studying a Study and Testing a Test - Richard K. Riegelman
Call Number: R 118.6 .R54 2005 (Dental library)
ISBN: 9780781774260
Publication Date: 2012-06-22

Practice Guidelines

  • Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality (AHRQ)
    Provides an array of links to clinical information (EBP, preventive services, practice guidelines, technology assessment, and outcomes and effectiveness), research funding opportunities, data and survey sources, research findings, priority populations, health information technology, and public health preparedness.
  • Canada's Database of Clinical Practice Guidelines (CPGs)
  • National Guideline Clearinghouse | Home
    A free public resource of evidence based clinical practice guidelines
  • National Institutes of Health (NIH)
    Clinical Practice Guidelines can be found by utilizing the website search box and using the phrase "clinical practice guidelines" along with whatever topic you need (eg. AIDS "clinical practice guidelines").
  • U.S. Preventive Services Task Force
    The USPSTF conducts scientific evidence reviews of a broad range of clinical preventive health care services (such as screening, counseling, and preventive medications) and develops recommendations for primary care clinicians and health systems. These recommendations are published in the form of "Recommendation Statements."
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip