This is the "Time-series Analysis" page of the "Financial Engineering" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Financial Engineering  

Last Updated: Oct 6, 2017 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/content.php?pid=598399 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Time-series Analysis Print Page
  Search: 
 
 
 

Books

Cover Art
Statistical Inference in Multifractal Random Walk Models for Tinancial Times Series - Sattarhoff, Cristina
ISBN: 9783653007954
Publication Date: 2011
The dynamics of financial returns varies with the return period, from high-frequency data to daily, quarterly or annual data. Multifractal Random Walk models can capture the statistical relation between returns and return periods, thus facilitating a more accurate representation of real price changes. This book provides a generalized method of moments estimation technique for the model parameters with enhanced performance in finite samples, and a novel testing procedure for multifractality. The resource-efficient computer-based manipulation of large datasets is a typical challenge in finance. In this connection, this book also proposes a new algorithm for the computation of heteroscedasticity and autocorrelation consistent (HAC) covariance matrix estimators that can cope with large datasets.

Cover Art
Nonlinear Modeling of Economic and Financial Time-Series - Jawadi, Fredj Barnett; William A. Barnett; (Eds.)
Call Number: http://site.ebrary.com/lib/udmercy/detail.action?docID=10451141
ISBN: 9780857244901
Publication Date: 2010
Within the subprime crisis (2007) and the recent global financial crisis of 2008-2009, we have observed significant decline, corrections and structural changes in most US and European financial markets. Furthermore, it seems that this crisis has been rapidly transmitted toward the most developed and emerging countries and has strongly affected the whole economy. This volume aims to present recent researches in linear and nonlinear modelling of economic and financial time-series. The several discussions of empirical results of its chapters clearly help to improve the understanding of the financial mechanisms inherent to this crisis. They also yield an important overview on the sources of the financial crisis and its main economic and financial consequences. The book provides the audience a comprehensive understanding of financial and economic dynamics in various aspects using modern financial econometric methods. It addresses the empirical techniques needed by economic agents to analyze the dynamics of these markets and illustrates how they can be applied to the actual data. It also presents and discusses new research findings and their implications.

You must login to the ebrary database to access these books from off campus.

Cover Art
Time Series: Applications to Finance with R and S-Plus - Chan, Ngai Hang
ISBN: 9781118030714
Publication Date: 2011
A new edition of the comprehensive, hands-on guide to financial time series, now featuring S-Plus® and R software Time Series: Applications to Finance with R and S-Plus®, Second Edition is designed to present an in-depth introduction to the conceptual underpinnings and modern ideas of time series analysis. Utilizing interesting, real-world applications and the latest software packages, this book successfully helps readers grasp the technical and conceptual manner of the topic in order to gain a deeper understanding of the ever-changing dynamics of the financial world. With balanced coverage of both theory and applications, this Second Edition includes new content to accurately reflect the current state-of-the-art nature of financial time series analysis. A new chapter on Markov Chain Monte Carlo presents Bayesian methods for time series with coverage of Metropolis-Hastings algorithm, Gibbs sampling, and a case study that explores the relevance of these techniques for understanding activity in the Dow Jones Industrial Average. The author also supplies a new presentation of statistical arbitrage that includes discussion of pairs trading and cointegration. In addition to standard topics such as forecasting and spectral analysis, real-world financial examples are used to illustrate recent developments in nonstandard techniques, including: Nonstationarity Heteroscedasticity Multivariate time series State space modeling and stochastic volatility Multivariate GARCH Cointegration and common trends The book's succinct and focused organization allows readers to grasp the important ideas of time series. All examples are systematically illustrated with S-Plus® and R software, highlighting the relevance of time series in financial applications. End-of-chapter exercises and selected solutions allow readers to test their comprehension of the presented material, and a related Web site features additional data sets. Time Series: Applications to Finance with R and S-Plus® is an excellent book for courses on financial time series at the upper-undergraduate and beginning graduate levels. It also serves as an indispensible resource for practitioners working with financial data in the fields of statistics, economics, business, and risk management.
You must login to the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip