This is the "Industrial/Organizational Psychology" page of the "Psychology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Psychology  

Last Updated: Oct 6, 2017 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/psychology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Industrial/Organizational Psychology Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

E-Books

Cover Art
An Introduction to Contemporary Work Psychology - Maria Peeters (Editor); Toon Taris (Editor); Jan de Jonge (Editor)
ISBN: 1119945534
Publication Date: 2013-12-04
This is the first comprehensive overview of work psychology, with coverage of classic models, current theories, and contemporary issues affecting the 21st-century worker. Examines the positive aspects of work-motivation, performance, creativity, and engagement--instead of focusing only on adverse effects


Cover Art
Power and Organizations - Stewart R. Clegg; David Courpasson; Nelson Phillips
ISBN: 9780761943914
Publication Date: 2006-08-07
This book provides a comprehensive account of power and organizations, unlocking power as the central relation of modern organizations and society. The authors present an excellent synthesis of organization, social and political theory to offer an overview of power and organizations that is historically informed, addresses current issues, and is comprehensive in scope.

Cover Art
Understanding Psychological Contracts at Work - Neil Conway; Rob B. Briner
ISBN: 0199280657
Publication Date: 2006-01-19
How can we understand the relationship between employer and employee? What determines the give and take of such relationships and what happens when they go wrong? This book provides a comprehensive and critical overview of what is now the major way to trying to understand the employment relationship-the concept of the psychological contract.

Cover Art
Individuals, Groups, and Organizations Beneath the Surface - Lionel F. Stapley
ISBN: 9781855753198
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
This volume is an introductory text to the individual and organizational dynamics by an author with extensive experience in the field. It examines the unconscious processes of human behavior that affect all organizations and institutions.

Cover Art
Organizational Behavior I: Essential Theories of Motivation and Leadership - John B. Miner
ISBN: 0765615231
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
This comprehensive text provides a detailed review and analysis of the building-block theories in Organizational Behavior. John Miner has identified the key theories that every student or scholar needs to understand to be considered literate in the discipline.

Cover Art
Organizational Psychology in Cross-Cultural Perspective - Colin P. Silverthorne
ISBN: 0814740065
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
By looking at organizational psychology in a cross-cultural context, we can gain an understanding of the challenges facing organizations and business today.

Cover Art
Dynamics of Organizational Change and Learning - Jaap Boonstra (Editor)
ISBN: 0471877379
Publication Date: 2004-06-07
This handbook focuses on the complex processes and problems of organizational change and relates current knowledge of individual and group psychology to the understanding of the dynamics of change.

Cover Art
Handbook of Industrial, Work and Organizational Psychology, Vol. 1 - Deniz S. Ones (Editor); Handan Kepir Sinangil (Editor); Chockalingam Viswesvaran (Editor); Neil Anderson (Editor)
ISBN: 9780761964889
Publication Date: 2001-12-20
The globalized nature of work in the new millennium implies that human resource management, psychological theories of personnel and individual behaviour in the workplace have to change and evolve. This volume mainly focuses on theories, techniques and methods used by industrial and work psychologists.

Cover Art
Handbook of Industrial, Work and Organizational Psychology, Vol. 2 - Deniz S. Ones (Editor); Handan Kepir Sinangil (Editor); Chockalingam Viswesvaran (Editor); Neil Anderson (Editor)
ISBN: 9780761964896
Publication Date: 2001-12-20
Work in the 21st century requires new understanding in organizational behaviour: how individuals interact together to get work done. This volume brings together research on essential topics such as motivation; job satisfaction; leadership; compensation; organizational justice; communication; intra- and inter-team functioning; judgement and decision-making; organizational development and change.

Cover Art
Organizations in Depth: The Psychoanalysis of Organizations - Yiannis Gabriel; Larry Hirschhorn (Contribution by); Seth Allcorn (Contribution by)
ISBN: 0761952608
Publication Date: 1999-10-19
This book is a comprehensive and systematic examination of the insights psychoanalysis can offer to the study of organizations and organizational behaviour. Richly illustrated with examples, Yiannis Gabriel's exhaustive study provides fresh understandings of the role of creativity, control mechanisms, leadership, culture, and emotions in organizations.

 

Print Books

Cover Art
Industrial Organizational Psychology - Paul Levy
Call Number: HF 5548.8 .L396 2013
ISBN: 9781429242295
Publication Date: 2012-12-21
The text introduces students to the psychological factors active in the workplace, including the psychology of the workforce, employee health and well-being, and various dynamics of work interaction. Includes recent studies focusing on new technologies, new work habits, and newly emergent organizational structures.

Cover Art
Friends and Enemies in Organizations - Rachel Morrison (Editor); Sarah Wright (Editor)
Call Number: HF 5548.8 .F75 2009
ISBN: 9780230538764
Publication Date: 2009-11-15
This book is an exploration into the ways in which friendships, isolation and enemy-ships influence and affect our experience of work. The theme of the research volume is 'Alienation to Suffocation'; canvassing issues from loneliness and isolation through to the positive aspects of a friendly workplace.

Cover Art
In the Land of Difficult People - Terrence L. Gargiulo; Gini Graham Scott; Ron Dias (Illustrator)
Call Number: HF 5548.8 .G34 2008
ISBN: 9780814400296
Publication Date: 2008-04-30
A gripping, entertaining-and instructive-collection of tales about wicked wolves, power-hungry lions...and other creatures at work.Treasured for centuries, the world's folk tales have left a legacy of wisdom for countless generations.

Cover Art
How Healthy Is Your Organization? - Imre Lövey; Eszter Erdélyi; Manohar Nadkarni
Call Number: HD 58.7 .L684 2007
ISBN: 9780275997762
Publication Date: 2007-07-01
In today's stressful work environment, organizations can be crippled not only by product failures or dramatic market shifts but by internal demons. Through numerous examples, case studies, and diagnostic exercises, the authors show managers and employees, as well as students and researchers of organizational behavior, how to identify the sources of organizational disease and focus on promoting a positive, inclusive culture.

Cover Art
Perspectives on Organizational Fit - Cheri Ostroff (Editor); Timothy A. Judge (Editor)
Call Number: HD 58.7 .P485 2007
ISBN: 9780805851953
Publication Date: 2007-06-15
This book concerns how employees consider their work lives, how well they fit their jobs, the work setting, other people, and what is important and valued in their organizations.

Cover Art
Work in the 21st Century: An Introduction to Industrial and Organizational Psychology - Frank J. Landy; Jeffrey M. Conte
Call Number: HF 5548.8 .L254 2007
ISBN: 9781405144346
Publication Date: 2007-01-02
Work in the 21st Century is a highly regarded and engaging text for the industrial and organizational psychology course. Combining leading research, consulting, and teaching expertise, Frank Landy and Jeff Conte provide students with up-to-date examples and cases that link current research and theory to practical issues in the workplace.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology - Steven G. Rogelberg (Editor)
Call Number: HF 5548.8 .E498 2007 (Reference)
ISBN: 1412924707
Publication Date: 2006-08-18
2 volume set. With more than 400 entries, the Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology presents a thorough overview of the cross-disciplinary field of industrial and organizational psychology for students, researchers, and professionals in the areas of psychology, business, management, and human resources. In two volumes, readers are provided with state-of-the-art research and ready-to-use facts.

Cover Art
The Ethical Practice of Psychology in Organizations - Rodney L. Lowman
Call Number: HF 5548.8 .E79 2006
ISBN: 9781591473534
Publication Date: 2006-01-15
Illustrated by case examples based on real-life situations, this volume covers personnel selection, organizational diagnosis and intervention, consulting relationships, research and academic issues, professional training and certification, billing and marketing, and the ethics of professional behavior.

Cover Art
Ethics and Values in Industrial-Organizational Psychology - Joel Lefkowitz
Call Number: HF 5548.8 .L3644 2003
ISBN: 0805833536
Publication Date: 2003-05-01
Integrating work from the fields of moral philosophy, moral psychology, IO Psychology and political and social economy, as well as business, this volume sets out to provide a framework for moral action and presents practical models for ethical decision making.

Cover Art
Trust and Betrayal in the Workplace - Dennis S. Reina; Michelle L. Reina
Call Number: HD 58.7 .R4388 2006
ISBN: 1576750701
Publication Date: 1999-01-01
Trust and Betrayal in the Workplace explores the successes when trust exists, the problems when it doesn't, and the pain when it is betrayed. Utilizing a new, research-based model, with suggestions, models, and exercises that will yield immediate results, this handbook helps leaders and employees understand the dynamics of trust and betrayal and then take action.

I/O on the Web

  • Society for Industrial and Organizational Psychology
    SIOP is the premier membership organization for those practicing and teaching I-O psychology. While an independent organization with its own governance, SIOP is also a division within the American Psychological Association and an organizational affiliate of the Association for Psychological Science.
  • European Association of Work and Organizational Psychology
    The EAWOP exists to promote and support the development and application of Work and Organizational Psychology in Europe and to facilitate links between scientists and practitioners working in this field across Europe.
  • I/O at Work
    I/O at Work helps to bridge the gap between I/O research and its application in the HR world (and beyond) by making it easier for practitioners to access and stay on top of recently published research.
  • O*Net Resource Center
    The Occupational Information Network (O*NET) is the nation's primary source of occupational information. Central to the project is the O*NET database, containing information on hundreds of standardized and occupation-specific descriptors. The database, which is available to the public at no cost, is continually updated by surveying a broad range of workers from each occupation. The O*NET is being developed under the sponsorship of the US Department of Labor/Employment and Training Administration (USDOL/ETA) through a grant to the North Carolina Department of Commerce.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip