This is the "School Psychology" page of the "Psychology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Psychology  

Last Updated: Oct 6, 2017 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/psychology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

School Psychology Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Electronic Books

Cover Art
Essentials of School Neuropsychological Assessment - Daniel C. Miller
ISBN: 9781118175842
Publication Date: 2013-01-14
Written by a renowned expert in school neuropsychology, Essentials of School Neuropsychological Assessment, Second Edition is a practical resource presenting school psychologists, educational diagnosticians, and pediatric neuropsychologists with clear coverage and vital information on this evolving area of practice within school psychology.

Cover Art
The School Counseling and School Social Work Treatment Planner - Sarah Edison Knapp; Arthur E. Jongsma; Carey Dimmitt
ISBN: 9780470618172
Publication Date: 2012-07-03
School-aged children (grades K - 12) are often faced with personal problems that can hinder their ability to succeed in the school environment. This Treatment Planner focuses on school-related problems such as study and organizational skill deficits and academic motivation/underachievement, as well as "outside" issues such as blended families and substance abuse.

Cover Art
Psychoanalysis and Education - Alan Bainbridge (Editor); Linden West (Editor)
ISBN: 9781780490458
Publication Date: 2012-06-01
This title explores the current educational system from a psychodynamic perspective. This book will be found to be a valuable and topical contribution to understanding the role psychoanalysis in education today.

Cover Art
Advancing Student Achievement - Herbert J. Walberg
ISBN: 9780817949518
Publication Date: 2010-03-01
A renowned educator-psychologist explains how children learn and how family, classroom, and school practices can help them learn more effectively. In addition to drawing on studies of learning outcomes, the author reveals economic research on teacher education and school choice that challenges many popular assumptions.

Cover Art
Art Therapies in Schools - Vicky Karkou (Editor)
ISBN: 9781843106333
Publication Date: 2009-12-1
As arts therapists are increasingly working in schools, there is growing interest in identifying applicable therapeutic approaches and expanding on relevant research evidence. This book outlines the potential uses of music, art, drama and dance movement therapies in educational settings, and the contribution they have to make to the emotional and social development of children and adolescents.a

Cover Art
Children with Complex Medical Issues in Schools - Christine L. Castillo
ISBN: 9780826124722
Publication Date: 2008-04-01
Increasingly, children with significant medical issues are being incorporated into the general school environment. Given the potential effects of various disorders and conditions on educational prognosis, it is important for neuropsychologists, pediatric psychologists, school psychologists, teachers, and other professionals who are working with these children to be aware of the nature and course of these many disorders as well as the avenues for rehabilitation, accommodation, and classroom modification.

Cover Art
How to Prepare for and Respond to a Crisis - David J. Schonfeld; Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development Staff (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9780871207227
Publication Date: 2002-06-01
With an emphasis on integrating safety and security plans with mental health services, the authors show you how to use the talents, training, and knowledge of school personnel to coordinate a comprehensive response to any crisis. This model empowers staff to initiate and sustain a response to crises that answers the physical safety, mental health, and emotional needs of students, community, and staff.

Cover Art
School Consultation - William P. Erchul; Brian K. Martens
ISBN: 0306466910
Publication Date: 2001-11-30
School consultation is a process for providing psychological and educational services in which a specialist (consultant) works cooperatively with a staff member (consultee) to improve the learning and adjustment of a student (client) or a group of students.

Cover Art
Clinical Counselling in Schools - Nick Barwick (Editor)
ISBN: 0415205174
Publication Date: 2000-09-01
Too often in education there is a split between those concerned with children's personal and emotional wellbeing and those focusing on academic achievement. At a time when counselling in schools is on the increase, working towards an integration of the personal and the academic is paramount.

Cover Art
Historical Encyclopedia of School Psychology - Thomas K. Fagan (Editor); Paul G. Warden (Editor)
ISBN: 0313290156
Publication Date: 1996-03-30
First historical reference on school psychology designed for broad interdisciplinary use in academic and institutional libraries.

Second Step Early Learning Kits

  • Second Step: Social-emotional Skills for Early Learning
    Designed to teach preschool students to use skills for learning and listening rules, which set the stage for future academic success and later lessons on identifying feelings, managing strong emotions, solving problems, and getting along with others. Activities, brain builder games, and partner work keep children engaged and help them practice their skills. Boy and girl puppets help children engage in the program.

    Location: McN K-12 Collection, Bargman Room
    Call Number: BF 723 .S62 S42 Early 2011

    1 teaching materials notebook (82 p. : ill. ; 28 cm.), 1 sound disc (digital. ; 4 3/4 in.), 21 flash cards (16 x 12 cm), 1 large poster (85 x 45 cm), 2 posters (57 x 45 cm), 4 small posters (23 x 30 cm.), 35 unit and lesson cards (44 x 30 cm.), 1 boy puppet, 1 girl puppet ; in box 17 x 48 x 32 cm.
  • Second Step: Skills for Social and Academic Success Kindergarten
    Designed to teach kindergarten students to use skills for learning and listening rules, which set the stage for future academic success and later lessons on identifying feelings, managing strong emotions, solving problems, and getting along with others. Activities, brain builder games, and partner work keep children engaged and help them practice their skills. Puppy and snail puppets encourage children's participation and the the Be-Calm Bunny helps children wait their turn to speak.

    Location: McN K-12 Collection, Bargman Room
    Call Number: BF 723 .S62 S42 Gr.K 2011

    1 binder of teaching materials, 1 sound disc (digital ; 4 3/4 in.), 32 unit and lesson cards (44 x 30 cm.), 5 large posters (57 x 45 cm.), 4 small posters (23 x 30 cm.), 1 dog puppet, 1 snail puppet, 1 stuffed rabbit ; in box, 47 x 22 x 32 cm.
  • Second Step: Skills for Social and Academic Success Grade 1
    This first grade program begins with skills for learning and listening rules, which set the stage for future academic success and later lessons on identifying feelings, managing strong emotions, solving problems, and getting along with others. Includes activities such as brain builder games and partner work to keep children engaged and help them practice their skills. Puppy and snail puppets encourage children's participation.

    Location: McN K-12 Collection, Bargman Room
    Call Number: BF 723 .S62 S42 Gr.1 2011

    1 binder of teaching materials, 1 videodisc (sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in.), 1 sound disc (digital : 4 3/4 in.), 28 laminated photo-lesson cards (44 x 30 cm.), 5 posters (57 x 45 cm.), 4 photo posters (23 x 30 cm.), 1 dog puppet, 1 snail puppet ; in box, 47 x 22 x 32 cm.
  • Second Step: Skills for Social and Academic Success Grade 2
    This program is designed to help second grade children hone their ability to pay attention, listen, and ignore distractions. They also learn how to respond to others with empathy, calm down, manage strong feelings, and solve problems. The lessons are brought to life by stories filled with situations students encounter on a daily basis during the school year, from navigating the hallways to taking tests.

    Location: McN K-12 Collection, Bargman Room
    Call Number: BF 723 .S62 S42 Gr.2 2011

    1 binder of teaching materials, 1 videodisc (sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in.), 1 sound disc (digital ; 4 3/4 in.), 4 small posters (30 x 23 cm.), 4 large posters (56 x 44 cm.), 26 unit and lesson cards (30 x 44 cm.), ; in box, 47 x 31 x 8 cm.
  • Second Step: Skills for Social and Academic Success Grade 3
    Designed to teach third grade children to hone their ability to pay attention, listen, and ignore distractions. They also learn how to respond to others with empathy, calm down, manage strong feelings, and solve problems. The lessons are brought to life by stories filled with situations students encounter on a daily basis during the school year, from navigating the hallways to taking tests.

    Location: McN K-12 Collection, Bargman Room
    Call Number: BF 723 .S62 S42 Gr.3 2011

    1 binder of teaching materials, 1 videodisc (sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in.), 1 sound disc (digital ; 4 3/4 in.), 4 small posters (30 x 23 cm.), 4 large posters (56 x 44 cm.), 26 unit and lesson cards (30 x 44 cm.), ; in box, 47 x 31 x 8 cm.

  • Second Step: Skills for Social and Academic Success Grade 4
    This program builds on students' interpersonal and academic skills, including skills for learning, and provides a bridge to middle school. Students will strengthen their empathy, emotion-management, and problem-solving skills while learning to use them in social and academic settings. Whether they have a disagreement with a friend or test anxiety, students will be better poised to make positive choices.

    Location: McN K-12 Collection, Bargman Room
    Call Number: BF 723 .S62 S42 Gr.4 2011

    1 v. (unpaged) : ill. (chiefly col.) ; in binder 28 cm. + 1 videodisc (sd., col. , 4 3/4 in.) + 3 posters (43 X 56 cm.)

  • Second Step: Skills for Social and Academic Success Grade 5
    This program builds on students' interpersonal and academic skills, including skills for learning, and provides a bridge to middle school. Students will strengthen their empathy, emotion-management, and problem-solving skills while learning to use them in social and academic settings. Whether they have a disagreement with a friend or test anxiety, students will be better poised to make positive choices.

    Location: McN K-12 Collection, Bargman Room
    Call Number: BF 723 .S62 S42 Gr.5 2011

    1 v. (unpaged) : ill. (chiefly col.) ; in binder 28 cm. + 1 videodisc (sd., col. , 4 3/4 in.) + 3 posters (43 X 56 cm.)

  • Second Step: Student Success Through Prevention Grade 6, Stepping Up
    Designed to promote skills and attitudes that increase students' social and school success and prevent violence, bullying, and substance abuse. Provides a foundation for creating a safe, respectful learning environment.

    Location: McN K-12 Collection, Bargman Room
    Call Number: BF 723 .S62 S42 Gr.6 2008

    481 p. : ill. ; 30 cm. + 1 DVD (sd., cl. ; 4 3/4 in.) + 4 posters.

  • Second Step: Student Success Through Prevention Grade 7, Stepping In
    Designed to promote skills and attitudes that increase students' social and school success and prevent violence, bullying, and substance abuse. Provides a foundation for creating a safe, respectful learning environment.

    Location: McN K-12 Collection, Bargman Room
    Call Number: BF 723 .S62 S42 Gr.7 2008

    449 p. : ill. ; 30 cm. + 1 DVD (sd., cl. ; 4 3/4 in.) + 4 posters, in a binder.

  • Second Step: Student Success Through Prevention Grade 8, Stepping Ahead
    Designed to promote skills and attitudes that increase students' social and school success and prevent violence, bullying, and substance abuse. Provides a foundation for creating a safe, respectful learning environment.

    Location: McN K-12 Collection, Bargman Room
    Call Number: BF 723 .S62 S42 Gr.8 2008

    449 p. : ill. ; 30 cm. + 1 DVD (sd., cl. ; 4 3/4 in.) + 4 posters, in a binder.

 

Print Books

Cover Art
Positive Behavior Support in Secondary Schools - Ellie L. Young; Paul Caldarella; Michael J. Richardson; K. Richard Young
Call Number: LB 1027.55 .P67 2012
ISBN: 9781609189730
Publication Date: 2011-11-01
This much-needed guide shows how to implement Positive Behavior Support (PBS) strategies in secondary settings, using a three-tiered approach. The authors adapt the core ideas of PBS to the developmental context of adolescence and the organizational structures of middle schools and junior and senior high schools.

Cover Art
Practical Handbook of School Psychology - Gretchen Gimpel Peacock (Editor); Ruth A. Ervin (Editor); Edward J. Daly (Editor); Kenneth W. Merrell (Editor); Gretchen Gimpel Peacock (Editor)
Call Number: LB 1027.55 .P72 2010
ISBN: 9781593856977
Publication Date: 2009-09-02
Bringing together leading authorities, this concise, state-of-the-science Handbook delves into all aspects of problem solving-based school psychology practice.

Cover Art
Group Work in the Schools - Bradley T. Erford
Call Number: LB 1027.55 .G76 2010
ISBN: 9780135034828
Publication Date: 2009-05-27
Group Counseling in the Schools is the first text of its kind to recognize the increasing specialization needs of school counselors and to focus exclusively on what a school counselor needs to know to provide effective prevention and intervention group work with students.

Cover Art
School Consultation - William P. Erchul; Brian K. Martens
Call Number: LC 1027.55 .E73 2010
ISBN: 9781441957467
Publication Date: 2010-03-18
Since its emergence during the 1960s, school consultation has become an important vehicle for delivering psychological and educational services. Cooperative efforts between skilled consultants and teachers, rooted in the principles of problem solving, social influence, and professional development, enhance student learning and adjustment while encouraging consultees to be more effective and proactive in their practice.

Cover Art
School-Based Mental Health - C. R. Mennuti; Ray W. Christner; Rosemary B. Mennuti
Call Number: LB 3430 .S383 2009
ISBN: 9780415955584
Publication Date: 2008-12-22
This volume provides school-based practitioners with a comprehensive and comparative guide to the strategic interventions, therapeutic modalities, and treatment approaches that are most commonly and effectively used in educational settings.

Cover Art
The Handbook of School Psychology - Cecil R. Reynolds; Terry B. Gutkin; Elaine Fletcher-Janzen
Call Number: LB 1051 .H2356 2009
ISBN: 9780471707479
Publication Date: 2008-10-20
As the standard reference in the field, this edited handbook focuses on how a school psychologist can operate and create change within the educational system instead of focusing solely on the diagnosis and treatment of an individual.

Cover Art
Conducting School-Based Functional Behavioral Assessments - Mark W. Steege; T. Steuart Watson; Frank M. Gresham (Foreword by)
Call Number: LB 1124 .W38 2009
ISBN: 9781606230275
Publication Date: 2009-01-23
Explaining the "whats," "whys," and "how-tos" of functional behavioral assessment, this practical and engaging book is packed with real-world tools and examples. Effective procedures are presented for evaluating challenging behavior in K-12 students, organizing assessment data, and using the results to craft individualized behavior support plans.

Cover Art
Theory and Cases in School-Based Consultation - Laura M. Crothers; Tammy L. Hughes; Karen A. Morine
Call Number: LB 1027.5 .C695 2008
ISBN: 9780415963374
Publication Date: 2008-05-15
This casebook provides an applied perspective regarding school-based consultation, including an overview of mental health consultation, behavioral consultation, social learning theory consultation, Adlerian consultation, and ecological/organizational consultation. Along with relevant discussion of the issues in each case study, critical thinking questions are included for discussion among students and educators regarding school-based consultation.

Cover Art
Cognitive-Behavioral Interventions in Educational Settings - Rosemary B. Mennuti (Editor); Arthur Freeman (Editor); Ray W. Christner (Editor)
Call Number: LB 1027.55 .C63 2005
ISBN: 0415950392
Publication Date: 2005-11-03
This text applies Cognitive Behavior Therapy (CBT) to use in school settings, presenting the first comprehensive integration of theory with specific intervention strategies and techniques designed for work in school.

Cover Art
School Psychology for the 21st Century - Kenneth W. Merrell; Ruth A. Ervin; Gretchen Gimpel Peacock
Call Number: LB 1027.55 .M47 2006
ISBN: 1593852509
Publication Date: 2006-01-18
This authoritative introductory text comprehensively describes the role of the school psychologist in promoting positive educational and mental health outcomes for all students in today's schools. The book emphasizes a data-driven, problem-solving-based approach to prevention and intervention with diverse children, youth, and their families.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of School Psychology - Steven W. Lee (Editor)
Call Number: LB 1027.55 .E523 2005
ISBN: 0761930809
Publication Date: 2005-04-27
The Encyclopedia of School Psychology is the first comprehensive guide to this field, featuring the latest research on school learning, motivation, and educational assessment.

DVD's

Web Resources

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip