This is the "Developmental Psychology" page of the "Psychology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Psychology  

Last Updated: Oct 6, 2017 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/psychology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Developmental Psychology Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

E-Books


Cover Art
Childhood Cognitive Development - Usha Goswami (Editor)
ISBN: 9781405191166
Publication Date: 2010-09-07
This definitive volume offers an up-to-date overview of all the major areas of importance in the field, and includes new data from cognitive neuroscience and new chapters on social cognitive development and language.

Cover Art
Exploring Developmental Psychology - Margaret Harris
ISBN: 1412903343
Publication Date: 2008-02-01
This book, aimed at advanced undergraduates and postgraduate students in psychology and related areas, provides a guide to the key theories and methods used by researchers.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Human Development - Neil J. Salkind (Editor)
ISBN: 1412904757
Publication Date: 2005-10-14
The Encyclopedia of Human Development presents state-of-the-art research and ready-to-use facts from the fields of psychology, individual and family studies, and education in a way that is not too technical.

Cover Art
Developmental Assets - Peter C. Scales; Nancy Leffert; Richard Lerner (Foreword by); Eugene C. Roehlkepartain (Editor); Kate Tyler (Editor)
ISBN: 1574823388
Publication Date: 2004-12-01
This volume examines more than 800 scientific articles and reports on adolescent development that tie to each of the 40 developmental assets identified by Search Institute.

Cover Art
Handbook of the Life Course - Jeylan T. Mortimer (Editor); Michael J. Shanahan (Editor)
ISBN: 0306482479
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
This comprehensive handbook provides an overview of key theoretical perspectives, concepts, and methodological approaches that, while applied to diverse phenomena, are united in their general approach to the study of lives across age phases.

Cover Art
Paths to Successful Development - Lea Pulkkinen (Editor); Avshalom Caspi (Editor)
ISBN: 052180048X
Publication Date: 2002-04-04
The influence of the lifespan approach has been an important feature of recent research in developmental psychology, as has a growing interest in the relationship between personality and development. Edited by two distinguished psychologists and including the work of many of the leading figures in the field, this important book explores the relationship between personality and development.

Cover Art
Culture and Human Development - Jaan Valsiner
ISBN: 0761956832
Publication Date: 2000-02-02
This major new textbook by Jaan Valsiner focuses on the interface between cultural psychology and developmental psychology.

Cover Art
Developmental Psychology: How Nature and Nurture Interact - Keith Richardson
ISBN: 0805836241
Publication Date: 1999-12-01
This clear and authoritative text provides a trenchant critique of dichotomous thinking and goes on to describe and exemplify an alternative view of development, showing the power of ecological and dynamic systems perspectives.

Cover Art
Judgement and Reasoning in the Child - Jean Piaget
ISBN: 0415210038
Publication Date: 1999-07-31
Over a period of six decades, Jean Piaget conducted a program of naturalistic research that has profoundly affected our understanding of child development.

 

Classics in Developmental Psychology

Cover Art
Three Essays on the Theory of Sexuality - Sigmund Freud
Call Number: HQ21 .F8 1962
ISBN: 0465097081
Publication Date: 1962
Freud's groundbreaking, trouble-making theory of sexuality -- infantile (developmental), adolescent (transformational), and deviant -- in the classic Strachey translation.

Cover Art
Childhood and Society - Erik H. Erikson
Call Number: HQ 781 .E75 1985
ISBN: 039331068X
Publication Date: 1986-01-01
The landmark work on the social significance of childhood.

The Origin of Intelligence in the Child - Jean Piaget; Trans. Margaret Cook
Call Number: BF 721 .P473 1953
Publication Date: 1953
Piaget divides the growth of intelligence into six sequential stages.

Attachment and Loss - John Bowlby
Call Number: BF 723 .M35 B6
Publication Date: 1969-1980
3 Volumes: Volume 1 - Attachment; Volume 2- Separation: Anxiety and Anger; Volume 3 - Loss: Sadness and Depression

Cover Art
Patterns of Attachment - Mary D. Salter Ainsworth; Everett Waters
Call Number: BF 723 .I6 P36
ISBN: 0470265345
Publication Date: April 1979
Written by the founding mother of attachment theory, Patterns of Attachment is a truly groundbreaking book that solidified and popularized Mary D. Salter Ainsworth's Strange Situation procedure and classification system.

Cover Art
Thought and Language - Lev S. Vygotsky
Call Number: P 105 .V913 1965
Publication Date: 1965
Lev Vygotsky's highly original exploration of human mental development has become recognized as a classic foundational work of cognitive science.

 

Print Books

Cover Art
Developmental Psychology in Historical Perspective - Dennis Thompson; Philip M. Clark; Scott Burns; Laurence J. Kotlikoff; John D. Hogan
Call Number: BF 713 .T487 2012
ISBN: 1405167475
Publication Date: 2012-02-13
This is the first book to provide a comprehensive overview of the history of developmental psychology, from the pre-scientific era to the present day.

Cover Art
Handbook of Developmental Research Methods - Brett Laursen (Editor); Todd D. Little (Editor); Noel A. Card (Editor)
Call Number: BF 713 .H3643 2012
ISBN: 1606236091
Publication Date: 2011-11-03
This is the first methods handbook specifically designed to meet the needs of today's developmental scholars. Leading developmental methodologists describe cutting-edge approaches to measurement and design, data collection, and interindividual and intraindividual longitudinal analysis.

Cover Art
Developmental Science - Marc H. Bornstein (Editor); Michael E. Lamb (Editor)
Call Number: BF 713 .D465 2011
ISBN: 1848728719
Publication Date: 2010-09-22
Noted as one of the most comprehensive textbooks in the field, Developmental Science, 6th Edition introduces readers to all of areas in developmental psychology: neuroscience, genetics, perception, cognition, language, emotion, self, and social interaction.

Cover Art
The Transactional Model of Development - Arnold J. Sameroff
Call Number: BF 711 .T73 2009
ISBN: 9781433804670
Publication Date: 2009-05-15
Originally proposed in 1975, the transactional model has become central to our understanding of how nature and nurture interact in the development of positive and negative outcomes for children.

Cover Art
Development Through Life - Barbara M. Newman; Philip R. Newman
Call Number: BF 713 .N48 2009
ISBN: 9780495553410
Publication Date: 2008-03-10
Newman and Newman take a chronological approach to the study of the life span, drawing on the psychosocial theory of Erik Erikson to provide a conceptual framework for the text.

Cover Art
Developmental Theories Through the Life Cycle - Sonia G. Austrian (Editor)
Call Number: BF 713 .D469 2008
ISBN: 0231139705
Publication Date: 2008-02-18
In this bestselling textbook, contributors describe theories of normal human development advanced by such pioneers as Sigmund Freud, Anna Freud, Jean Piaget, Nancy Chodorow, Daniel Levinson, Erik Erikson, and Margaret Mahler.

Cover Art
Deconstructing Developmental Psychology - Erica Burman
Call Number: BF 713 .B87 2008
ISBN: 9780415395618
Publication Date: 2007-10-30
Deconstructing Developmental Psychology interrogates the assumptions and practices surrounding the psychology of child development, providing a critical evaluation of the role and contribution of developmental psychology within social practice.

Cover Art
Theories of Human Development - Barbara M. Newman; Philip R. Newman
Call Number: BF 713 .N494 2007
ISBN: 9780805847024
Publication Date: 2007-03-05
Intended for courses on theories of human development, this new text presents nine theories grouped into three major families - those that emphasize biological systems; those that emphasize environmental factors; and those that emphasize a dynamic interaction between biological and environmental forces.

Cover Art
Theories of Development - William C. Crain
Call Number: BF 713 .C72 2005
ISBN: 0131849913
Publication Date: 2004-08-12
This engaging book, written with the help of extensive scholarship and leading scholars, introduces learners to twenty-four different theorists and compares and contrasts their theories on how we develop as individuals.

Cover Art
Atypical Child Development in Context - Janet M. Empson; Dabie Nabuzoka; David Hamilton
Call Number: HQ 767.9 .E46 2004
ISBN: 0333949358
Publication Date: 2004-03-04
This book considers the important issue of "normality" and "atypicality" in child development. It examines some of the main circumstances of atypical development from a psychological perspective.

DVD's

Web Resources

  • National Council On Family Relations
    The National Council on Family Relations, founded in 1938, is the oldest multidisciplinary, nonpartisan professional organization focused solely on family research, practice and education.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip