This is the "Clinical Psychology" page of the "Psychology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Psychology  

Last Updated: Oct 6, 2017 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/psychology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Clinical Psychology Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

E-Books

Cover Art
Clinical Supervision Activities for Increasing Competence and Self-Awareness - Roy A. Bean (Editor); Sean D. Davis (Editor); Maureen P. Davey (Editor)
ISBN: 1118637526
Publication Date: 2014-04-07
Cultivate self-awareness, empathy, and clinical competence in the mental health professionals you supervise. While clinical skills are easily observed, the more subtle areas of self-awareness, or exploring unexamined judgments are more difficult to spot and to provide supervision and guidance for. The numerous experiential activities included will help supervisors and the mental health professional they supervise develop their skills and techniques. Appropriate for clinicians at every level and from a multitude of backgrounds, these tried and tested best practices can be used in clinical supervision, as a class assignment, or to facilitate professional growth.

Cover Art
Handbook of Evidence-Based Practice in Clinical Psychology, Volume 1, Child and adolescent disorders - Michel Hersen; Peter Sturmey
ISBN: 9780470335444
Publication Date: 2012-06-05
Handbook of Evidence-Based Practice in Clinical Psychology, Volume 1 covers the evidence-based practices now identified for treating children and adolescents with a wide range of DSM disorders. Topics include fundamental issues, developmental disorders, behavior and habit disorders, anxiety and mood disorders, and eating disorders.

Cover Art
Handbook of Evidence-Based Practice in Clinical Psychology, Volume 2, Adult disorders - Michel Hersen; Peter Sturmey
ISBN: 9781118144749
Publication Date: 2012-06-07
Handbook of Evidence-Based Practice in Clinical Psychology, Volume 2 covers the evidence-based practices now identified for treating adults with a wide range of DSM disorders. Topics include fundamental issues, adult cognitive disorders, substance-related disorders, psychotic, mood, and anxiety disorders, and sexual disorders.

Cover Art
Critical Thinking in Clinical Practice - Eileen Gambrill
ISBN: 9780470904381
Publication Date: 2012-05-01
A balanced and illustrative guide to incorporating critical-thinking values, knowledge, and skills into clinical education and practice. Critical Thinking in Clinical Practice is written for helping professionals who want to think more clearly about the decisions they make and the context in which they make them. It is a practical volume for clinicians who would like to expand their knowledge of common pitfalls and fallacies in clinical reasoning.

Cover Art
Online Counseling - Ron Kraus (Editor); George Stricker (Editor); Cedric Speyer (Editor)
ISBN: 9780123785961
Publication Date: 2010-12-08
This book provides the basics for informing practioners what the pluses and minuses are to treating patients online, how to structure treatment, how to screen and communicate effectively online, how to interpret text without visual cues, and what the legal and ethical issues are to practicing online - particularly aspects of privacy, confidentiality, record-keeping, licensure, and liability.

Cover Art
Clinical Case Formulation - Peter Sturmey (Editor)
ISBN: 9780470032923
Publication Date: 2009-11-02
Case formulation is a key skill for mental health practitioners, and this book provides examples of ten case formulations representing the most common mental health problems in a variety of populations and contexts, offering commentary on contrasting formulations of the same case. Provides an overview of the general features of case formulation and how it can drive treatment.

Cover Art
Clinical Psychology in Practice - Susan Llewelyn; Helen Beinart (Editor); Paul Kennedy (Editor)
ISBN: 9781405167673
Publication Date: 2009-08-17
Academic, clinical and research aspects are offered in collaboration with clinical practitioners, who provide the clinical experience to foster the development of competencies in Health and Social Care. Provides a clear, authoritative and lively introduction to the practice of clinical psychology Explains succinctly the range of competencies which a psychologist is expected to possess, and how these can be applied in a variety of contexts.

Cover Art
The ABCs of Human Behavior - Jonas Ramnero; Niklas Torneke
Call Number: RC 467 .R35 2008
ISBN: 1572245387
Publication Date: 2008-03-01
Available in print and electronically. The ABCs of Human Behavior offers practicing clinicians a pithy and practical introduction to the basics of modern behavioral psychology. The book focuses both on the classical principles of learning as well as more recent developments that explain language and cognition in behavioral and contextual terms. These principles are not just discussed in the abstract-rather the book shows how the principles of learning apply in the clinical context.

Cover Art
Functional Analysis in Clinical Treatment - Peter Sturmey (Editor)
ISBN: 0123725445
Publication Date: 2007-01-29
With the ongoing pressures for psychologists to practice evidence-based care, and the requirement insurance carriers have both for treatment goals, measurement of outcomes, and a focus on brief therapy, functional analysis provides a framework for achieving all of the above. Having proven itself in treating behavioral problems in education, functional analysis is now being applied more broadly to behavioral and psychologial disorders.

Cover Art
Contemporary Clinical Psychology - Thomas G. Plante
Call Number: RC 467 .P56 2005
ISBN: 047147276X
Publication Date: 2004-11-25
Available in print and electronically. This book presents a broad-spectrum overview of clinical psychology. Featuring a detailed review of the history, scientific foundations, and theoretical orientation of the field as it highlights the activities, roles, and responsibilities of today's clinical psychologist. From general knowledge and information to specific topics, including modes of research and areas of specialization, Contemporary Clinical Psychology presents a comprehensive and engaging view of the art and science of clinical psychology.

 

Print Books

Cover Art
Practicing Psychology in the Primary Care Setting - H. Russell Searight
Call Number: RC 467.95 .S42 2010
ISBN: 0889373620
Publication Date: 2010-04-01
This book equips mental health professionals, students, interns, and post-graduate trainees to work effectively in a primary care setting - which today is the principal site for psychiatric care, behavioral health risk reduction, and psychological treatment of physical or functional complaints such as diabetes, hypertension, asthma, fibromyalgia, or irritable bowel syndrome. The primary care setting has a "culture" that is very distinct from more traditional mental health settings, and so the first part of this book teaches professionals and students about the norms, communication styles, social rituals, and roles they need to be familiar with to be effective psychologists.

Cover Art
Your Career in Psychology - Tara L. Kuther
Call Number: RC 467.95 .K88 2006
ISBN: 0534174809
Publication Date: 2005-10-14
Your Career in Psychology: Clinical and Counseling Psychology introduces students to the variety of forms that clinical or counseling psychology careers may take. Each chapter presents a career path, including an overview, advantages and disadvantages, and a profile of a psychologist who has chosen that path. This book is a wonderful starting point for exploring careers in clinical or counseling psychology.

Cover Art
Foundations of Clinical and Counseling Psychology - Judith Todd; Arthur C. Bohart
Call Number: RC 467 .B64 2006
ISBN: 1577664108
Publication Date: 2005-12-01
'Foundations of Clinical and Counseling Psychology' explores the latest fundamental theories, methods and empirical findings within the field.

Cover Art
A Short Introduction to Clinical Psychology - David Pilgrim; Katherine Cheshire
Call Number: RC 467 .C54 2004
ISBN: 0761947698
Publication Date: 2004-05-25
Available in print and electronically. A Short Introduction to Clinical Psychology gives an accessible overview of the field for psychology students and anyone considering training as a clinical psychologist. Setting out the theoretical and practical dimensions of clinical psychology, the authors examine its origins, knowledge base and applications with different client groups, in different contexts and through different modalities (individuals, groups, couples, families and organizations).

Cover Art
Cognition, Emotion and Psychopathology - Jenny Yiend (Editor)
Call Number: BF 311 .C548735 2004
ISBN: 0521541743
Publication Date: 2004-10-14
This edited collection presents a 'state of the art' account of the cognitive--clinical literature and sets an agenda for future work. The book is structured around theoretical, empirical and clinical approaches.

Cover Art
Learning from Mistakes in Clinical Practice - Carolyn Dillon
Call Number: RC 454.4 .D554 2003
ISBN: 053452401X
Publication Date: 2002-02-14
This text is a virtual handbook of classic mistakes to anticipate, work through, and grow from. It identifies, discusses and re-frames classic mistakes that beginning interviewers and clinicians are likely to make in practice by illuminating a myriad of mistakes through the use of first-hand vignettes, in-text exercises, and a systems framework. This book uses a strengths-perspective, and can serve as a companion text or as a stand-alone primer because of its elaboration of the phases, principles, strategies and methods used in the helping process.

Cover Art
Introduction to Clinical Psychology - Michael Wierzbicki
Call Number: RC 467 .W539 1999
ISBN: 0205155170
Publication Date: 1998-09-19
This book provides a central, coherent theme -- the philosophy of science-- around which to study the subject matter. This book serves as an excellent reference to introductory clinical psychology. It is "accessible" to the reader with little background in clinical psychology, and it integrates the material around a central theme, the philosophy of science.

Cover Art
Theories and Methods for Practice of Clinical Psychology - Malcolm H. Robertson; Robert H. Woody
Call Number: RC 467 .R55 1997
ISBN: 0823665186
Publication Date: 1997-01-01
Text providing an up-to-date, in-depth perspective on the profession of clinical psychology. For advanced undergraduate and graduate students and clinicians.

Cover Art
Cultural Clinical Psychology - Shahe S. Kazarian (Editor); David R. Evans (Editor)
Call Number: RC 455.4 .E8 C79 1998
ISBN: 0195109465
Publication Date: 1998-02-05
In response to the increasing need for culturally competent clinical practice, Cultural Clinical Psychology provides a definitive basis for culturally appropriate assessment, treatment, research, education, and training. With outstanding variety and depth of coverage, over 25 eminent contributors discuss the role of culture in the context of psychopathology and physical well-being, including anxiety, eating disorders, substance abuse,mood disorders, schizophrenia, and pain.

Cover Art
Religion and the Clinical Practice of Psychology - Edward Shafranske; Edward P. Shafranske; American Psychological Association Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: BF 51 .R45 1996
ISBN: 1557983216
Publication Date: 1996-05-15
This volume by acknowledged practitioners, researchers, and theoreticians in the field of religion/clinical psychology is dedicated to a number of propositions. Religion plays a significant role in the lives of the majority of Americans and, therefore, should be taken into account in the provision of psychological consultation and treatment. Religious beliefs, affiliations and practices contribute to the mental health status of individuals and influence the therepeutic context.

DVD's

This is a small sample of the many psychology educational and training DVD's available.
  • Brief Dynamic Therapy Over Time
    American Psychological Association, 2010
    1 videodisc, 307 min.
    Call Number: RC 480 .A6 Series 8 no.13
    Jon Carlson
  • Family Therapy Over Time
    American Psychological Association, 2009
    3 videodiscs, 312 min.
    Call Number: RC 480 .A6 Series 8 no.10 2009
    Yevette Brown
    Jon M. Tullos
    Jon Carlson
  • Psychoanalytic Therapy
    American Psychological Association, 2008
    1 videodisc, 98 min.
    Call Number: RC 480 .A6 Series 1 no.3 2008
    Nancy McWilliams
    Jon Carlson
  • Narrative Therapy
    American Psychological Association, 2008
    1 videodisc, 90 min.
    Call Number: RC 480 .A6 Series 1 no.5 2008
    Lynne E. Angus
    Jon Carlson
  • Cognitive-behavioral Therapy With Donald Meichenbaum
    American Psychological Association, 2007
    1 videodisc, 96 min.
    Call Number: RC 480 .A6 Series 1 no.8 2007
    Donald Meichenbaum
    Jon Carlson
  • Cognitive-affective Behavior Therapy
    American Psychological Association, 2007
    1 videodisc, 58 min.
    Call Number: RC 480 .A6 Series 1 no.25 2007
    Marvin R. Goldfried
    Doug Fizel
    Julia Frank-McNeil
  • Acutely Anxious
    Films for the Humanities and Sciences, 2006
    1 videodisc, 48 minutes
    Call Number: RC 531 .A28 2006
    Greg Stubbings
    Virginia Wright
    John Sumner
  • Cognitive-behavior Therapy
    American Psychological Association, 2006
    1 videodisc, 39 minutes
    Call Number: RC 480 .A6 Series 1 no.7 2006
    Jacqueline Persons
  • Three Approaches to Psychotherapy
    Psychological & Educational Films, 200?
    3 videodiscs, 116 minutes
    Call Number: RC 480 .T45 2000z
    Carl Rogers
    Frederick Perls
    Albert Ellis
  • Cognitive Therapy for Panic Disorders
    American Psychological Association,1997
    1 videodisc, 40 min.
    Call Number: RC 480 .A6 Series 2 no.9 1997
    David M. Clark
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip