This is the "Ethics" page of the "Psychology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Psychology  

Last Updated: Oct 6, 2017 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/psychology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Ethics Print Page
  Search: 
 

APA Code of Ethics

  • Ethical Principles of Psychologists and Code of Conduct
    The American Psychological Association's (APA) Ethical Principles of Psychologists and Code of Conduct (hereinafter referred to as the Ethics Code) consists of an Introduction, a Preamble, five General Principles and specific Ethical Standards.

APA Ethics Office

  • APA Ethics Office
    APA's Ethics Office promotes ethics throughout the field of psychology. The Office supports the Ethics Committee in adjudicating ethics complaints, offers educational workshops and seminars, provides ethics consultations, and serves as a resource to members and the Association in addressing new ethical dilemmas as psychology grows and evolves as a discipline.
 

Print Books

Cover Art
APA Handbook of Ethics in Psychology - Samuel J. Knapp (Editor); American Psychological Association Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: BF 76.4 .A635 2012
ISBN: 9781433810008
Publication Date: 2011-09-15
2 volume set. Handbook contributors investigate the complexities of ethical behavior in clinical, educational, forensic, health, and "tele-" psychology.

Cover Art
Essential Ethics for Psychologists - Thomas F. Nagy
Call Number: BF 76.4 .N338 2011
ISBN: 9781433808630
Publication Date: 2010-08-15
Many students and emerging psychologists struggle to understand the APA Ethics Code because they don't understand the bigger picture of ethics in psychology. How do psychologists identify and address ethical issues? What are the most important ethical concepts, and how do they apply to specific settings? Rather than explain each of the standards of the APA Ethics Code, the book examines the code's underlying principles.

Cover Art
APA Ethics Code Commentary and Case Illustrations - Linda Frye Campbell
Call Number: BF 76.4 .A63 2010
ISBN: 9781433806933
Publication Date: 2009-12-15
A comprehensive examination of the APA Ethics Code and the complex process of ethical decision making. The book describes the Standards of the Code, their application, and how the Code can guide psychologists when ethical dilemmas arise.

Cover Art
Ethics Desk Reference for Psychologists - Jeffrey E. Barnett; W. Brad Johnson
Call Number: BF 76.4 .B37 2008
ISBN: 9781433803529
Publication Date: 2008-06-15
The Ethics Desk Reference for Psychologists is an easy-to-use pocket guide that aids psychologists in identifying and avoiding ethical dilemmas.

Cover Art
Becoming an Ethical Helping Professional - Rita Sommers-Flanagan; John Sommers-Flanagan
Call Number: HV 10.5 .S65 2007
ISBN: 9780471738107
Publication Date: 2006-12-11
Becoming an Ethical Helping Professional takes mental health professionals on a wide-ranging tour of ethics-covering both the theoretical as well as practical aspects of providing sound, ethical care. Book + DVD

Cover Art
Ethics in Psychotherapy and Counseling - Kenneth S. Pope; Melba J. T. Vasquez
Call Number: BF 636.67 .P67 2007
ISBN: 9780787994006
Publication Date: 2007-03-09
Ethics in Psychotherapy and Counseling: A Practical Guide provides guidance on the ethical dilemmas and responsibilities that confront psychotherapists, counselors, and other mental health professionals in their day-to-day practices.

Cover Art
Handbook of Professional and Ethical Practice for Psychologists, Counsellors and Psychotherapists - Rachel Tribe (Editor); Jean Morrissey (Editor)
Call Number: BF 76.4 .H359 2005
ISBN: 1583919694
Publication Date: 2004-12-30
Closer regulation of psychological counselling means that an awareness of the professional, legal and ethical considerations is vital. The Handbook of Professional and Ethical Practice brings together leading therapists and psychologists who have a wealth of knowledge and experience of their subjects. Each chapter places particular emphasis on the current codes of practice and ethical principles underpinning safe ethical practice and the implications for practitioners.

Cover Art
Handbook of Professional Ethics for Psychologists - William T. O'Donohue (Editor); Kyle E. Ferguson (Editor)
Call Number: BF 76.4 .H36 2003
ISBN: 0761911898
Publication Date: 2003-01-23
The Handbook of Professional Ethics for Psychologists considers the compatibility of science and morality. Challenging readers to question the fundamental philosophical values of professional psychology, the editors and contributors inspire the ethical impulse and encourage active moral leadership.

Cover Art
Ethical Conflicts in Psychology - Donald N. Bersoff (Editor)
Call Number: BF 76.4 .E814 2003
ISBN: 1591470501
Publication Date: 2003-07-01
A review of the basic ethical issues involved in the various roles that psychologists play. This edition contains over 20 articles which update readers on such complex issues as multiple relationships; privacy, privilege and duty-to-warn; and deception in research.

Cover Art
Protecting Human Subjects - Garvin Chastain (Editor); R. Eric Landrum (Editor)
Call Number: BF 181 .P65 1999
ISBN: 1557985758
Publication Date: 1999-02-01
Contents: Subject pool policies in undergraduate-only departments: results from a nationwide survey / R. Eric Landum and Garvin Chastain -- What makes a subject pool (un)ethical? / Joan E. Sieber -- Research participation among general psychology students at a metropolitan comprehensive public university / Bradley M. Waite and Laura L. Bowman -- Evaluating students' research experiences via credit slips / Richard L. Moreland -- Why do students miss psychology experiments and what can be done about it? / Darrell L. Butler -- Case study of a departmental subject pool and review board / Gregory L. Murphy -- Why, what, how, and when of effective faculty use of institutional review boards / Janet F. Gillespie -- Interactions concerning risky research: investigators rate their IRBs (and vice versa) / James R. Council ... [et. al.] -- Sexuality research, institutional review boards and subject pools / Michael W. Wiederman.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip