This is the "APA Style" page of the "Psychology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Psychology  

Last Updated: Oct 6, 2017 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/psychology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

APA Style Print Page
  Search: 
 

Web Resources

  • American Psychological Association: APA Style
    On this site, you will find tutorials, FAQs, and other resources to help you improve your writing, master APA Style, and learn the conventions of scholarly publishing.
  • Purdue University Online Writing Lab: APA Style
    The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional material, and we provide these as a free service of the Writing Lab at Purdue. Students, members of the community, and users worldwide will find information to assist with many writing projects. Teachers and trainers may use this material for in-class and out-of-class instruction. These OWL resources will help you learn how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation and format style. This section contains resources on in-text citation and the References page, as well as APA sample papers, slide presentations, and the APA classroom poster.
  • University of Wisconsin: APA Documentation Guide
    This section provides a quick resource for citing references in papers using the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.
 

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association

Cover Art
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association - American Psychological Association Staff
Call Number: BF 76.7 .P83 2010
ISBN: 9781433805615
Publication Date: 2009-07-15
In Reference and in Stacks. The style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, this updated "Publication Manual" provides invaluable guidance on all aspects of the writing process, from the ethics of authorship to the word choice that best reduces bias.

Citation Generators

  • RefWorks
    RefWorks is a web-based database and bibliography creator. RefWorks users can import references from online databases and use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the bibliography and paper in seconds.
  • Citation Machine
    Citation Machine automatically generates citations
    in MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian.
 

Print Books

Cover Art
Effective Writing in Psychology - Agatha M. Beins; Bernard C. Beins
Call Number: BF 76.7 .B45 2012
ISBN: 9780470672440
Publication Date: 2012-05-15
The second edition of Effective Writing in Psychology helps users produce crisp scientific communication, form concise unambiguous arguments, and render technical information clear and comprehensible. The new edition incorporates the latest guidelines contained within the 6 th edition of the APA Publication Manual .

Cover Art
APA Style Simplified - Bernard C. Beins
Call Number: BF 76.7 .B447 2012
ISBN: 9780470671238
Publication Date: 2012-05-15
This is a compact but comprehensive guide to writing clearly and effectively in APA style. Demonstrates how to write objective scientific research papers using interesting prose. Incorporates guidelines from the 6th edition of the APA publication manual Explores how to develop ideas, connect them to what others have written, and express them clearly Discusses the differences between written, oral, and poster presentations and offers instructions for applying APA style to each

Cover Art
Cite Right - Charles Lipson
Call Number: PN 171 .F56 L55 2011
ISBN: 9780226484648
Publication Date: 2011-05-15
This edition of Cite Right, the popular overview of all major systems of citation, has been updated to reflect the most current versions of Chicago, MLA, APA, and other styles, and to discuss citation methods in the rapidly changing context of the Internet, digital publishing, and e-books.

Cover Art
Concise Rules of APA Style - American Psychological Association Staff
Call Number: BF 76.7 .C66 2010
ISBN: 9781433805608
Publication Date: 2009-07-15
The Concise Rules of APA Style, Sixth Edition offers essential writing and formatting standards for students, teachers, researchers, and clinicians in the social and behavioral sciences. This easy-to-use pocket guide, compiled from the sixth edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, provides complete guidance on the rules of style that are critical for clear communication.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip