This is the "Handbooks. Encyclopedias, Dictionaries" page of the "Psychology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Psychology  

Last Updated: Oct 6, 2017 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/psychology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Handbooks. Encyclopedias, Dictionaries Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

E-Dictionaries


Cover Art
The Concise Dictionary of Psychology - David A. Statt
ISBN: 0415179408
Publication Date: 1998-05-22
From atavisticto folie a deux, from engramto Weltschmerzand Seashore test, this edition of The Concise Dictionary of Psychologycontains more than 1,300 references to words, phrases and eminent pioneers in psychology.

Cover Art
Dictionary of Theories, Laws, and Concepts in Psychology - Jon E. Roeckelein
ISBN: 0313304602
Publication Date: 1998-10-30
Fully cross-referenced and source-referenced, this dictionary contains over 1200 entries consisting of terms concerning laws, theories, hypotheses, doctrines, principles, and effects in early and contemporary psychological literature.

 

Print Dictionaries

Cover Art
APA Concise Dictionary of Psychology - Gary R. VandenBos; American Psychological Association Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: BF 31 .A65 2009
ISBN: 1433803917
Publication Date: 2008-07-15
An invaluable and reliable source, the 'APA Concise Dictionary of Psychology' answers the needs of individuals from all walks of life who are interested in the ways that psychological science and knowledge cast light on the issues of everyday living.

Cover Art
The Cambridge Dictionary of Psychology - David Matsumoto (Editor)
Call Number: BF 31 .C28 2009
ISBN: 0521671000
Publication Date: 2009-09-01
The Cambridge Dictionary of Psychology is the first and only dictionary that surveys the broad discipline of psychology from an international, cross-cultural, and interdisciplinary focus.

Cover Art
The Penguin Dictionary of Psychology - Arthur S. Reber; Emily S. Reber
Call Number: BF 31 .R43 2001
ISBN: 0140514511
Publication Date: 2002-01-29
Also available electronically.
https://dalnet-primo.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/primo-explore/fulldisplay?docid=01DAL_UDM_ALMA5169790830003254&context=L&vid=01DAL_UDM&search_scope=alma_scope&tab=default_tab&lang=en_US

Cover Art
A Student's Dictionary of Psychology - Peter Stratton; Nicky Hayes (Editor)
Call Number: BF 31 .S69 1999
ISBN: 0340705833
Publication Date: 1998-12-03
This classic text provides accessible and authoritative explanations of key terms and draws on a range of disciplines from medicine to the social sciences.

Cover Art
Dictionary of Psychology - Raymond J. Corsini
Call Number: BF 31 .C72 1999
ISBN: 158391028X
Publication Date: 1999-08-01
With a clear, functional design and written in a highly readable style, the dictionary offers over 10,000 entries, more than 125 illustrations, copious examples of terms, as well as extensive cross-referencing of entries.

Cover Art
Biographical Dictionary of Psychology - Noel Sheehy (Editor); Antony J. Chapman (Editor); Wendy A. Conroy (Editor)
Call Number: BF 109 .A1 B56 1997
ISBN: 0415099978
Publication Date: 1997-06-23
This text is a compilation of the biographical details of 500 persons who made important contributions to modern psychology from the mid-19th century to the early 1990s.

 

DSM-V

Cover Art
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) - American Psychiatric Association Staff
Call Number: Reference: RC 455.2 .C4 D54 2013
ISBN: 0890425558
Publication Date: 2013-05-22
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations.

 

E-Handbooks



Cover Art
The Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Transpersonal Psychology - Harris L. Friedman (Editor); Glenn Hartelius (Editor)
ISBN: 9781119967552
Publication Date: 2013-10-07
The Wiley Blackwell Handbook of Transpersonal Psychology presents the most comprehensive survey of transpersonal psychology yet published. Covers topics including shamanism, neurobiology, holotropic states, transpersonal experiences, and more.

Cover Art
Handbook on the Psychology of Violence - Hugh R. Cunningham; Wade F. Berry
ISBN: 9781619423107
Publication Date: 2012-05-01
This book presents current research in the study of the psychology of violence. Topics discussed in this compilation include the effect of adolescents' attitudes towards violence and prosociability; intimate partner violence and substance abuse; the causes of violence towards animals; targeting interventions for children and violence; the psychology of hatred and violence and sexual homicide offenders and their criminal careers.

 

Print Handbooks

Cover Art
The Oxford Handbook of Counseling Psychology - Elizabeth M. Altmaier (Editor); Jo-Ida C. Hansen (Editor)
Call Number: BF 636.6 .O94 2012
ISBN: 0195342313
Publication Date: 2011-11-25
Counseling Psychology, one of the original specialties recognized in the profession of psychology, centers on and promotes clients' personal strengths during times of developmental transition or personal challenge and crisis.

Cover Art
Oxford Handbook of Personality Assessment - James N. Butcher (Editor)
Call Number: BF 698.4 .O94 2009
ISBN: 9780195366877
Publication Date: 2009-07-14
As one of psychology's oldest fields, personality assessment is one of the most extensively studied subsets of contemporary psychology. The Oxford Handbook of Personality Assessment synthesizes new and existing literature with clinical practice to provide a comprehensive volume on contemporary personality assessment.

Cover Art
Cognitive Psychology: A Student's Handbook - Mark T. Keane; Michael W. Eysenck
Call Number: BF 201 .E97 2005
ISBN: 1841693588
Publication Date: 2005-06-02
Established approaches covered in depth include experimental cognitive psychology, cognitive science with its focus on modelling and cognitive neuropsychology with its focus on cognition following brain damage.

Cover Art
Handbook of the Brief Psychotherapies - R. A. Wells (Editor); V. J. Gianetti (Editor)
Call Number: RC 480.55 .H36 1990
ISBN: 0306432706
Publication Date: 1990-01-01
The Handbook of the Brief Psychotherapies is intended to capture the development of a group of empirically grounded, time-limited therapies all sharing a common interest in the clinical utilization of a structured focus and an emphasis on time and action. Interest in the brief psychotherapies has not so much involved a radical departure from traditional therapeutic modalities as it has emphasized a new pragmatism about how time, action, and structure operate in life as well as in therapy.

 

E-Encyclopedias

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology - Yolanda Kaye Jackson (Editor)
ISBN: 1412909481
Publication Date: 2006-08-18
This volume includes entries on a broad array of issues and covers the breadth of psychology viewed through the lens of the racial and ethnic minority experience. The Encyclopedia addresses culture across a broad spectrum of psychological perspectives and includes topics that are relevant to social psychology, cognitive psychology, environmental psychology, cross-cultural psychology, and clinical psychology.

Cover Art
The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology - Bonnie B. Strickland
ISBN: 0787647861
Publication Date: 2000-10-10
'The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology' covers the entire spectrum of psychological terms, theories, personalities and experiments. The book is designed to be of use to both students and the general public.

 

Print Encyclopedias

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Psychology - Alan E. Kazdin (Editor)
Call Number: Reference BF 31 .E52 2000
ISBN: 1557981876
Publication Date: 2000-03-15
Here in eight superbly organized volumes is the definitive guide to every area of psychological theory, research, and practice.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Psychology - Raymond J. Corsini
Call Number: BF 31 .E52 1994
ISBN: 0471558192
Publication Date: 1994-03-01
This four-volume set features over 2000 alphabetized entries by over 500 contributors. It provides coverage of every major area of psychology including applied, clinical, cognitive, developmental, educational, forensic, industrial, measurement, personality, physiological, social and theoretical.

Find New Psychology Books

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip