Where to find Research Reports and Statistics
- Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS)
The U.S. Research and Innovative Technology Administration has created this website to provide data on safety, passenger and freight travel, transportation infrastructure, and aviation, railroad, maritime and highway travel.
- Annual Urban Mobility Report
This report from the Texas A&M Transportation Institute includes information and statistics on congestion levels and trends in 101 major urban areas in the U.S..
- Public Transportation Fact Book
The American Public Transportation Association (APTA) publishes an annual factbook with statistics on passenger travel, infrastructure, and funding, including rankings of transportation agencies around the country.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States: Transportation
UDM students, faculty and staff have access to this online publication that includes statistics on transportation safety, economics, infrastructure, and more.
- Transportation Research Board (TRB)
One of the U.S. National Academies, the TRB offers free online research reports on highways, transit, airports, commercial truck and bus safety, and freight. It also includes some selected studies in transportation law.
- Research in Progress
Coordinated by the Transportation Research Board of the National Academies, this searchable database includes research funded by federal and state transportation departments as well as some university and international transportation research.
- Practice-Ready Papers
This website includes links to full-text research papers that include information that is ready to implement to help solve currrent transportation problems to issues.
- National Highway Transportation Safety Administration Research
This website includes reports and data all types of vehicle safety research, including crash avoidance and injury research, event data recorder data, driver simulation research, and vehicle safety features.
This U.S. government website searches science information and research results from over 55 science databases.
- UMTRI: Our Results
This website includes links to publications and information on current projects of the University of Michigan's Transportation Research Institute.
- AAA Foundation for Safety Research Reports
Research reports from AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety-funded projects on the causes of and prevention of traffic accidents.
- Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA)
Reports, data and statistics on projects to prevent commercial motor vehicle crashes and fatalities.
- National Technical Reports Library
Over three million technical reports resulting from federally funded research. Users must register (free for users in the U.S.) to see full text.