This is the "Road & Traffic Safety" page of the "Transportation Engineering" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Transportation Engineering  

Last Updated: Jan 11, 2017 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/content.php?pid=590406 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Road & Traffic Safety Print Page
  Search: 
 

Websites

  • Transportation Safety
    This website from the Institute of Transportation Engineers includes online reports, manuals, guides on traffic safety as well as information of various community-based programs and initiatives from around the country.
  • National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA)
    This government website includes information on auto recalls, driving and vehicle safety issues, and laws and regulations. It also includes research reports and data from research studies, including a vehicle crash test database.
  • Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards
  • Traffic Calming
    This website includes links to reports, brochures, on traffic calming measures, as well as links to programs that have been implemented in various cities.
 

Books and eBooks

Cover Art
Completing Our Streets: the Transition to Safe and Inclusive Transportation Networks - Barbara McCann
Call Number: HE 308 .M38 2013
ISBN: 9781610914307
Publication Date: 2013
Across the country, communities struggle to change decades of rules, practice, and politics that prioritize cars. The complete streets movement is based around a simple idea: streets should be safe for people of all ages and abilities, whether they are walking, driving, bicycling, or taking the bus. Completing Our Streets gives practitioners and activists the strategies, tools, and inspiration needed to translate this idea into real and lasting change in their communities.

Cover Art
Designing Safe Road Systems - Jan Theeuwes; Richard Van Der Horst; Maria Kuker
ISBN: 9781409443889
Publication Date: 2012-08-21
The central theme of this ebook is how design principles can reduce the probability of an error while driving. The authors demonstrate how knowledge of human factors helps a road authority to better understand how road users behave. They argue that in many cases the design of the environment can be further adjusted to human capabilities, and that safety should be considered a system property to be built into the road system.

Cover Art
The Safety of Intelligent Driver Support Systems - Yvonne Barnard; Josef Krems; Ralf Risser (eds.)
ISBN: 9780754695257
Publication Date: 2011
Road telematics and driver assistance systems offer a real opportunity to aid mobility and road safety. However, they also raise numerous questions. Problems related to the design and evaluation of intelligent driver support systems (IDSSs) and social perspectives related to their large scale introduction may only be fully addressed from a multi-disciplinary viewpoint. This ebook provides such knowledge from both a human and social factors perspective.

Cover Art
Accidents: Risk Factors, Health Outcomes and Safety Measures - Carlo Giacomo Prato
ISBN: 9781622570102
Publication Date: 2012
Contributions from different disciplines compose a collection that provides answers to prominent questions from various perspectives. The three parts of this ebook offer a comprehensive overview of the new state-of-the-practice knowledge about accident characteristics, risk factors, consequences and safety interventions. Combining knowledge from both road and occupational safety, and extending through various disciplines such as engineering, economics, medicine, and statistics, this collection explores enhanced solutions to safety problems that are a major threat to human life and cost millions to our society.

Cover Art
Complete Streets - McCann; Barbara McCann
Call Number: NA 9108 .C66 2010
ISBN: 9781932364835
Publication Date: 2010
Complete streets accommodate pedestrians, bicyclists, transit, and cars, creating multimodal transportation networks. But how do communities achieve complete streets? What are the policies and practices that need to be put into place?Drawing on lessons learned from more than 30 communities around the country, this report provides insight into successful policy and implementation practices that have resulted in complete streets.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip