This is the "Resumes" page of the "Jobs " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Jobs  

Last Updated: Oct 6, 2017 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/content.php?pid=582132 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Resumes Print Page
  Search: 
 
 
 

Books

Cover Art
Gallery of Best Resumes - David F. Noble
Call Number: HF 5383 .N62 2012
ISBN: 9781593578589
Publication Date: 2011
Getting more than a moment of attention from potential employers isn't easy in today's job market. Not only are job seekers competing with a pool of other candidates, they're also up against resume screening software. Overcoming these obstacles is essential, and Gallery of Best Resumes helps job seekers do that and much more. This book showcases the very best resume samples, selected from thousands of submissions developed by professional resume writers throughout the U.S. These powerful resumes cover jobs from all occupational groups at all levels. In addition, the author provides a wealth of guidance on writing, designing, and using resumes and cover letters to get more immediate results in the job search. New content for this edition includes updated sample resumes and more coverage of electronic resumes including samples and tips for creating and formatting them.

Cover Art
How to Say It on Your Resume: A Top Recruting Director's Guide to Wrting the Perfect Resume for Every Job - Courtney Pike; Brad Karsh
Call Number: HF 5383 .K378 2009
ISBN: 9780735204348
Publication Date: 2009
An insider shows how to tailor a résumé that sets applicants apart from a sea of candidates. Recruiting director Brad Karsh has worked with thousands of misguided job seekers. Now he's putting his experience into print, with step-by-step guidelines to improve the wording, content, and format of any résumé. Knowing how employers choose candidates, the author shows how to make a résumé stand out. Whether readers are looking to make a career change, re-enter the workforce, find a first job, or acquire an internal position, Karsh demonstrates how to transform any résumé?and get results. Includes advice for: ? First jobs ? Re-entering the work force ? Applicants who have been laid off ? Career changes ? Older applicants ? And more

Cover Art
Readymade CVs: Winning CVs and Cover Letters for Every Type of Job - Williams, Lynn
ISBN: 9780749465063
Publication Date: 2012
This best-selling guide sets out the ground rules for preparing a CV by showing how to select which details go in and which stay out, how to lay out and present a CV and how to make a great first impression. It includes sample CVs for a wide variety of jobs: practical, creative, administrative, sales and marketing, technical and management, with online template CVs and covering letters ready for you to download and customise. Readymade CVs also looks at specific 'tricky' situations such as getting your first job, returning to work after a career break, continuing in work as a mature employee or after retirement. With the addition of action words and positive phrases to help you put together the perfect CV for any job or situation, this is a truly comprehensive and indispensable resource.
You must login to the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Unbeatable Resumes: America's Top Recruiter Reveals What Really Gets You Hired - Beshara, Tony
ISBN: 9780814417638
Publication Date: 2011
Need serious help with your résumé? Turn to the employment expert Dr. Phil calls "the best of the best"! What does Tony Beshara do that most résumé "experts" don't? While the experts write résumés all day, Tony--the veteran placement specialist featured regularly on the Dr. Phil show--actually uses them to get people jobs. With Unbeatable Résumés, Tony dissects and discusses real-life résumés for jobs in a wide range of industries from healthcare to banking, construction to technology, administration to sales and marketing, and more. The book shows readers how to build a powerful résumé, utilize keywords effectively, use gaps and job changes to their advantage, and pair their résumés with concise, dynamic cover letters. He complements his expertise (he has personally placed more than 8,500 professionals) with the results of a survey of more than 3,000 managers, executives, HR specialists, and other hiring authorities about what gets résumés read, interviews granted, and jobs offered. Readers will learn: * The critical components of well-written résumé * How to ensure their résumé actually gets read... by the right people *What employers look for, and what turns them off * How to customize a résumé for a particular job * The truth about video résumés, job-search websites, and social networking sites like FaceBook, LinkedIn, andMySpace * And much more Unbeatable Résumés shows job seekers of all types how to present themselves in the best possible light...for the best possible position.
You must login to the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Great Answers to Tough CV Problems - Rogers, Jenny
ISBN: 9780749462819
Publication Date: 2011
How do I find out what the employer really wants? How do I get noticed when applying online? How can I keep it to 2-3 pages? What is 'CV Language' and how can I learn it? How do I get around the obstacle of something embarrassing in my CV (eg dismissal or unemployment)? What about social networks? What if I seem over- or under-qualified for the job? Great Answers to Tough CV Problems will help you solve these and many more of the burning questions that face today's job seeker. Perhaps you want a career change, have been job-hopping for some time or are returning to work after a career break? Jenny Rogers examines the potential pitfalls across a range of common job-hunting situations and shows how to put together a CV that will make the most of your skills and experience, make an impression and secure that all-important job interview.
You must login to the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Amazing Resumes: What Employers Want to See--and How to Say It - Bright, Jim; Ruck, Janet;
Call Number: HF 5383 .B69 2009
ISBN: 9781593576677
Publication Date: 2009
One of the major complaints hiring managers have about job seekers is that their resumes don't clearly address the needs of the employer. And if hiring managers aren't impressed, the job seeker is not landing an interview, let alone a job offer. Fortunately, the new edition of international best seller Amazing Resumes unveils what makes employers hire people and offers tips for building resumes that drive job search success. This evidence-based career book is derived from the psychology of selection and impression management. Readers learn the basics of how to present their credentials and experience in the most effective way. Ideal for anyone crafting a resume, this guide is packed with insider evaluations, worksheets, lists of competencies to emphasize, power words, self-evaluation exercises, tips on reading job postings, Internet resume advice, and much more. This new edition includes updated resumes, revised Internet resources, and a new chapter on using narrative to achieve job goals and how to use the resume as a bridge to answering behavioral interview questions.

Cover Art
Resume Empower! Shattering the Paper Ceiling - Washington, Tom; Kanter, Gary;
Call Number: HF 5383 .W315 2009
ISBN: 9780931213182
Publication Date: 2009
Well-organized and easy to use, Resume Empower! is based on the authors’ experience in having written and edited thousands of resumes for job seekers in all professions. Veteran career consultants Tom Washington and Gary Kanter gleefully debunk much of the mythology, folklore, and general silliness that have confounded and frustrated resume writers for generations. Their step-by-step creative process not only helps the writer create a stellar resume but lays the foundation for successful interviewing. This informative and entertaining sequel to a perennial best seller provides a wealth of tips, tricks, and techniques designed to develop an effective resume. It also demonstrates the unmistakable power of providing career accomplishments in obtaining interviews. Resume Empower! introduces a new and powerful tool for the job seeker with non-linear experience or an unconventional career path, the innovative clustered resume™.

Cover Art
The Complete Book of Perfect Phrases for Successful Job Seekers - Martin, Carole
Call Number: HF 5383 .B4356 2009
ISBN: 9780071485661
Publication Date: 2009
The Complete Book of Perfect Phrases for Job Seekers shows how to project the right image, sound professional, and convey their experience in the best light possible. Expert career coaches Michael Betrus and Carole Martin provide the precise phrases for every stage--from writing the cover letter to putting together a resume to blowing them away at the interview--helping you stand out from all the other applicants.

Cover Art
How to Find a Job in a Bad Economy - Ragland, Tom
Call Number: HF 5382.7 .R34 2009
ISBN: 143273007X
Publication Date: 2009
How to find a job in a bad economy is a practical guide to help job seekers land a good job in tough times. Tom Ragland draws on his extensive experience in career counseling and recruitment to offer the reader tips to writing an effective resume, using online job boards, getting interviews and negotiating a fair offer. He offers the reader a heartfelt chapter on how to cope with being unemployed. The book is written with a familiar narrative that the reader will find easy to understand. The book is well worth the investment.

Cover Art
Knock 'Em Dead 2010: The Ultimate Job Search Guide - Yate, Martin;
Call Number: HF 5549.5 .I6 Y37 2010
ISBN: 1598697811
Publication Date: 2009
There's no question about it--today's job market is crowded and the competition is stiff. Candidates need an edge; a way to get the right job at the right salary. In the latest edition of this classic guide, Martin Yate paves the way with his proven advice on everything from crafting resumes with keywords and leveraging social networking to the latest thinking on interview skills. Featuring a new section, "Where the Jobs Are," Yate delves into the hottest fields such as education, engineering, and health care, and supplies info on the top job titles, and tips on how to land positions in those fields. Armed with this book, you will gain the advantage you need to bring your "A" game--and secure a great job!

Cover Art
Can I Wear My Nose Ring to the Interview? - Reeves, Ellen Gordon
ISBN: 0761141456
Publication Date: 2009
A witty, friendly, unexpected job hunter's bible that finally answers the real questions. Yes, if you're wedded to your nose ring, wear it to the interview. No, you shouldn't be e-mailing out hundreds of résumés. Writing with enormous authority and a compelling, lively voice, Ellen Reeves brings together her lifetime of experience of hiring, counseling, and résumé-doctoring into an essential guide for young job seekers. Can I Wear My Nose Ring to the Interview? takes readers step-by-step through a process that was always tough, but is today especially challenging. Begin the search with a professional mind-set--get organized, and set yourself up with business cards, a respectable e-mail address, and a working cell phone. The importance of networking and the rule of three--try to make three e-mails or phone calls a day, but never more than that. The "elevator speech"--hone your pitch to the length of an elevator ride and be prepared to use it at the most unexpected times. The art of writing cringe-free cover letters and killer résumés--from timelines, hooks, and grammatical do's and don'ts to why you should never use the phrase "References available upon request," never include your GPA, and never, ever make a typo. How to dress for an interview, including why to put on your business clothes when interviewing at home, over the phone. Things to be honest about: citizenship and past salary range. And things not to say: "I want this job because I need health insurance." Then once you're in, how to negotiate salary, what to expect in a review, and basic first job common sense: take initiative, be humble and helpful, never use your boss as a confidant, and always say "I'll find out" instead of "I don't know." Now you're on your way.

Cover Art
The Resume Handbook: How to Write Outstanding Resumes & Cover Letters for Every Situation - Rosenberg, Arthur D.
Call Number: HF 5383 .H53 2008
ISBN: 1598694596
Publication Date: 2007
Only one interview is granted for every 250 resumes received With The Resume Handbook, you can make sure yours is the one on top! Your resume has one purpose: to obtain an interview. In order to create an interview-winning resume, you need to know what to say and how to say it - and The Resume Handbook will show you how. The book focuses on three major objectives: Organization: Give your resume structure and visual impact to immediately capture attention The Basics: What to include and what to leave out so you don't turn off the reader Accomplishments: Present yourself as a highly motivated achiever Now in its fifth edition, The Resume Handbook features thirty-seven of the best resumes ever written and provides no-nonsense advice for making your resume stand out from the crowd.

Cover Art
Resumes for the Rest of Us: Secrets from the Pros for Job Seekers with Unconventional Career Paths - Boldt, Arnold
Call Number: HF 5383 .B54 2008
ISBN: 1564149838
Publication Date: 2008
In today's job market, few people have traditional or conventional career paths. Research shows that the average worker will change jobs every two or three years, and will have have three significant career changes during the course of his or her working life. Personal situations can complicate the mix. Here's a book that tackles head-on those resume writing challenges that may seem like insurmountable obstacles to job seekers with non-traditional backgrounds. In Resumes for the Rest of Us, veteran resume writer Arnold Boldt shares his professional knowlege and experience to help you prepare a resume that will effectively and positively capture the attention of our targeted employers, even if you have an unconventional work history.

Cover Art
What Does Somebody Have to Do to Get a Job Around Here? - Shapiro, Cynthia
Call Number: HF 5382.7 .S47 2008
ISBN: 0312373341
Publication Date: 2008
If you are looking for a job you need every advantage you can get.  What Does Somebody Have to Do to Get a Job Around Here? puts a former Human Resources executive turned employee advocate in your corner.  Cynthia Shapiro reveals the best-kept job secrets that employers don’t want you to know including: *Secret #8: A computer is deciding your job prospects. *Secret #12: Professional references are useless. *Secret #18: There is a “type” that always gets the offer. *Secret #21: The Thank-You note is too late. *Secret #28: Always negotiate. * …and thirty-nine more! Once you know the secrets you can create a winning resume, ace the interview, and land the job of your dreams.

Cover Art
Get the Interview Every Time: Proven Strategies from Fortune 500 Hiring Professionals - Greene, Brenda
Call Number: HF 5383 .G7235 2008
ISBN: 1427797145
Publication Date: 2008
More than 60 Fortune 500 employers offer insights on how to create an effective resume and cover letter--and how to succeed in the interview process In a competitive job market, how do you get your resume to stand out among hundreds of others? How do you make a connection with the nameless, faceless people who have the power to hire? Once you get your foot in the door with an interview, how do you secure your foothold and get the offer? Author Brenda Greene surveyed 60+ Fortune 500 hiring managers and human resource executives to get you the answers—and the interview. Packed with sample resumes and cover letters that represent what hiring managers, directors, and vice presidents want to see,Get the Interview Every Timeprovides job seekers with the confidence to know they can create a message that stands out—and get the interview. Fully updated and expanded with advice on how to get the interview and then what to do in the interview process—Get the Interview Every Timebreaks down the monumental task of landing an interview into a series of manageable steps, easy to understand and inspiring to follow. Designed to transform confused, disheartened job applicants into savvy, prospective employees,Get the Interview Every Timeshows how to ""open the gates"" through sensible, targeted self-marketing.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
George Libbey
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip