If you know the name of the journal that contains your article, (careful, don't use the name of the article), enter it below to see if we have it avaialable online. (Need HELP?)
The Libraries subscribe to thousands of journals online, including journals with articles about:
Great for researching the background or history of topics, coverage starts with the first issue published, and continues, ending 3-5 years before the current year. Includes philosophy, literature, gender studies and African American studies.
- OmniFile Full Text (Ebsco):
Includes full text from over 2,700 journals and magazines in many different disciplines
- Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile is a major source of full-text articles from the world's leading journals, magazines, and news and reference sources, in multiple disciplines.
- Diversity Studies Collection (Gale):
Collection of over 100 peer-reviewed, full text journals covering different cultures and how they interact with a global environment.
- Sociology Collection (SAGE):
Full text, peer-reviewed articles on topics in ethnic studies, marriage and family issues, gender studies, and sociology.
- Proquest Social Science Journals:
Large and diverse collection of full-text journal articles on social issues, family issues, anthropology, social work, and other social sciences.
- Gender Studies Collection (Gale):
Full text journal articles include a variety of viewpoints on GLTB topics including family and marital, health and gender identity issues.
- Gender Watch (Proquest):
Includes full text articles on the history of changes in gender roles, women’s and men’s studies, GLBT issues and gender identity.
- Communications and Mass Media Collection
More than 250 journals focused on all aspects of communications.
- Computer Database
Articles on technology, research trends, the technology industry, and robotics
Many databases allow you to limit your search to peer-reviewed (scholarly) articles. Look for a checkbox on the search screen or in a side frame on the results page.
Rutgers University library has a helpful guide here for more help on determining whether or not an article is peer-reviewed.
Remember to give credit to the original source when you use someone else's work or idea, whether you use a direct quote or paraphrase. Most style guides require some form of citation in the text of your paper as well as at the end in a bibliography or list of references.
- Purdue Online Writing Center (OWL)
The Purdue OWL offers detailed instructions and examples of how to write and cite in MLA or APA format.
- Citation Machine
A free, quick and easy to use citation generator that works for APA, Chicago, and MLA styles.
Use RefWorksl keep track of the articles you find as you do your library research, and use it again as you write to format your entire paper, inserting quotations and creating a list of references at the end.