This is the "Case Method: Books" page of the "Case Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Case Studies  

Last Updated: Jan 8, 2015 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/content.php?pid=565900 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Case Method: Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 
  


 

Kristin Nador Writing Books CC 2.0 Cropped http://www.flickr.com/photos/83251575@N04/7666431

 

Books

Cover Art
Applications of Case Study Research - Robert Yin
Call Number: H 61 .Y56 2003
ISBN: 0761925503
Publication Date: 2002
Written to augment the author's earlier, extremely successful volume, Case Study Research: Design and Methods, the new edition of this applications book presents and discusses new case studies from a wide array of topics offering a variety of examples or applications of case study research methods. These applications demonstrate specific techniques or principles that are integral to the case study method. Through these practical applications, the reader is able to identify solutions to problems encountered during this type of research.

Cover Art
The Art and Craft of Case Writing - William Naumes; Margaret J. Naumes
ISBN: 9780765622136
Publication Date: 2006
You must login to the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

The Art of Interactive Teaching: With Cases, Simulations, Games and Other Interactive Methods - Hans E. Klein
Call Number: H 62 .A3 A78 1995
ISBN: 187786806X
Publication Date: 1995
Interdisciplinary, International, Intercultural CONTRIBUTIONS from around the world EXPLORE & DISCUSS THE LATEST DEVELOPMENTS IN DESIGN, PRODUCTION, IMPLEMENTATION, RESEARCH, EVALUATION, & PEDAGOGICAL INNOVATIONS USING CASES, SIMULATIONS, GAMES, VIDEOS & OTHER INTERACTIVE TEACHING METHODS. Topics included: A Dialogue of the Deaf - Deepening Cultural Competence Through International, Live, Case-based Teaching - Compressing the Cultural Adaptation Learning Curve - Strategic Management: Evaluating the Case Method - Teaching Interrelationships Among Disciplines - Development of Reflective Thought Processes - Problem Solving & the Core Curriculum - Criteria for Case Selection - Learning Effects on Students - Interaction-based Self-Assessment - Teamwork Among Social Work Students - Service Learning in Higher Ed - Managing Across Cultural Boundaries - International Management of Change - Contingency & Case-design - Managing & Coaching Critical Thinking - Effective Case-writing - Case Research in a Global Environment - Case Development & Case-teaching in the Context of Scarce Resources.

Case in Point: Complete Case Interview Preparation - Cosentino, Marc
Call Number: HD 69 .C6 C645 2011
ISBN: 0971015864
Publication Date: 2011

Cover Art
The Case Study Handbook: How to Read, Discuss, and Write Persuasively about Cases - William C. Ellet
Call Number: HD 30.4 .E435 2007
ISBN: 9781422101582
Publication Date: 2007
If you're enrolled in an executive education or MBA program, you've probably encountered a powerful learning tool: the business case. But if you're like many people, you may find interpreting and writing about cases mystifying, challenging, or downright frustrating. In "The Case Study Handbook", William Ellet presents a potent new approach for analyzing, discussing, and writing about cases. Early chapters show how to classify cases according to the analytical task they require (solving a problem, making a decision, or forming an evaluation) and quickly establish a base of knowledge about a case. Strategies and templates, in addition to several sample Harvard Business School cases, help you apply the author's framework. Later in the book, Ellet shows how to write persuasive case-analytical essays based on the process laid out earlier. Extensive examples of effective and ineffective writing further reinforce your learning. The book also includes a chapter on how to talk about casesmore effectively in class. Any current or prospective MBA or executive education student needs to read this book.

Case Study Methods in Business Research vol.1-4 - Durepos, Gabrielle; Mills, Albert J. (Eds.)
Call Number: HD 30.4 .C337 2013 vol.1-4
ISBN: 9781446247068
Publication Date: 2012
Case studies are one of the most popular approaches to business and management research. By bringing together research accounts from various research traditions, this collection is unique within the field. Over four volumes, the editors focus on central themes in the subject over time, before moving on to selected cases from positivist, interpretivist and critical approaches, and finishing with a look at traditions of the "post". The set provides a highly accessible collection for anyone in business studies wishing to explore in depth and have readily available a sizeable number of case study accounts.

Cover Art
Case Study Research for Business - Farquhar, Jillian Dawes
Call Number: HD 30.4 .F365 2012
ISBN: 9781849207768
Publication Date: 2012
Using a step-by-step approach, Case Study Research for Business takes students right through the case study research process from research design and data collection using qualitative and quantitative methods, to research analysis, writing up and presenting work. The book takes a multidisciplinary approach to case study research design by drawing on both positivist and interpretivist schools of thought to improve student understanding of these critical research traditions. It covers contemporary topics such as research ethics and includes practical examples from all areas of business. Pedagogical features including vignettes, exercises and cases which directly relate to business research.

Cover Art
The Case Writing Workbook: A Self-guided Workshop - Vega, Gina
Call Number: HF 5718.3 .V44 2013
ISBN: 9780765635495
Publication Date: 2013
Readable and practical, this workbook provides technical assistance and concrete advice for researching, writing, and teaching with cases. The exercises and worksheets encourage practicing skills and serve as a handy and affordable workshop alternative for both novice and experienced case writers. Nine stand-alone modules and 79 exercise worksheets guide case authors through the entire case writing process from research through publication. Special topics such as teaching students to write cases, learning how to review for others, and collaborative writing techniques are explained and will grab the reader's attention. The book is written in a to-the-point, engaging manner and avoids academic jargon, acronyms, and inside terminology. It can be used as a stand-alone volume, or in concert with any other case writing manual.

Cover Art
Embedded Case Study Methods: Integrating Quantitative and Qualitative Knowledge - Roland W. Scholz; Olaf Tietje
Call Number: Q 180.55 .M4 S365 2002
ISBN: 0761919457
Publication Date: 2001
Bridging the gap between quantitative and qualitative approaches, this book presents methods for interrelating and integrating the variables, findings, and evaluations from the facets of the case (i.e., different perspectives of inquiry such as participant observation, open-ended interviews, etc.) or subunits of case inquiry. Using case examples from five different disciplines (neuropsychology, education, law, business, and environmental sciences), the authors show the reader how to use the embedded case design to enhance synthesis and knowledge integration. The authors share their broad knowledge of the philosophy of science to explain the rationale behind each step of embedded case designs, and recap each explanation with concept recaps called "lessons to be learned." In addition, they include a variety of boxes that offer statistical models for doing the analysis. This book offers readers a sophisticated approach to integrating mixed methods in case studies.  

Cover Art
Instant Case Studies: How to Design, Adapt, and Use Case Studies in Training - Barbazette, Jean
Call Number: LB 1029 .C37 B37 2004 + CD-ROM
ISBN: 0787968854
Publication Date: 2003
If you want to: improve learning retention create discovery learning make training interactive increase participation, and make training fun... ...this book is for you! In this easy-to-use resource, author and training expert Jean Barbazette gives you 71 case studies to use instantly or modify to meet your specific learning needs. She defines the five types of case studies and their different purposes, shows the benefits of using case studies, and offers clear-cut suggestions for writing your own original case studies or customizing existing case studies. Barbazette also offers step-by-step instructions for processing each case study to maximizing the potential for learning. In addition, all of the 71 case studies and discussion questions in the second half of this book are contained on the book's companion CD-ROM for your use. Answers to all case study questions are provided in the book.

Cover Art
Making Change Stick (Harvard Case Studies) - Harvard Business School Press Staff
Call Number: HD 31 .H34957
ISBN: 9781422114704
Publication Date: 2008
See how leading managements experts weigh in on many crucial questions and find answers to your toughest challenges in this collection of the most popular Harvard business review cases.

Qualitative Research through Case Studies - Max Travers
ISBN: 9781446276273
Publication Date: 2004

A Taste of Frankenmuth: A Town in Michigan Thinks About Word-of-mouth Referral - Hansen, Abbey J.; Hallowell, Roger;
Call Number: HF 5827.95 .T37 1999
Publication Date: 1999

Cover Art
Teaching and the Case Method - Louis B. Barnes; C. Roland Christensen; Abby J. Hansen
Call Number: HF 1131 .C48 1994
ISBN: 0875844030
Publication Date: 1994
Teaching and the Case Method delves into the special role of teacher and students in the case method learning process. Schools that want to use the case method more effectively can use this book to teach groups of faculty how to apply case method techniques. For the first time, too, a book about case method teaching attempts to show how the method can be applied in a liberal arts setting. A liberal arts module in the book presents an innovative program for instructors who want to experiment with discussion teaching in traditional arts and science areas. The book focuses on a wide range of knotty problems faced by most instructors, experienced or new, creating an opportunity for them to learn from each other. Its main purpose is to provide a rich opportunity for both professional school and liberal arts instructors to develop their own discussion leadership skills, and to further the process of learning for both themselves and their students.

Who Learns What from Cases and How?: Research Base for Teaching and Learning with Cases - Mary A. Lundeberg; Barbara B. Levin; Helen L. Harrington; (eds.)
Call Number: LB 1029 .C37 W56 1999
ISBN: 0805827773
Publication Date: 1999
This book organizes and presents major empirical work done to date on cases and case-based pedagogy. It is timely--not only because it provides a comprehensive review of much of the scholarship that has been done to date, but also because it encompasses a wide range of perspectives on cases and case methods. For example, it includes research on learning from discussing and writing about cases; from video and multi-media cases as well as print cases; from working with preservice and in-service teachers as well as research on the contributors' own practice. The research included is grounded in a spectrum of different theoretical frames, from narrative to constructivism to information processing. Each chapter concludes with a brief commentary by an invited author, intended to stimulate further dialogue on cases and case-based pedagogy. One principle goal of this volume is to compare the claims of case pedagogy with the current research. A second is the careful examination of the methodologies that have been used to study cases. A third goal is to clarify what we do not yet know; each chapter presents questions for further research. The work reviewed and discussed in this volume attempts to answer questions such as: *What can preservice teacher candidates and in-service teachers learn from cases and the case method? *What do we know from research on different kinds of cases (print, video, multimedia, multicultural)? *What do we know from research on different kinds of case methods (discussion, writing case analyses, constructing cases)? *What theoretical frameworks have guided researchers' questions and methods? *What are the implications of various theoretical frameworks on the research questions and methodologies used to study case-based pedagogy? *What are some of the pitfalls of research on case methods? The use of case methods in teacher education is a relatively new phenomena which has been growing in popularity since the 1980s. Most of the work that has been published so far has focused on testimonials and author's experiences rather than on systematic analysis, providing little empirical evidence for case methods. This book is distinguished by its emphasis on the research base for cases and case-based pedagogy. Teacher educators, educational psychologists, those interested in pedagogy in higher education, and advanced students in these areas will find this book to be an invaluable professional resource.

Cover Art
Case Study Methodology in Business Research - Dul, Jan; Hak, Tony;
ISBN: 9780080552194
Publication Date: 2007
The complete guide for how to design and conduct theory-testing and other case studies… Case Study Methodology in Business Research sets out structures and guidelines that assist students and researchers from a wide range of disciplines to develop their case study research in a consistent and rigorous manner. It clarifies the differences between practice-oriented and theory-oriented research and, within the latter category, between theory-testing and theory-building. It describes in detail how to design and conduct different types of case study research, providing students and researchers with everything they need for their project. The main aims are to: * present a broad spectrum of types of case study research (including practice-oriented case studies, theory-building case studies and theory-testing case studies) in one consistent methodological framework. * emphasize and clearly illustrate that the case study is the preferred research strategy for testing deterministic propositions such as those expressing a necessary condition case by case and that the survey is the preferred research strategy for testing probabilistic propositions. * stress the role of replication in all theory-testing research, irrespective of which research strategy is chosen for a specific test. * give more weight to the importance of theory-testing relative to theory-building. Case Study Methodology in Business Research is a clear, concise and comprehensive text for case study methodology. Templates are supplied for case study protocol and how to report a case study. A modular textbook primarily aimed at serving research methodology courses for final year undergraduate students and graduate students in Business Administration and Management, which is also useful as a handbook for researchers. Written by Jan Dul, Professor of Technology and Human Factors, RSM Erasmus University, Rotterdam and Tony Hak, Associate professor of Research Methodology, RSM Erasmus University, Rotterdam, in collaboration with other authors from RSM Erasmus University.

Who Learns What from Cases and How?: The Research Base for Teaching and Learning with Cases - Mary A. Lundeberg (Editor); Barbara B. Levin (Editor); Helen L. Harrington (Editor)
ISBN: 9780805827774
Publication Date: 1999
This book organizes and presents major empirical work done to date on cases and case-based pedagogy. It is timely--not only because it provides a comprehensive review of much of the scholarship that has been done to date, but also because it encompasses a wide range of perspectives on cases and case methods. For example, it includes research on learning from discussing and writing about cases; from video and multi-media cases as well as print cases; from working with preservice and in-service teachers as well as research on the contributors' own practice. The research included is grounded in a spectrum of different theoretical frames, from narrative to constructivism to information processing. Each chapter concludes with a brief commentary by an invited author, intended to stimulate further dialogue on cases and case-based pedagogy. One principle goal of this volume is to compare the claims of case pedagogy with the current research. A second is the careful examination of the methodologies that have been used to study cases. A third goal is to clarify what we do not yet know; each chapter presents questions for further research. The work reviewed and discussed in this volume attempts to answer questions such as: *What can preservice teacher candidates and in-service teachers learn from cases and the case method? *What do we know from research on different kinds of cases (print, video, multimedia, multicultural)? *What do we know from research on different kinds of case methods (discussion, writing case analyses, constructing cases)? *What theoretical frameworks have guided researchers' questions and methods? *What are the implications of various theoretical frameworks on the research questions and methodologies used to study case-based pedagogy? *What are some of the pitfalls of research on case methods? The use of case methods in teacher education is a relatively new phenomena which has been growing in popularity since the 1980s. Most of the work that has been published so far has focused on testimonials and author's experiences rather than on systematic analysis, providing little empirical evidence for case methods. This book is distinguished by its emphasis on the research base for cases and case-based pedagogy. Teacher educators, educational psychologists, those interested in pedagogy in higher education, and advanced students in these areas will find this book to be an invaluable professional resource.

You must log into EBSCO Books database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Making the Compelling Business Case: Decision Making Techniques for Successful Business Growth - Messner, Wolfgang
Call Number: HD 30.23 .M467 2013
ISBN: 1137340568
Publication Date: 2013
Despite clear objectives, managers often make decisions on projects with uncertain outcomes, which can result in failed initiatives, missed goals and overrunning costs. A business case is a process, a tool and a document that builds consensus among stakeholders and gives decisionmakers the rational evidence they need to give the go-ahead. nbsp; Making the Compelling Business Case shows readers how to champion new ideas and raise them to senior management; it simplifies the decision-making process by explaining the key theories and practices behind corporate investments. These methods can be applied to a variety of investment decisions, including strategic choices, capacity management, and budget allocation alternatives. This comprehensive and stimulating book features insightful case-studies and valuable hands-on tools, designed to help executives make smart decisions and to maximize enterprise value.

Cover Art
Case Study Methodology in Business Research - Dul, Jan; Hak, Tony;
ISBN: 9780080552194
Publication Date: 2007
The complete guide for how to design and conduct theory-testing and other case studies… Case Study Methodology in Business Research sets out structures and guidelines that assist students and researchers from a wide range of disciplines to develop their case study research in a consistent and rigorous manner. It clarifies the differences between practice-oriented and theory-oriented research and, within the latter category, between theory-testing and theory-building. It describes in detail how to design and conduct different types of case study research, providing students and researchers with everything they need for their project. The main aims are to: * present a broad spectrum of types of case study research (including practice-oriented case studies, theory-building case studies and theory-testing case studies) in one consistent methodological framework. * emphasize and clearly illustrate that the case study is the preferred research strategy for testing deterministic propositions such as those expressing a necessary condition case by case and that the survey is the preferred research strategy for testing probabilistic propositions. * stress the role of replication in all theory-testing research, irrespective of which research strategy is chosen for a specific test. * give more weight to the importance of theory-testing relative to theory-building. Case Study Methodology in Business Research is a clear, concise and comprehensive text for case study methodology. Templates are supplied for case study protocol and how to report a case study. A modular textbook primarily aimed at serving research methodology courses for final year undergraduate students and graduate students in Business Administration and Management, which is also useful as a handbook for researchers.
You must login to the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

  


Subject Guide

Profile Image
George Libbey
 
  


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip