Boolean Operators
Finding a Book on the Shelf
Catholicism and the Media
Current journal articles
Current journal articles
This is the "Finding Journal Articles" page of the "Communication Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Communication Studies  

This guide includes resources and information to help you in your library research for communication studies topics.
Last Updated: Sep 6, 2017 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/CST Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Finding Journal Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Subject-Specific Databases

Search these databases to find journal and magazine articles on communication studies topics.  

  • Communication Studies (SAGE Full Text Colllection)
    This database includes scholarly journals with full text articles focused on communication issues. It covers subjects such as Journalism, Public Opinion, Political Communication, Mass Communication, Interpersonal Communication, Intercultural Communication, Television/Film Studies, Media Studies, Business Communication, Written Communication, and Rhetoric.
  • **Communications and Mass Media Collection (Gale)
    This custom collection includes a mix of full text scholarly journals, trade magazines (American Journalism Review, St. Louis Journalism Review, etc...), newswires, and transcripts of television morning and news programs (Today show, Fox News, etc...) and even some local broadcast videos. It includes subjects such as journalism, advertising and public relations, linguistics, and literature.
  • **Fine Arts & Music Collection (Gale)
    This database includes more than 200 full-text magazines and journals in areas such as drama, classical music, art history, and filmmaking.

Multidisciplinary Databases

These databases have scholarly journal articles and magazine articles in many different subject areas, including interdisciplinary subjects.  JSTOR includes many older articles that are useful for researching the history of a topic.

  • Academic OneFile
    Academic OneFile is a major source of full-text articles from the world's leading journals, magazines, and news and reference sources, in multiple disciplines.
  • JSTOR
    Full text of the back issues (3 years or older) of over 1,200 core academic journals in many disciplines. Ideal for researching the background or history of issues, coverage starts with the first issue published, and continues, ending 3-5 years before the current year. An additional year of journals published is added annually. The Libraries own current paper issues of many titles in the collections.
  • Wiley Online Library
    This very large database includes scholarly articles on many topics. Hold your mouse over "Social and Behavioral Sciences" to find a link to resources in Communication & Media Studies.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    LexisNexis Acvademic is an interdisciplinary, full-text database including newspapers, journals, wire services, company reports and SEC filings, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and law reviews.

Citing Articles

Remember to give credit to the original source when you use someone else's work or idea, whether you use a direct quote or paraphrase.  Most style guides require some form of citation in the text of your paper as well as at the end in a bibliography or list of references. 

  • Purdue Online Writing Center (OWL)
    The Purdue OWL offers detailed instructions and examples of how to write and cite in MLA or APA format.
  • Citation Machine
    A free, quick and easy to use citation generator that works for APA, Chicago, and MLA styles.
  • RefWorks
    Use RefWorksl keep track of the articles you find as you do your library research, and use it again as you write to format your entire paper, inserting quotations and creating a list of references at the end.
 

American Journalism Review

The American Journalims Review became an online-only publication in July of 2013.  

Search for articles from the previous print version here: http://ajrarchive.org/

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Critical Studies in Media Communication

Recent articles in: Critical Studies in Media Communication

Loading Loading...
blank padding
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip