This guide includes resources and information to help you in your library research for communication studies topics.
Search these databases to find journal and magazine articles on communication studies topics.
- Communications and Mass Media Collection (Gale)
This custom collection includes a mix of full text scholarly journals, trade magazines (American Journalism Review, St. Louis Journalism Review, etc...), newswires, and transcripts of television morning and news programs (Today show, Fox News, etc...) and even some local broadcast videos. It includes subjects such as journalism, advertising and public relations, linguistics, and literature.
- Communication Studies (SAGE Full Text Colllection)
This database includes scholarly journals with full text articles focused on communication issues. It covers subjects such as Journalism, Public Opinion, Political Communication, Mass Communication, Interpersonal Communication, Intercultural Communication, Television/Film Studies, Media Studies, Business Communication, Written Communication, and Rhetoric.
- Fine Arts & Music Collection (Gale)
This database includes more than 200 full-text magazines and journals in areas such as drama, classical music, art history, and filmmaking.
If you know the name of the journal that contains your article, (careful, don't use the name of the article), enter it below to see if we have it avaialable online. (Need HELP?)
Remember to give credit to the original source when you use someone else's work or idea, whether you use a direct quote or paraphrase. Most style guides require some form of citation in the text of your paper as well as at the end in a bibliography or list of references.
- Purdue Online Writing Center (OWL)
The Purdue OWL offers detailed instructions and examples of how to write and cite in MLA or APA format.
A free, quick and easy to use citation generator that works for APA, Chicago, and MLA styles.
Use RefWorksl keep track of the articles you find as you do your library research, and use it again as you write to format your entire paper, inserting quotations and creating a list of references at the end.
Several key communication studies journals have moved entirely online, and a few others are scattered among different databases. Here are links to some core journals.
These databases have scholarly journal articles and magazine articles in many different subject areas, including interdisciplinary subjects. JSTOR includes many older articles that are useful for researching the history of a topic.
- Wiley Online Library
This very large database includes scholarly articles on many topics. Hold your mouse over "Social and Behavioral Sciences" to find a link to resources in Communication & Media Studies.
- OmniFile Full Text (Ebsco)
Includes full text from over 2,700 journals and magazines in many different disciplines
- Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile is a major source of full-text articles from the world's leading journals, magazines, and news and reference sources, in multiple disciplines.
Full text of the back issues (3 years or older) of over 1,200 core academic journals in many disciplines. Ideal for researching the background or history of issues, coverage starts with the first issue published, and continues, ending 3-5 years before the current year. An additional year of journals published is added annually. The Libraries own current paper issues of many titles in the collections.
- LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Acvademic is an interdisciplinary, full-text database including newspapers, journals, wire services, company reports and SEC filings, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and law reviews.
Search these databases to find online newspaper articles.
- NewsBank: Online Collections
NewsBank contains the electronic editions of record for The Detroit News (1999-date), The Lansing State Journal (1999-date), and over 100 other Michigan newspapers. Paid ads are excluded. The collections also include access to: many regional, national and international newspapers, well known news magazines, and a large database of obituaries and death notices.
- InfoTrac Newsstand
A collection of over 1800 newspapers, newswires and news magazines from around the country and the world. Included are the Detroit Free Press (March 28, 2000-July 30, 2008), Times (London) 1985-date, and the Christian Science Monitor.
- LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Acvademic is an interdisciplinary, full-text database including newspapers, journals, wire services, law reviews, government documents, and broadcast transcripts
- New York Times 2010-present (Gale)
This database includes articles from 1985 to the present.
- New York Times 1881-2010 (Proquest)
Includes pdf page views of all newspaper issues as well as the full text of articles and advertisements.
- Varsity News
This website includes current issues of UDM's student newspaper.