Boolean Operators
Finding a Book on the Shelf
Catholicism and the Media
Current journal articles
Current journal articles
This is the "Religion & Journalism" page of the "Communication Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Communication Studies  

This guide includes resources and information to help you in your library research for communication studies topics.
Last Updated: Sep 6, 2017 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/CST Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Religion & Journalism Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Recent Journal Articles

The full text of these articles is available through the Communications and Mass Media Collection database.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

More Religion and Journalism Articles

The full text of these articles is available through the Religion & Philosophy Collection database.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Religion and Journalism Books and eBooks

Cover Art
The Oxford Handbook of Religion and the American News Media - Diane Winston (Editor)
Call Number: BL 2525 .O95 2012
ISBN: 9780195395068
Publication Date: 2012
Every journalist needs a basic knowledge of religion to cover everything from presidential elections to the war in Iraq to the ethical issues raised by latest developments in medical research. This book starts with the history of the mass media and the role religion played in its growth. Then it looks at how journalists cover major religious traditions and particular issues that have religious angles. It also examines the religious press, from the Christian Broadcasting Network to The Forward.

Cover Art
Religion and News - Jolyon Michell; Owen Gower
ISBN: 9781409420187
Publication Date: 2012
In Religion and the News journalists and religious leaders reflect on their interactions with one another and their experiences of creating news. Through a series of original contributions, leading practitioners shed light on how religious stories emerge into the public domain. Experienced journalists and religious representatives from different faith traditions critically consider their role in a rapidly evolving communicative environment. Religion and the News presents insights from leading journalists and religious leaders, many of them well-known figures, writing openly about their experiences.

Cover Art
Blind Spot: When Journalists Don't Get Religion - Paul A. Marshall; Lela Gilbert; Roberta Green-Ahmanson
Call Number: PN 4756 .B62 2008
ISBN: 9780195374377
Publication Date: 2008
Understanding religion is essential to understanding many major news stories. This book examines how the media frequently miss or misinterpret these stories because they either misunderstand religion or do not take religion seriously. The essays in this book examine nine specific news stories that were inadequately or incorrectly reported by major news sources because their religious dimension was ignored, overlooked, or misrepresented.

Cover Art
Quoting God - Claire Hoertz Badaracco (Editor)
Call Number: BV 652.95 .Q86 2005
ISBN: 1932792066
Publication Date: 2005
Quoting God charts the many ways in which the media reports religion new and how media itself influences--and is influenced by--religion in the public square. This book clearly demonstrates that the relationship between media culture and spiritual culture is foundational and multi-directional; that the relationship between news values and religion in political life is influential; and that the relationship among modernity, belief, and journalism is pivotal.

Cover Art
A Cry for Justice - Gary B. Agee
Call Number: E 185.97 .R83 A43 2011
ISBN: 9781557289759
Publication Date: 2011
Daniel A. Rudd, born a slave in Bardstown, Kentucky, grew up to achieve much in the years following the Civil War. His Catholic faith, passion for activism, and talent for writing led him to increasingly influential positions in many places. One of his important early accomplishments was the publication of the American Catholic Tribune, which Rudd referred to as "the only Catholic journal owned and published by colored men." Rudd was also active in the leadership of the Afro-American Press Association, and he was a founding member of the Catholic Press Association and the Lay Catholic Congress movement. Also available online

Cover Art
Practicing Religion in the Age of the Media - Stewart M. Hoover; Lynn Schofield Clark (Editors)
Call Number: P 94 .P73 2002
ISBN: 0231120885
Publication Date: 2002
Increasingly, the religious practices people engage in and the ways they talk about what is meaningful or sacred take place in the context of media culture -- in the realm of the so-called secular. These essays address issues including the public/private divide, the distinctions between the sacred and profane, and how to distinguish between the practices that may be termed "religious" and those that may not.

Cover Art
Media, Spiritualities and Social Change - Stewart M. Hoover; Monica Emerich (eds.)
Call Number: BL 638 .M43 2011
ISBN: 9781441145550
Publication Date: 2011
This book maps emergent global practices and discourses of mediated, spiritualized social change. In the specific case of religion, globalization has unleashed a cascade of unexpected and unpredictable implications, many of which are consequences of the media. The authors show ways in which media and spiritualities are engaged around the world in efforts to restructure paradigms, institutions, beliefs and practices to affect social change. Also available online

Cover Art
Religion in the News - Stewart M. Hoover
Call Number: P 94 .H657 1998
ISBN: 0761916776
Publication Date: 1998
Stewart M Hoover offers a cultural-historical analysis of the rise of religious stories in the media. He brings into sharp focus: the relationship between religion and the news media, both in everyday practice and in the larger context of American public discourse; the place of religion in American life; the role of the media in cultural discourse; and the prospects of institutional religion in the media age.

Cover Art
Media Power and Religions - Manfred L. Pirner; Johannes Lähnemann (Eds.)
ISBN: 9783631625378
Publication Date: 2013
There can be no doubt about the high relevance of public media for the image we have of religion in general and certain religions in particular. This volume brings together multi-disciplinary perspectives, presented by internationally reputed experts. They offer illuminating analyses on the various interrelations between media and religions in the fields of human rights, anti-Islamism and anti-Semitism, on religions' potential to foster peace and to contribute to media ethics and media education in pluralistic societies.

Cover Art
Muslims and the New Media - Göran Larsson (Editor)
ISBN: 9781409427506
Publication Date: 2011
This ebook explores how the introduction of the latest information and communication technologies are mirroring changes and developments within society, as well as the Middle East's relationship to the West. Exploring how reformist and conservative Muslim 'ulama' are debating and coming to terms with technological and social changes, this book includes both historical and contemporary examples.

Cover Art
Fundamentalisms and the Media - Stewart M. Hoover; Nadia Kaneva (eds.)
ISBN: 9781847061348
Publication Date: 2009
The turn of the 21st century has seen an ever-increasing profile for religion, contrary to long-standing predictions of its decline. No issue in religion is of as much concern as the fundamentalisms within various traditions - which are seen to be fomenting religious, social, ethnic, and political tension and conflict. This ebooklooks at the interactions of fundamentalisms' and the media from critical perspectives of history, technology, geography, and practice.

Cover Art
Communication Habits for the Pilgrim Church - Warren Anthony Kappeler
ISBN: 9781433105432
Publication Date: 2009
This ebook explains why the moral order is given priority in Vatican teaching about communication and the reasons for Catholic social teaching to make moral judgments about these new realities. It discusses a ritual approach to religious communication, the generational experience of Catholics and their respective attitudes toward Church teaching, and the important link in the faith's praxis between reflexivity and forming habits of communication.

Cover Art
Local Contexts of Islamism in Popular Media - Lila Abu-Lughod
ISBN: 9789053568248
Publication Date: 2006
After the events of 9/11, media representations of Muslims in the West—never known for their accuracy—became even more stereotypically negative. Few of us realize, however, the profusion of similar sentiments that existed within Arab Muslim media outlets ten or even fifteen years earlier. In this ebook, Lila Abu-Lughod here examines these images of religious extremism in popular Arab media and explores the influence of media on religion itself.

Cover Art
Christianity and the Mass Media in America - Quentin J. Schultze
ISBN: 9780870136962
Publication Date: 2003
The mass media and Christian churches in America regularly argue about news bias, sex and violence on television, movie censorship and many other issues. Christian media have offered the public some of the best media criticism, while, mainstream media have rightly taken particular churches to task for misdeeds as well as offered some surprisingly good depictions of religious life. The tension between Christian groups and the media in the U.S. ultimately that can serve the interest of democratic life.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip