This guide includes resources and information to help you in your library research for communication studies topics.
The UDM Special Collections Page houses the digitized images of UDM, U of D, and Mercy College Newspapers and related publications going back to their first issues.
- Mercy College Student Newspapers
Browse through issues of the bi-weekly Mercy College newspaper from its inception in 1941 through its last issue in 1989. The publication's name changed quite a few times, with titles including: Outer Echoes, Dateline, Mercy College News, Mercy Update, MCD Catalyst, and the Mercy Catalyst.
- Varsity News
This archive starts with the first issue of the student-run newspaper (1918) and runs through 2012.
- The Tamarack
This University of Detroit, student-run publication began in 1890 and was eventually absorbed by the Varsity News in 1923.
The Wall Street Journal is not available online, but the library keeps the most current three month's print issues in the Bargman Room on the second floor.
For previous issues:
- Check the Wall Street Journal Index (the index for the most current 10 years is in the Reference section on the first floor and the index for older issues is in the basement, call number: HG 1 .W26) to find which issues have articles on your topic and then...
- View the articles on microfilm (ask for assistance at the Research Desk).
Search these databases to find online newspaper articles.
- NewsBank: Online Collections
NewsBank contains the electronic editions of record for The Detroit News (1999-date), The Lansing State Journal (1999-date), and over 100 other Michigan newspapers. Paid ads are excluded. The collections also include access to: many regional, national and international newspapers, well known news magazines, and a large database of obituaries and death notices.
- InfoTrac Newsstand
A collection of over 1800 newspapers, newswires and news magazines from around the country and the world. Included are the Detroit Free Press (March 28, 2000-July 30, 2008), Times (London) 1985-date, and the Christian Science Monitor.
- LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Acvademic is an interdisciplinary, full-text database including newspapers, journals, wire services, law reviews, government documents, and broadcast transcripts
- New York Times 2010-present (Gale)
This database includes articles from 1985 to the present.
- New York Times 1881-2010 (Proquest)
Includes pdf page views of all newspaper issues as well as the full text of articles and advertisements.
- Varsity News
This website includes current issues of UDM's student newspaper.