This is the "Online Marketing" page of the "Marketing Research Methodology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Marketing Research Methodology  

Last Updated: Jan 8, 2015 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/content.php?pid=546892 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Online Marketing Print Page
  Search: 
 
 
 

Books

Cover Art
The Art of Immersion: How the Digital Generation is Remaking Hollywood, Madison Avenue, and the Way We Tell Stories - Frank Rose
Call Number: HD 9696.8 .A2 R67 2012
ISBN: 9780393341256
Publication Date: 2012
Not long ago we were spectators, passive consumers of mass media. Now, on YouTube and blogs and Facebook and Twitter, we are media. No longer content in our traditional role as couch potatoes, we approach television shows, movies, even advertising as invitations to participate--as experiences to immerse ourselves in at will. Frank Rose introduces us to the people who are reshaping media for a two-way world, changing how we play, how we communicate, and how we think.

Cover Art
Auditing Social Media - Peter R. Scott & J. Mike Jacka
ISBN: 9781118063699
Publication Date: 2011
Practical, big-picture guidance toward a mastery of social media benefits and the risks to avoid Packed with useful web links, popular social media tools, platforms, and monitoring tools, Auditing Social Media shows you how to leverage the power of social media for instant business benefits while assessing the risks involved. Your organization sees the value in social media and wants to reach new markets, yet there are risks and compliance issues that must be considered. Auditing Social Media equips you to successfully partner with your business in achieving its social media goals and track it through strong metrics. Shows how to ensure your business has adequate metrics in place to capitalize on social media while protecting itself from excessive risk Reveals how to ensure your social media strategy is aligned with your business's goals Explores the risk and compliance issues every business must consider when using social media Includes a sample audit program Auditing Social Media is the one-stop resource you'll keep by your side to clear away the confusing clutter surrounding social media.

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
The B2B Social Media Book: Become a Marketing Superstar by Generating Leads with Blogging, Linkedin, Twitter, Facebook, Email and More - Kipp Bodnar; Jeffrey L. Cohen
ISBN: 9781118213933
Publication Date: 2011
Advance your B2B marketing plans with proven social media strategies Learn social media's specific application to B2B companies and how it can be leveraged to drive leads and revenue. B2B marketers are undervalued and under appreciated in many companies. Social media and online marketing provide the right mix of rich data and reduction in marketing expenses to help transform a marketer into a superstar. The B2B Social Media Book provides B2B marketers with actionable advice on leveraging blogging, LinkedIn, Twitter, Facebook and more, combined with key strategic imperatives that serve as the backbone of effective B2B social media strategies. This book serves as the definitive reference for B2B marketers looking to master social media and take their career to the next level. Describes a methodology for generating leads using social media Details how to create content offers that increase conversion rates and drive leads from social media Offers practical advice for incorporating mobile strategies into the marketing mix Provides a step-by-step process for measuring the return on investment of B2B social media strategies The B2B Social Media Book will help readers establish a strong social media marketing strategy to generate more leads, become a marketing superstar in the eye of company leaders, and most importantly, contribute to business growth.

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Doing Internet Research: Critical Issues and Methods for Examining the Net - Steve Jones; (ed.)
Call Number: ZA 4201 .D65 1998
ISBN: 9780761915959
Publication Date: 1998
The Internet is a medium with great consequences for social and economic life. This book is written to help people discern in what ways it has commanded the public imagination, and the methodological issues that arise when one tries to study and understand the social processes occurring within it. The contributors offer original responses in the search for, and critique of, methods with which to study the Internet and the social, political, economic, artistic, and communicative phenomena occurring within and around it.

Cover Art
Engagement Marketing: How Small Business Wins in a Socially Connected World - Gail F. Goodman
ISBN: 9781118223789
Publication Date: 2012
A definitive guide to growing your small business through "Engagement Marketing" As a small business owner, you've always relied on word-of-mouth referrals to grow your business. Thanks to social media-and its nimble partner, mobile technology-it's now easier than ever to turn customers and clients into engaged fans who spread the word about your business across a variety of online platforms. And that's what Engagement Marketing is all about. Written for anyone who owns or manages a small business or non-profit, this book is filled with practical, hands-on advice based on the author's experience of working with thousands of small businesses for over a decade. You'll learn how to attract new prospects-as well as how to increase repeat sales-using your existing customers and social networks. Learn how to create customer experiences that increase positive customer reviews and endorsements Get practical advice on how to entice people to join your social networks and run engagement campaigns that increase visibility-and endorsements-for your business Understand why engagement is so important-and how you can use it to turn passionate fans in your social networks into tomorrow's new business Author Gail Goodman is CEO of Constant Contact, America's leading email and social media marketing company for small businesses Engagement Marketing will help you make a bigger name for your company, build your network, and reach your goals.

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Facebook Marketing - Chris Treadaway; Mari Smith
ISBN: 9781118225868
Publication Date: 2012
The bestselling Sybex guide to marketing on Facebook, now fully updated As the second most-visited site on the web, Facebook offers myriad marketing opportunities and a host of new tools. This bestselling guide is now completely updated to cover all of the latest tools including Deals, sponsored stories, the Send button, and more. It explains how to develop a winning strategy, implement a campaign, measure results, and produce usable reports. Case studies, step-by-step directions, and hands-on tutorials in the popular Hour-a-Day format make this the perfect handbook for maximizing marketing efforts on Facebook. This revised guide fills you in on the latest Facebook conventions, tools, and demographics, and outlines the important strategic considerations for planning a campaign Takes you step by step through crafting an initial Facebook presence, developing an overall marketing strategy, setting goals, defining metrics, developing reports, and integrating your strategy with other marketing activities Covers using features such as events, applications, and pay-per-click advertising Includes case studies and directions for updating, monitoring, and maintaining your campaign This popular guide is packed with up-to-date information to help you develop, implement, measure, and maintain a successful Facebook marketing program.

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Friends with Benefits: A Social Media Marketing Handbook - Darren Barefoot & Julie Szabo
ISBN: 9781593272685
Publication Date: 2009
You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
The Handbook of Marketing Research: Uses, Misuses, and Future Advances - Rajiv Grover; Marco Vriens;
Call Number: HF 5415.2 .H286 2006
ISBN: 9781412909976
Publication Date: 2006
The Handbook of Marketing Research: Uses, Misuses, and Future Advances comprehensively explores the approaches for delivering market insights for fact-based decision making in a market-oriented firm. Divided into four parts, the Handbook addresses (1) the different nuances of delivering insights; (2) quantitative, qualitative, and online data gathering techniques; (3) basic and advanced data analysis methods; and (4) the substantial marketing issues that clients are interested in resolving through marketing research.

Cover Art
The Handbook of Online and Social Media Research - Ray Poynter
Call Number: HF 5415.2 .P66 2010
ISBN: 9780470710401
Publication Date: 2010
Drawing together the new techniques available to the market researcher into a single reference, The Handbook of Online and Social Media Research explores how these innovations are being used by the leaders in the field. This groundbreaking reference examines why traditional research is broken, both in theory and practice, and includes chapters on online research communities, community panels, blog mining, social networks, mobile research, e-ethnography, predictive markets, and DIY research. ?This handbook fills a significant learning gap for the market research profession and Ray Poynter has once again proven that he is a guiding light. The practical and pragmatic advice contained within these pages will be relevant to new students of research, young researchers and experienced researchers that want to understand the basics of online and social media research. Ray's views on ?how to be better with people? and ?how to maximise response rates? are vital clues that are likely to shape the future of market and social research.' Peter Harris, National President, Australian Market and Social Research Society (AMSRS).  ?It's hard to imagine anyone better suited to covering the rapidly changing world of online research than Ray Poynter. In this book he shows us why. Whether you are new to online or a veteran interested in broadening your understanding of the full range of techniques'quant and qual'this book is for you.' Reg Baker, President and Chief Operating Officer, Market Strategies International  ?Finally, a comprehensive handbook for practitioners, clients, suppliers and students that includes best practices, clear explanations, advice and cautionary warnings. This should be the research benchmark for online research for some time. Poynter proves he is the online market research guru.' Cam Davis, Ph.D., former Dean and current instructor of the online market research course for the Canadian Marketing Research and Intelligence Association  ?Ray Poynter's comprehensive, authoritative, easy to read, and knowledgeable handbook has come to our rescue ... it is a must read for anyone who needs to engage with customers or stakeholders in a creative, immediate and flexible way that makes maximum use of all the exciting, new technology now open to us. Market researchers need to know this stuff now. I can guarantee that anyone who buys the book will find it a compelling read: they will be constantly turning to the next page in order to find yet another nugget of insight from Ray's tour de force.' Dr David Smith, Director, DVL Smith Ltd; Professor, University of Hertfordshire, Business School  

Cover Art
The Handbook of Online Marketing Research - Joshua Grossnickle; Oliver Raskin;
Call Number: HF 5415.1265 .G76 2001
ISBN: 0071361146
Publication Date: 2000
The Handbook of Online Marketing Research examines all the latest techniques and trends used to conduct online research, including how to leverage existing sources, online chat-based sessions, email feedback, online focus groups, and much more. Now, just like larger companies, smallâ¬" and mediumâ¬"sized companies can learn vital information like the age, gender, and income of its users, and how they respond to different aspects of the products and those of its competitors. With the advent of the Internet, companies of all sizes and budgets can conduct online market research and access all the information they need to know to stay ahead of the competition. This book demonstrates how both large and small companies can take proven traditional market research techniques and adapt them to the Web. The result is an affordable means for businesses to understand their online customersâ¬" needs.

Cover Art
The Hyper-Social Organization: Eclipse Your Competition by Leveraging Social Media - Francois Gossieaux; Ed Moran
Call Number: HD 30.2 .G66 2010
ISBN: 9780071714020
Publication Date: 2010
BE HYPER-SOCIAL. GET HYPER-SUCCESSFUL. "A thought-provoking read and a comprehensive introduction to today''s business challenges as social media and social networking become increasingly vital to success. . . . Highly recommended." --Choice magazine "If you want to really understand what makes some online communities thrive while others shrivel and fade, you have come to the right place. Francois Gossieaux and Ed Moran understand just what makes us all so social—ascustomers, as employees, and as business partners—both online and off." -- David Rogers, executive director, Columbia Business School Center on Global Brand Leadership,author of The Network Is Your Customer "The Hyper-Social Organization is not simply a guide to navigate through the fundamental and far-reaching transformations of today caused by social media, but it also provides insight into how to optimize and profit from it." -- Mark Yolton, senior vice president, SAP "To the extent that we can be ''human'' with what we know—and share it as freely as we possibly can—we''ll go along way toward fostering a deeper level of trust with consumers. The Hyper-Social Organization not only explains why that happens--it also provides a road map for how to embed it in all your customer-facing processes." -- Barry Judge, CMO, Best Buy "Rather than getting hung up on the ''media'' side of social media, Gossieaux and Moran have figured out thatthe real killer app is the ability to create a 1:1 communication between your customers and your brand." -- Marty St. George, CMO, JetBlue "With this book''s simple yet profound prescriptions for all parts of the organization, Francois Gossieaux and Ed Moran have distilled the chaos, excitement, and fear business is feeling from a world gone social into an elegant framework of understanding. (And I’m buying books for my whole tribe.)" -- Janet Swaysland, SVP of Social Media, Monster.com About the Book: Facebook. Twitter. YouTube. LinkedIn. Unless you''re living in the Stone Age, it''s hard to ignore all the social networking tools that have taken the world by storm. To keep up--and stay competitive--you need to rethink how your organization interacts with this brave new world. You need to stop marketing to consumers and start socializingwith communities who know what they like and aren''t afraid to share it. You need to understand the power of social media—and use it to your best advantage. You need The Hyper-Social Organization. Based on the famous "Tribalization of Business Study"--a wide-ranging annual survey conducted by Francois Gossieaux of Beeline Labs and Ed Moran of Deloitte--this is the definitive guide to using social media for organizational success. The book''s surprising findings and in-depth interviews will challenge everything you know aboutcorporate-consumer relations—starting with The5 Steps to Being Hyper-Social: Forget technology—understand thefour drivers of successful communities. Forget market segments and consumers—think tribes and humans. Forget company-centricity— think human-centricity. Forget channels—think networks. Forget process and hierarchies— think social messiness. Social media is changing the world as we know it. This book shows you how to change your organization and be on the leading edge of the movement. Instead of marketing to general target groups, Gossieaux and Moran reveal how you can refocus your efforts to home in on what matters most to people—the communities or "tribes" that are at the core of their "identities"—and unite them through their shared passions, problems, responsibilities, wants, and needs. You''ll discover how to establish a real human presence on the Web and in social media communities and sites toopen up a naturally flowing, mutual—and mutually beneficial—exchange of ideas and information. And you''ll see what leading companies like Amazon, Netflix, Microsoft, IBM, Marriott, Eli Lilly, and others are doing right—and how you can do it too. Best of all, you''ll hear fascinating, in-depth interviews with today''s trendsettersabout what their businesses are doing to become Hyper-Social. Being social has always played a key role in success. Being a Hyper-Social organization will take youto the next level.

Cover Art
Inbound Marketing: Get Found Using Google, Social Media and Blogs - Brian Halligan; David Meerman Scott
Call Number: HF 5415.1265 .H353 2010
ISBN: 9780470499313
Publication Date: 2009
Stop pushing your message "out" and start pulling your customers "in"Traditional "outbound" marketing methods like cold-calling, email blasts, advertising, and direct mail are increasingly less effective. People are getting better at blocking these interruptions out using Caller ID, spam protection, TiVo, etc. People are now increasingly turning to Google, social media, and blogs to find products and services. "Inbound Marketing" helps you take advantage of this change by showing you how to get found by customers online."Inbound Marketing" is a how-to guide to getting found via Google, the blogosphere, and social media sites. - Improve your rankings in Google to get more traffic - Build and promote a blog for your business - Grow and nurture a community in Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter, etc. - Measure what matters and do more of what works onlineThe rules of marketing have changed, and your business can benefit from this change." Inbound Marketing" shows you how to get found by more prospects already looking for what you have to sell.

Cover Art
Internet Marketing Research - Ook Lee (Ed.)
Call Number: HF 5415.1265 .L43 2001
ISBN: 1878289977
Publication Date: 2000
This book deals with the timely topics of Internet marketing research. Internet marketing has become an important aspect of e-commerce and various concepts/strategies were implemented to support marketing on the Net. However, discovering what's really working or not in Internet marketing requires whole new approaches of quantitative/empirical methods.Internet Marketing Research: Theory and Practice presents a collection that provides the rigorous tests of the Internet marketing phenomenon.

Cover Art
Marketplace Lifestyles in an Age of Social Media: Theory and Methods - Lynn R. Kahle
ISBN: 9780765625625
Publication Date: 2012
You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Online Consumer Behavior: Theory and Research in Social Media, Advertising and e-tail - Angeline G. Close (Ed.)
ISBN: 9781848729698
Publication Date: 2012
Social media (e.g., Facebook, LinkedIn, Groupon, Twitter) have changed the way consumers and advertisers behave. It is crucial to understand how consumers think, feel and act regarding social media, online advertising, and online shopping. Business practitioners, students and marketers are trying to understand online consumer experiences that help instill brand loyalty. This book is one of the firstto present scholarly theory and research to help explain and predict online consumer behavior.

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
The New Community Rules: Marketing on the Social Web - Tamar Weinberg
Call Number: HF 5415.1265 .W45 2009
ISBN: 9780596156817
Publication Date: 2009
Blogs, networking sites, and other examples of the social web provide businesses with a largely untapped marketing channel for products and services. But how do you take advantage of them? With The New Community Rules, you'll understand how social web technologies work, and learn the most practical and effective ways to reach people who frequent these sites. Written by an expert in social media and viral marketing, this book cuts through the hype and jargon to give you intelligent advice and strategies for positioning your business on the social web, with case studies that show how other companies have used this approach. The New Community Rules will help you: Explore blogging and microblogging, and find out how to use applications such as Twitter to create brand awareness Learn the art of conversation marketing, and how social media thrives on honesty and transparency Manage and enhance your online reputation through the social web Tap into the increasingly influential video and podcasting market Discover which tactics work -- and which don't -- by learning about what other marketers have tried Many consumers today use the Web as a voice. The New Community Rules demonstrates how you can join the conversation, contribute to the community, and bring people to your product or service.

Cover Art
The New Rules of Marketing and PR: How to Use Social Media, Blogs, News Releases, ONline Video, & Viral Marketing to Reach Buyers Directly - David Meerman Scott
Call Number: HF 5415.1265 .S393 2010
ISBN: 9780470547816
Publication Date: 2010
A completely revised and updated edition of the BusinessWeek bestseller on effective, modern marketing and PR best practices The New Rules of Marketing and PR shows you how to leverage the potential that Web-based communication offers your business. Finally, you can speak directly to customers and buyers, establishing a personal link with the people who make your business work. This new second edition paperback keeps you up-to-date on the latest trends. New case studies and current examples are included to illustrate the very latest in marketing and PR trends Completely updated to reflect the latest marketing and PR techniques using social media sites such as Twitter, Facebook, and YouTube Includes a step-by-step action plan for harnessing the power of the Internet to communicate directly with buyers, increase sales, and raise online visibility David Meerman Scott is a renowned online marketing strategist, keynote speaker and the author of World Wide Rave, from Wiley The New Rules of Marketing and PR, Second Edition gives you all the information you need to craft powerful and effective marketing messages and get them to the right people at the right moment-at a fraction of the price of a traditional marketing campaign.

Cover Art
Paid, Owned, Earned: Maximizing Marketing Returns in a Socially Connected World - Nick Burcher
ISBN: 9780749465629
Publication Date: 2012
The complexity of media that now sees multiple channels accessed through multiple devices has created major challenges for today's marketing and advertising professionals. Consumer time is split between TVs, laptops, iPads, X-Boxes and smartphones, with traditional media, websites, videos, social networks and apps all competing for attention, meaning it's difficult for brands to decide how best to reach and engage their audiences. Paid, Owned, Earned defines the constituents of each area of 'paid', 'owned' and 'earned' media and shows how they are linked together. It proposes a blueprint for how to think and navigate across this space using a framework made up of key elements such as communities and content, social media optimisation, seeding and viral distribution, broadcast mass media, social performance media and measurement.

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Pimp My Site: Your DIY Guide to SEO, Search Marketing, Social Media & Online PR - Paula Wynne
ISBN: 9780857082503
Publication Date: 2012
A complete course in do-it-yourself digital marketing in 14 bite-sized lessons The global recession has sent tens of millions scrambling for alternative employment opportunities, and a great many of them have taken the leap into becoming their own bosses. As a result there is a crying need among small business startups, entrepreneurs, and independents working on a shoestring for expert guidance on marketing themselves and their businesses online. Pimp My Site fills that void. It is a complete, do-it-yourself toolkit structured as a fourteen-day course. Rather than fry readers' circuits with a lot of jargon-heavy technical descriptions, Paula Wynne, a successful publicist, marketer and award-winning online entrepreneur, takes a show-and-tell approach. Her step-by-step descriptions are concise and in plain English, and each step is illustrated with vivid screenshots and illustrations, making the coverage eminently digestible, even for complete novices. From keywords and YouTube to search marketing and optimization, Pimp My Site, offers much for beginners and advanced users alike. Notable experts describe, in their own words, quick, easy techniques for driving traffic to your site and achieving online success An excellent do-it-yourself resource for complete beginners as well as experienced users looking to plug a few holes in their online marketing know-how Provides practical coverage of all important trends and technologies, including optimization, search marketing, social media, YouTube, keywords, email marketing, and more.

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Return on Influence: The Revolutionary Power of Klout, Social Scoring and Influence Marketing - Mark Schaefer
Call Number: HM 742 .S33 2012
ISBN: 9780071791090
Publication Date: 2012
Winner of a Choice Magazine Outstanding Academic Title Award! We are on the cusp of a marketing revolution. And it is being led by you. Return on Influence is the first book to explore how brands are identifying and leveraging the world’s most powerful bloggers, tweeters, and YouTube celebrities to build product awareness, brand buzz, and new sales. In this revolutionary book, renowned marketing consultant and college educator Mark W. Schaefer shows you how to use the latest breakthroughs in social networking and influence marketing to achieve your goals through: In-depth explanations of the sources of online influence—and how they can work for or against you Interviews with more than 50 experts, including tech blogger Robert Scoble, Influence author Robert Cialdini, and industry thought leaders such as Mitch Joel, Jay Baer, and Christopher S. Penn An insider’s look at the controversial social scoring company Klout and its process for assigning influence numbers to everyone Practical, actionable tips to increase your own personal power and online influence More than a dozen original social influence marketing case studies Even if you already use social media platforms such as Facebook, LinkedIn, YouTube, Twitter, or blogging to maintain an online presence, this eye-opening, action-ready guide shows you how to reach the “superconnectors” who ignite epidemics through word-of-mouth influence . . . and become one yourself. This is the future of marketing at your fingertips: low-cost, high-speed, influence driven, and powerful. Filled with fascinating case studies, interviews, and insider advice, this essential guide prepares you for the next wave of social networking. This is how to win friends and influence people in the digital age—with a Return on Influence. Praise for Return on Influence: “Influence is the ability to cause, affect, or change behavior. Mark Schaefer helps you define the outcomes you wish to see . . . and measure them!” —Brian Solis, author of The End of Business as Usual “Schaefer’s book has earned its place on the shelf of anyone looking to find influencers—or become one.” —Harold Burson, founder, Burson-Marsteller “Return on Influence is definitive, exciting, and endlessly practical. In an age where marketing budgets are tight and getting tighter, social media—and particularly influence marketing—has become the silver bullet to solve all problems. Consider this book the marksmen’s manual.” —Rick Wion, Director of Social Media, McDonald’s “I could not stop reading this book. Mark Schaefer demystifies the power of influence in this insider’s guide to combining content strategy with network interactions to create social conversations that move markets.” —Ardath Albee, author of eMarketing Strategies for the Complex Sale “A fascinating exploration at how you track and increase your online influence. Real-world strategies for real-world companies.” —Randy Gage, author of Prosperity Mind

Cover Art
ROI of Social Media: How to Omprove the Return on Your Social Marketing Investment - Guy Powell; Steven Groves; Jerry Dimos
ISBN: 9780470827413
Publication Date: 2011-03-22
The ROI of Social Media uncovers the tactics and tools used by the largest and most successful corporations and agencies to monitor and measure the return on their investments in social media. Guy R. Powell, Steven W. Groves and Jerry Dimos have done the hard work to uncover and reveal the secrets the big boys use so you don't have to. It includes an 8-Step process for marketers to set up their social media metrics and calculate ROI and a readily referenced 'Media Engagement Framework' that encompasses traditional and social marketing in a holistic approach. Case studies cover large and small consumer marketers, large and small business-to-business marketers, and social media tools developers in the US, Europe & Asia. The case studies include companies from Asia, Europe and North America and markets as diverse as fast moving consumer goods (FMCG), consumer packaged goods (CPG), media, technology and ecommerce.

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Search and Social: The Definitive Guide to Real-time Content Marketing - Rob Garner
ISBN: 9781118287217
Publication Date: 2012
This is a hands-on guide to building a successful real-time content marketing platform. It shows you how to develop, implement, monitor, and optimize tactics for developing a strategic plan that encompasses content, platform, and community management. Including up-to-date tools and technologies, this book explains how to use the right tools for everything from creating search and social content to effectively using social media platforms. You will learn the exact areas where search and social overlap, and how to shift to a real-time and participatory approach in your publishing efforts.

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Social Marketing and Social Change - R. Craig Lefebvre
ISBN: 9781118221501
Publication Date: 2013
How can we facilitate more effective, efficient, equitable and sustainable solutions to the problems that confound our communities and world? Social marketing guru R. Craig LeFebvre weaves together multi-level theories of change, research and case studies to explain and illustrate the development of social marketing to address some of society's most vexing problems. The result is a people-centered approach that relies on insight and empathy as much as on data for the inspiration, design and management of programs that strive for changes for good. This text is ideal for students and professionals in health, nonprofit, business, social services, and other areas. "This is it -- the comprehensive, brainy road map for tackling wicked social problems. It's all right here: how to create and innovate, build and implement, manage and measure, scale up and sustain programs that go well beyond influencing individual behaviors, all the way to broad social change in a world that needs the help."--Bill Novelli, Professor, McDonough School of Business, Georgetown University, former CEO, AARP and founder, Porter Novelli and the Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids "I'm unaware of a more substantive treatise on social marketing and social change. Theoretically based; pedagogically focused; transdisciplinary; innovative; and action oriented: this book is right for our time, our purpose, and our future thinking and action."--Robert Gold, MS, PhD, Professor of Public Health and Former Dean of the School of Public Health at the University of Maryland, College Park "This book -- like its author -- is innovative and forward-looking, yet also well-grounded in the full range of important social marketing fundamentals."--Edward Maibach, MPH, PhD, University Professor and Director, Center for Climate Change Communication, George Mason University

You must log into the ebrary database to access the book off campus.

Cover Art
The Social Media 101: Tactics and Tips to Develop YOur Business Online - Chris Brogan
Call Number: HF 5415.1265 .B758 2010
ISBN: 9780470563410
Publication Date: 2010
With more than 200 million copies of his novels sold, Dean Koontz is an undisputed master. And in The Vision, he once again displays the talent that led the Chicago Sun-Times to call him "brilliant"--and the San Diego Union-Tribune to praise his "always riveting" writing and his "wonderfully fiendish" plots. The Vision--one of Dean Koontz' early novels--is a chilling look into the paranormal and what occurs when a psychic channels the mind of a crazed killer.Mary Bergen, a gifted clairvoyant, uses her psychic ability and haunting visions to help the police solve crimes both past and present while feeling powerless to stop the murders, until she envisions her own death.

Cover Art
The Social Media Bible: Tactics. Tools, & Stragegies for Business Success - Lon Safko
ISBN: 9781118269749
Publication Date: 2012
An investigation into the affairs of a company or an aspect of those affairs by the Department of Trade and Industry (DTI) can have far-reaching implications for those involved. This includes,for example, directors' disqualification proceedings and criminal prosecution. In recent years the number of investigations has increased substantially; in 1996/7 the DTI formally considered more than 1,300 cases. Over 400 investigations under the Companies Acts, section 44 of the Insurance Companies Act 1982 and section 177 of the Financial Services Act 1986 (insider dealing) were commenced in the same period. The book places these statutory investigations in their public law context, examining in detail the public law principles governing such matters as public interest immunity and procedural fairness. It also analyses the European Convention on Human Rights cases on investigations and the use of evidence and explains the implications for domestic law.This book examines the company investigation system, and will be a valuable vade mecum for investigators appointed by the DTI or for witnesses to an investigation. It is a unique work of reference and analysis, written by a leading practitioner in this area, and will rapidly become established as the leading work in this area.Table of ContentsIntroduction; Historical Background; The Investigations Handbook; The Investigation of Investigations; The Conduct of Investigations; Obtaining Evidence; Preparation of Reports and Procedural Fairness; Disclosure of Information Received During the Course of an Investigation; The Publication of Reports; The Expenses of Investigations; The Link with Other Investigations; Subsequent Action by the Secretary of State; The Use of Evidence and Reports in Civil and Criminal Proceedings; Proposal for Reform; Appendix - Relevant Statutory Provisions

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
The Social Media Marketing Book - Dan Zarrella
Call Number: HF 5415.1265 .Z37 2010
ISBN: 9780596806606
Publication Date: 2009
Are you looking to take advantage of social media for your business or organization? With easy-to-understand introductions to blogging, forums, opinion and review sites, and social networks such as Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn, this book will help you choose the best -- and avoid the worst -- of the social web's unique marketing opportunities. The Social Media Marketing Book guides you through the maze of communities, platforms, and social media tools so you can decide which ones to use, and how to use them most effectively. With an objective approach and clear, straightforward language, Dan Zarrella, aka "The Social Media & Marketing Scientist," shows you how to plan and implement campaigns intelligently, and then measure results and track return on investment. Whether you're a seasoned pro or new to the social web, this book will take you beyond the jargon to social media marketing mastery. Make sense of this complicated environment with the help of screenshots, graphs, and visual explanations Understand the history and culture of each social media type, including features, functionality, and protocols Get clear-cut explanations of the methods you need to trigger viral marketing successes Choose the technologies and marketing tactics most relevant to your campaign goals Learn how to set specific goals for your campaigns and evaluate them according to key performance indicators Praise for The Social Media Marketing Book: "Let Zarrella take you to social-media marketing school. You'll learn more from reading this book than a month of research on the Internet." --Guy Kawasaki, co-founder of Alltop.com "If I could be any other person for a day, it would be Dan Zarella. Either him or Brad Pitt. But Dan's smarter. This book is why I say that." --Chris Brogan, President of New Marketing Labs "This book demonstrates a beginning to the endless possibilities of the Social Web." -- Brian Solis, publisher of leading marketing blog PR 2.0

Cover Art
The Social Media MBA: YOur Competitive Edge in Social Media Strategy Development and Delivery - Christer Holloman
ISBN: 9781119967224
Publication Date: 2012
It's a fact that companies so far have only scratched the surface of what can be achieved with social media. Whatever continent, industry, company size, current degree of social media adoption or your job title, the purpose of this book is to inspire you to see how you can raise the bar further to reap new rewards. It will give you the tools to make a difference to your organisation's social media strategy development and delivery going forward. In addition it will also give you more intellectual support and confidence to discuss social media on a higher level with peers, inspire colleagues or negotiate and create support for increased investments from your leadership team. In The Social Media MBA editor Christer Holloman has crowd sourced 15 thought leaders from 4 continents to offer an exceptional educational programme written for experienced social media professionals just like you. In addition, learn through cases studies produced by the social leaders at these brands: ARM by Kerry McGuire Balanza - Director of Strategic Marketing Aviva by Jan Gooding - Global Brand Director Dell by Stuart Handley - Communications Director Evans Cycles by Will Lockie - Head of Social Media GlaxoSmithKlein (Ribena) by Verity Clifton - Brand Marketing Manager Kodak by Madlen Nicolaus - Social Media Manager Phillips by Hans Notenboom - Global Director B2B Online Sage by Cath Sheldon - Online PR Specialist There is more, connect with the co-authors and other readers by joining The Social Media MBA Alumi group, visit http://www.socialmedia-mba.com or search or the group on LinkedIn to stay updated on the latest, ask questions or join the discussions.

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Social TV: How Marketers Can Reach and Engage Audiences by Connecting Television to the Web, Social Media, and Mobile - Mike Proulx; Stacey Shepatin
ISBN: 9781118167465
Publication Date: 2012
The Internet didn't kill TV! It has become its best friend. Americans are watching more television than ever before, and we're engaging online at the same time we're tuning in. Social media has created a new and powerful ?backchannel?, fueling the renaissance of live broadcasts. Mobile and tablet devices allow us to watch and experience television whenever and wherever we want. And ?connected TVs? blend web and television content into a unified big screen experience bringing us back into our living rooms. Social TV examines the changing (and complex) television landscape and helps brands navigate its many emerging and exciting marketing and advertising opportunities. Social TV topics include: Leveraging the ?second screen? to drive synched and deeper brand engagement Using social ratings analytics tools to find and target lean-forward audiences Aligning brand messaging to content as it travels time-shifted across devices Determining the best strategy to approach marketing via connected TVs Employing addressable TV advertising to maximize content relevancy Testing and learning from the most cutting-edge emerging TV innovations The rise of one technology doesn't always mean the end of another. Discover how this convergence has created new marketing opportunities for your brand.

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Tactical Transparency: How Leaders Can Leverage Social Media to Maximize Value and Build Their Brand - Shel Holtz; John C. Havens; Lynne D. Johnson (Foreword by); International Association of Business Communicators Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: HF 5415.5 .H585 2009
ISBN: 9780470293706
Publication Date: 2008
While exposing the risks inherent in maintaining a nontransparent relationship with customers, Tactical Transparency provides a methodology that will help your organization create its unique plan to bring greater authenticity to your company and your brands. Drawn largely from interviews with leaders in companies that have achieved measurable success in this arena, authors Shel Holtz and John C. Havens provide step-by-step details on how executives and professional communicators can create a transparency strategy that will keep their organization competitive in the twenty-first century. The authors show how organizations can evaluate their readiness for transparency, what they need to do to get ready, and how to effectively communicate their transparency strategy to their customers and employees. They also identify aspects of blog/new media "netiquette" an important but often misunderstood part of engaging in transparency. Your purchase of Tactical Transparency Includes a One Year Subscription to Fast Company ($10 value). View the refund/promotion details here .

Cover Art
The Third Screen: Marketing to Your Customers in a World Gone Mobile - Chuck Martin
ISBN: 9781857889079
Publication Date: 2011
You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Twitter Power: How to Dominae YOur Market One Tweet at a Time - Joel Comm; Ken Burge;
Call Number: HF 5415.1265 .C646 2009
ISBN: 9780470458426
Publication Date: 2009
Cutting edge business-persons are leveraging the power of Twitter to introduce themselves to and communicate with customers in a whole new way that makes them feel like valued friends. Companies are building a following, exercising teambuilding, branding themselves and their products and/or services, selling more, and demonstrating how the technology can become the ultimate help desk for providing excellent customer service. In this book, Joel Comm explains step-by-step how business owners can reap these benefits of Twitter, from signing up and building a page, to sending effective messages ("tweets") in order to build a brand, to implementing a successful blog strategy that is Twitter-driven. Included are case studies of some of Twitter's greatest success stories, which can be easily duplicated.

Cover Art
The Ultimate Web Marketing Guide - Michael Miller
Call Number: HF 5415.1265 .M555 2011
ISBN: 9780789741004
Publication Date: 2010
EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT WEB, MOBILE, & SOCIAL MARKETING! Your expert, up-to-the-minute, A-Z reference & how-to guide Choose the right goals, media, & tools Plan, execute, measure, & optimize Avoid costly mistakes! Now, one amazing book brings together ALL the reliable, detailed information you need to make the most of web, online, mobile, and social marketing.   It's ALL here: SEO, pay-per-click, mobile marketing, social media marketing, "PR 2.0," analytics, email marketing, YouTube videos, Twitter and Facebook, blogs, podcasts, and much more. Discover how to choose the right approaches, combine them into a coherent, optimized strategy, and measure your results. Find realistic answers to your most crucial questions...get "from the trenches" insights that save you money...learn to drive more value faster.   THE ONLY COMPLETE WEB MARKETING REFERENCE YOU NEED. CUTTING-EDGE COVERAGE OF THESE TOPICS AND MUCH MORE: Creating effective web/online marketing plans and budgets Integrating online and traditional marketing Designing great sites--including ecommerce sites Getting actionable answers from web analytics Profiting from search engine marketing (SEM) and optimization (SEO) Executing winning pay-per-click and display ad campaigns Developing effective email lists and campaigns Building two-way conversations with customers and prospects Marketing on Facebook, Twitter, and other social media Creating an online PR media room Marketing through YouTube and podcasts Selling through iPhone and Android apps Managing web/online marketing coherently and efficiently Tracking performance--and improving it!   Technical accuracy guaranteed by Econsultancy's Rebecca Lieb

Cover Art
Understanding Digital Marketing: Marketing Strategies for Engaging the Digital Generation - Damian Ryan; Calvin Jones
Call Number: HF 5415.1265 .R93 2009
ISBN: 9780749453893
Publication Date: 2009
The world of digital media is changing at a phenomenal pace. Its constantly evolving technologies, and the way people are using them, is transforming not just how we access our information, but how we interact and communicate with one another on a global scale. Understanding Digital Marketing looks at the world of digital marketing: how it got started, how it got to where it is today, and where the thought leaders in the industry believe that it is headed in the future. The book will show you, in a practical and comprehensive way, how to harness the power of digital media and use it to achieve the utmost success for your business, now and in the future. Understanding Digital Marketing will help you: - choose online marketing channels to get your products and services to market; - understand the origins of digital marketing and the trends shaping its future; - achieve the competitive edge to keep you ahead of the pack; The book will explore in detail such areas as search marketing, affiliate marketing, e-mail marketing, creative online executions, and digital marketing strategies. Including real-world examples of digital marketing successes and expert opinions, Understanding Digital Marketing will give you the tools to utilize the power of the internet to take your business wherever you want it to go.

Cover Art
We First: How Brands and Consumers Use Social Meida to Build a Better World - Simon Mainwaring
Call Number: HD 60 .M327 2011
ISBN: 9780230110267
Publication Date: 2011
A social media expert with global experience with many of the world's biggest brands - including Nike, Toyota and Motorola - Simon Mainwaring offers a visionary new practice in which brands leverage social media to earn consumer goodwill, loyalty and profit, while creating a third pillar of sustainable social change through conscious contributions from customer purchases. These innovative private sector partnerships answer perhaps the most pressing issue facing business and thought leaders today: how to practice capitalism in a way that satisfies the need for both profit and a healthy, sustainable planet. Mainwaring provides case studies from companies such as P&G, Walmart, Starbucks, Pepsi, Coca-Cola, Toyota, Nike, Whole Foods, Patagonia, and Nestle as well as a bold plan for how corporations need to rethink their strategies.

Cover Art
Working the Crowd: Social Media Marketing for Business - Eileen Brown
ISBN: 9781780171272
Publication Date: 2012
Engaging with social media such as Facebook, and Twitter is now a key part of global business communications. Blogs, social networking and social news sites have become the new tools for effective marketing and sales. This book is an excellent resource for anyone planning a social media strategy or campaign. It includes: sites and blogs for networking; social media brands and reputation; legal issues. This new edition covers the latest thinking, practices and technology such as Google+.

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
George Libbey
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip