This is the "Quantitative Research" page of the "Marketing Research Methodology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Marketing Research Methodology  

Last Updated: Jan 8, 2015 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/content.php?pid=546892 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Quantitative Research Print Page
  Search: 
 
 
 

Books

Cover Art
Advanced Quantitative Data Analysis - Cramer
ISBN: 9780335224661
Publication Date: 2003
*What do advanced statistical techniques do? *When is it appropriate to use them? *How are they carried out and reported? There are a variety of statistical techniques used to analyse quantitative data that masters students, advanced undergraduates and researchers in the social sciences are expected to be able to understand and undertake. This book explains these techniques, when it is appropriate to use them, how to carry them out and how to write up the results. Most books which describe these techniques do so at too advanced or technical a level to be readily understood by many students who need to use them. In contrast the following features characterise this book: - concise and accessible introduction to calculating and interpreting advanced statistical techniques - use of a small data set of simple numbers specifically designed to illustrate the nature and manual calculation of the most important statistics in each technique - succinct illustration of writing up the results of these analyses - minimum of mathematical, statistical and technical notation - annotated bibliography and glossary of key concepts Commonly used software is introduced, and instructions are presented for carrying out analyses and interpreting the output using the computer programs of SPSS Release 11 for Windows and a version of LISREL 8.51, which is freely available online. Designed as a textbook for postgraduate and advanced undergraduate courses across the socio-behavioural sciences, this book will also serve as a personal reference for researchers in disciplines such as sociology and psychology.

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Are You Being Served? - Samia Amin (Editor); Jishnu Das (Editor); Markus Goldstein (Editor)
ISBN: 9780821371862
Publication Date: 2007
This publication presents tools and techniques for measuring service delivery in health and education and people's experiences from the field in deploying these methods.

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Foundations of Mixed Methods Research - Abbas Tashakkori; Charles B. Teddlie
Call Number: H 62 .T294 2009
ISBN: 9780761930112
Publication Date: 2008
Mixed methodology has become an increasingly popular way of both researching and teaching methodology across the social sciences, and students across these fields are expected to be proficient in both quantitative and qualitative techniques. This text begins with an introduction to and overview of the development of mixed methodology, and then takes students through all aspects of working with mixed methods from research design and data collection through to analysis and conclusions.

Cover Art
The Handbook of Online and Social Media Research - Ray Poynter
Call Number: HF 5415.2 .P66 2010
ISBN: 9780470710401
Publication Date: 2010
Drawing together the new techniques available to the market researcher into a single reference, The Handbook of Online and Social Media Research explores how these innovations are being used by the leaders in the field. This groundbreaking reference examines why traditional research is broken, both in theory and practice, and includes chapters on online research communities, community panels, blog mining, social networks, mobile research, e-ethnography, predictive markets, and DIY research. ?This handbook fills a significant learning gap for the market research profession and Ray Poynter has once again proven that he is a guiding light. The practical and pragmatic advice contained within these pages will be relevant to new students of research, young researchers and experienced researchers that want to understand the basics of online and social media research. Ray's views on ?how to be better with people? and ?how to maximise response rates? are vital clues that are likely to shape the future of market and social research.' Peter Harris, National President, Australian Market and Social Research Society (AMSRS).  ?It's hard to imagine anyone better suited to covering the rapidly changing world of online research than Ray Poynter. In this book he shows us why. Whether you are new to online or a veteran interested in broadening your understanding of the full range of techniques'quant and qual'this book is for you.' Reg Baker, President and Chief Operating Officer, Market Strategies International  ?Finally, a comprehensive handbook for practitioners, clients, suppliers and students that includes best practices, clear explanations, advice and cautionary warnings. This should be the research benchmark for online research for some time. Poynter proves he is the online market research guru.' Cam Davis, Ph.D., former Dean and current instructor of the online market research course for the Canadian Marketing Research and Intelligence Association  ?Ray Poynter's comprehensive, authoritative, easy to read, and knowledgeable handbook has come to our rescue ... it is a must read for anyone who needs to engage with customers or stakeholders in a creative, immediate and flexible way that makes maximum use of all the exciting, new technology now open to us. Market researchers need to know this stuff now. I can guarantee that anyone who buys the book will find it a compelling read: they will be constantly turning to the next page in order to find yet another nugget of insight from Ray's tour de force.' Dr David Smith, Director, DVL Smith Ltd; Professor, University of Hertfordshire, Business School  

Cover Art
Internet Data Collection - Samuel J. Best; Brian S. Krueger
Call Number: ZA 4228 .B47 2004
ISBN: 9780761927105
Publication Date: 2004
Designed for researchers and students alike, the volume describes how to perform each stage of the data collection process on the Internet, including sampling, instrument design, and administration. Through the use of non-technical prose and illustrations, it details the options available, describes potential dangers in choosing them, and provides guidelines for sidestepping them. In doing so, though, it does not simply reiterate the practices of traditional communication modes, but approaches the Internet as a unique medium that necessitates its own conventions.

Cover Art
Market Intelligence: How and Why Organizations Use Market Research - Martin Callingham
ISBN: 9780749442019
Publication Date: 2004
One of the biggest problems facing organisations that commission market research is ensuring that they get the research they want and that the research is relevant to the organisation. There are many different approaches that can be taken for any one piece of research and it is crucial for an organisation to get this right. Failure to do so can lead to substantial pain in the debriefing meeting and quite possibly failure and wasted budgets. Market Intelligence examines the clientside perspective of market research and describes the pitfalls and problems when commissioning and briefing market research. Market Intelligence is fully international in scope and offers comparative examples and case studies from Europe and the US. The book also outlines Data Protection legislation and details the professional ethics incorporated in the MRS Code of Conduct. This is an invaluable guide for students, market researchers and non-professional researchers.

You must log into the EBSCOHost eBook Collection to access this book from off campus.

Measurement Made Accessible - D. Lynn Kelley
Call Number: QA 276 .K254 1999
ISBN: 0761910239
Publication Date: 1999
When students truly understand the mathematical concepts, it′s magic. Students who use this text are motivated to learn mathematics. They become more confident and are better able to appreciate the beauty and excitement of the mathematical world. That′s why the new Ninth Edition of Musser, Burger, and Peterson′s best-selling textbook focuses on one primary goal: helping students develop a true understanding of central concepts using solid mathematical content in an accessible and appealing format. The components in this complete learning program;from the textbook, to the eManipulative activities, to the online problem-solving tools and the resource-rich website;work in harmony to help achieve this goal.

Cover Art
More Guerrilla Marketing Research - Robert J. Kaden; Gerald Linda; Jay Conrad Levinson
Call Number: HF 5415.2 .K245 2009
ISBN: 9780749455477
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
More Guerrilla Marketing Research, the follow-up title to Guerrilla Marketing Research destroys the myth that only big companies can afford marketing research. The new book focuses on why small and mid-sized businesses can benefit from conducting focus groups and surveys - and how they can do it, by asking the right questions, the right way, and effectively using the answers to make more money. Authored by Robert J.Kaden, Gerald Linda and Jay Conrad Levinson, More Guerrilla Marketing Research includes new and updated material on setting research goals and objectives; how to set a research budget; secondary research; qualitative research; research into emotions; customer satisfaction research; and the future of marketing research. This compelling book will take readers on a fascinating journey through one of the most misunderstood and under-utilized marketing techniques. The secrets unveiled and the tips offered will benefit the most sceptical business owner, manager or entrepreneur.

Cover Art
Practical Research and Evaluation - Colin McCaig (Editor); Lena Dahlberg (Editor)
Call Number: H 62 .P654 2010
ISBN: 9781847870032
Publication Date: 2010
Practical Research and Evaluation is a practical, user-friendly guide to social science research methods for professionals who are looking to conduct evaluation studies and research as part of their own professional practice. Accessible and relevant to practitioners, this book utilizes non-technical language and employs grounded examples, practical tips, checklists and reading lists e"ideal for 'Do-it-Yourself' researchers working in the public or voluntary sectors.

Cover Art
The Practice of Social Research - Earl R. Babbie
Call Number: H 62 .B2 2010
ISBN: 0495598410
Publication Date: 2009
Known as the gold standard of research methods texts, THE PRACTICE OF SOCIAL RESEARCH, 12th Edtion, is a comprehensive, straightforward introduction to the field of research as practiced by social scientists. This best-selling text emphasizes the research process by showing readers how to design research studies, introducing the various observation modes in use today, and answering questions about research methods--such as how to conduct online surveys and analyze both qualitative and quantitative data. THE PRACTICE OF SOCIAL RESEARCH provides the tools readers need to apply social research concepts inside the classroom and out, and as both researchers and consumers. Benefits: NEW Introduce students to the sensitivities around social research with a new section on research ethics at the end of each chapter. Provide the best faculty and student support package in the research methods course market. No other text has the depth and breadth of the supplemental support package for THE PRACTICE OF SOCIAL RESEARCH. NEW Develop better sensitivity around social research with a new section on research ethics at the end of each chapter. NEW Learn how to create a research proposal with new skill-building exercises in each chapter. You will prepare different sections of a proposal in each chapter, applying specific chapter concepts. Then, in Chapter 17, you review the full proposal pulled together in its final form. NEW Discuss key qualitative researchers and their work with the new "Keeping Humanity in Focus" box feature. Profiles of exciting new researchers include Kathryn Edin, Maria Kefalas, Elijah Anderson, Rachel Sherman, Kristen Schilt, and Sudhir Venkatesh. NEW Empower yourself with hands-on "How To Do It" boxes and their practical research topics, including: Framing a Hypothesis, Identifying the Unit of Analysis, How to Design a Research Project, Using a Table of Random Numbers, Conducting an Online Survey, Establishing Rapport,

Cover Art
Quantitative Data Analysis Using Spss - Greasley
ISBN: 9780335235148
Publication Date: 2007
"This is an ideal introductory book for budding researchers who are embarking on the development and then analysis of data, and in this case, more specifically questionnaires using partly or exclusively closed questions amenable to statistical analysis." Primary Health Care Research and Development "The text is a welcome addition for nursing students at both undergraduate and postgraduate level research. Having reviewed the text I can only inform you how a student described a chapter in the book recently when she borrowed it. 'The language is clear and unambiguous'. I will be strongly encouraging students to either purchase the text ... with the purpose of giving them a foundation in statistics." William Evans, Institute of Technology Tralee, Ireland This accessible book is essential reading for those looking for a short and simple guide to basic data analysis. Written for the complete beginner, the book is the ideal companion when undertaking quantitative data analysis for the first time using SPSS. The book uses a simple example of quantitative data analysis that would be typical to the health field to take you through the process of data analysis step by step. The example used is a doctor who conducts a questionnaire survey of 30 patients to assess a specific service. The data from these questionnaires is given to you for analysis, and the book leads you through the process required to analyse this data. Handy screenshots illustrate each step of the process so you can try out the analysis for yourself, and apply it to your own research with ease. Topics covered include: Questionnaires and how to analyse them Coding the data for SPSS, setting up an SPSS database and entering the data Descriptive statistics and illustrating the data using graphs Cross-tabulation and the Chi-square statistic Correlation: examining relationships between interval data Examining differences between two sets of scores Reporting the results and presenting the data Quantitative Data Analysis Using SPSSis helpful for any students in health and social sciences with little or no experience of quantitative data analysis and statistics.

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Quantitative Models in Marketing Research - Philip Hans Franses; Richard Paap
ISBN: 9780511153457
Publication Date: 2001
This book presents important and practically relevant quantitative models used for marketing research.

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Quantitative Models in Marketing Research - Philip Hans Franses; Richard Paap
ISBN: 9780511153457
Publication Date: 2001
This book presents important and practically relevant quantitative models used for marketing research.

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Quantitative Research Methods for Communication - Jason S. Wrench; James C. McCroskey; Virginia Peck Richmond; Candice Thomas-Maddox
Call Number: P 91.3 .Q36 2008
ISBN: 9780195337471
Publication Date: 2008
Conducting research can be one of the most fascinating--and intimidating--tasks for students and scholars. A relevant and accessible guide to quantitative research, Quantitative Research Methods for Communication: A Hands-On Approach offers an innovative and insightful look at this complexsubject. Drawing on their extensive research and teaching experience in the field of communication, authors Jason S. Wrench, Candice Thomas-Maddox, Virginia Peck Richmond, and James C. McCroskey have compiled their diverse, acclaimed work into one comprehensive volume. In clear, straightforward language, the authors encourage students to take an active, hands-on role in the learning process, giving them the tools they need to locate, conduct, collect, and present their research. Students are not only introduced to new skills, but they also have the opportunity toimmediately apply them in research scenarios. Beginning with a brief history of social science research, the text incorporates the following resources: * An introduction to the fundamentals of communication research, from library skills to basic mathematical concepts * An examination of the three most common techniques used in communication research: survey, content analysis, and experiment * A sophisticated analysis of sampling and hypothesis testing * A step-by-step introduction to statistical tools * Guided research assignments based on actual data-driven research questions * In-depth analyses of articles that feature statistical tests * A guide to presenting research findings, from delivering research papers at conferences to submitting original research for publication The text integrates rich pedagogical features throughout, including chapter objectives, case studies, data sheets, and lists of key terms. The accompanying CD-ROM offers many helpful tools, including ten articles originally published by the Eastern Communication Association and a Student Workbook.An invaluable resource for gathering and processing information in the twenty-first century, Quantitative Research Methods for Communication equips students with the skills--and confidence--to produce their own cutting-edge research.

Cover Art
Quantitative and Statistical Research Methods: From Hypothesis to Results - William E. Martin; Krista D. Bridgmon
ISBN: 9780470631829
Publication Date: 2012
Quantitative and Statistical Research Methodsoffers a guide for psychology, counseling, and education studentsĀ inĀ the use of statistics and research designs, combined with guidance on using SPSS in the course of their research. Each chapter covers a research problem, taking the student through identifying research questions and hypotheses; identifying, classifying, and operationally defining the study variables; choosing appropriate research designs; conducting power analysis; choosing an appropriate statistic for the problem; using a data set; conducting data screening and analyses (SPSS); interpreting the statistics; and writing the results related to the problem. Designed so students will know how to plan research and conduct statistical analyses using several different procedures.

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
George Libbey
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip