This is the "Statistics" page of the "Marketing Research Methodology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Marketing Research Methodology  

Last Updated: Jan 8, 2015 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/content.php?pid=546892 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Statistics Print Page
  Search: 
 
 
 

Books

Cover Art
Analysis of Multivariate Social Science Data - David J. Bartholomew; Irini Moustaki; Jane Galbraith; Fiona Steele
Call Number: HA 29 .A5824 2008
ISBN: 9781584889601
Publication Date: 2008
Drawing on the authors' varied experiences working and teaching in the field, Analysis of Multivariate Social Science Data, Second Editionenables a basic understanding of how to use key multivariate methods in the social sciences. With updates in every chapter, this edition expands its topics to include regression analysis, confirmatory factor analysis, structural equation models, and multilevel models. After emphasizing the summarization of data in the first several chapters, the authors focus on regression analysis. This chapter provides a link between the two halves of the book, signaling the move from descriptive to inferential methods and from interdependence to dependence. The remainder of the text deals with model-based methods that primarily make inferences about processes that generate data. Relying heavily on numerical examples, the authors provide insight into the purpose and working of the methods as well as the interpretation of data. Many of the same examples are used throughout to illustrate connections between the methods. In most chapters, the authors present suggestions for further work that go beyond conventional exercises, encouraging readers to explore new ground in social science research. Requiring minimal mathematical and statistical knowledge, this book shows how various multivariate methods reveal different aspects of data and thus help answer substantive research questions.

Cover Art
The Cult of Statistical Significance - Deirdre Nansen McCloskey; Steve Ziliak
Call Number: HB 137 .Z55 2008
ISBN: 9780472070077
Publication Date: 2008
McCloskey and Ziliak have been pushing this very elementary, very correct, very important argument through several articles over several years and for reasons I cannot fathom it is still resisted. If it takes a book to get it across, I hope this book will do it. It ought to.Thomas Schelling, Distinguished University Professor, School of Public Policy, University of Maryland, and 2005 Nobel Prize Laureate in Economics With humor, insight, piercing logic and a nod to history, Ziliak and McCloskey show how economists and other scientists suffer from a mass delusion about statistical analysis. The quest for statistical significance that pervades science today is a deeply flawed substitute for thoughtful analysis. . . . Yet few participants in the scientific bureaucracy have been willing to admit what Ziliak and McCloskey make clear: the emperor has no clothes. Kenneth Rothman, Professor of Epidemiology, Boston University School of Health   The Cult of Statistical Significanceshows, field by field, how statistical significance, a technique that dominates many sciences, has been a huge mistake. The authors find that researchers in a broad spectrum of fields, from agronomy to zoology, employ testing that doesn't test and estimating; that doesn't estimate. The facts will startle the outside reader: how could a group of brilliant scientists wander so far from scientific magnitudes? This study will encourage scientists who want to know how to get the statistical sciences back on track and fulfill their quantitative promise. The book shows for the first time how wide the disaster is, and how bad for science, and it traces the problem to its historical, sociological, and philosophical roots.   Stephen T. Ziliak is the author or editor of many articles and two books. He currently lives in Chicago, where he is Professor of Economics at Roosevelt University. Deirdre N. McCloskey, Distinguished Professor of Economics, History, English, and Communication at the University of Illinois at Chicago, is the author of twenty books and three hundred scholarly articles. She has held Guggenheim and National Humanities Fellowships. She is best known forHow to Be Human* Though an Economist(University of Michigan Press, 2000) and her most recent book,The Bourgeois Virtues: Ethics for an Age of Commerce(2006).

Cover Art
The Cult of Statistical Significance - Deirdre Nansen McCloskey
ISBN: 9780472026104
Publication Date: 2008
You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Discovering Statistics Using SPSS: (and sex and drugs and rock n' roll) - Andy Field
Call Number: HA 32 .F54 2009
ISBN: 9781847879066
Publication Date: 2009
Tony C. Brown examines "the inescapable yet infinitely troubling figure of the not-quite-nothing" in Enlightenment attempts to think about the aesthetic and the savage. The various texts Brown considers--including the writings of Addison, Rousseau, Kant, and Defoe--turn to exotic figures in order to delimit the aesthetic, and to aesthetics in order to comprehend the savage. In his intriguing exploration Brown discovers that the primitive introduces into the aesthetic and the savage an element that proves necessary yet difficult to conceive. At its most profound, Brown explains, this element engenders a loss of confidence in one's ability to understand the human's relation to itself and to the world. That loss of confidence--what Brown refers to as a breach in anthropological security--traces to an inability to maintain a sense of self in the face of the New World. Demonstrating the impact of the primitive on the aesthetic and the savage, he shows how the eighteenth-century writers he focuses on struggle to define the human's place in the world. As Brown explains, these authors go back again and again to "exotic" examples from the New World--such as Indian burial mounds and Maori tattooing practice--making them so ubiquitous that they come to underwrite, even produce, philosophy and aesthetics.

Cover Art
Even You Can Learn Statistics - David Levine; David F. Stephan
Call Number: QA 276.12 .L485 2005
ISBN: 0131467573
Publication Date: 2004
Allows you to learn and understand statistics without being overwhelmed by math! bull; bull;By David Levine, the #1 best selling statistics author. bull;Explains how to perform common statistical tasks using Microsoft Excel or TI-83 Plus-compatible calculator. bull;Allows you to learn and apply the concepts without a lot of math, but also provides the mathematical foundations for those who want and need them.

Cover Art
Just Plain Data Analysis: Finding, Presenting, and Interpreting Social Science Data - Gary M. Klass
Call Number: HA 29 .K58 2008
ISBN: 9780742560529
Publication Date: 2008
"Just Plain Data Analysis is designed to teach students statistical literacy skills that they can use to evaluate and construct arguments about public affairs issues grounded in numerical evidence. Students will learn to find, interpret, and present commonly used social indicators, which are the quantitative measures of the performance of societies' institutions. Although critical for careful social science and research, these skills are not often covered in qualitative or quantitative research methods and statistics texts. Clear, concise, and readable, Just Plain Data Analysis will support students' work in a variety of courses, stimulate critical thinking, and be a helpful reference in future careers."--BOOK JACKET.

Cover Art
Practical Statistics - David Kremelberg
Call Number: HA 32 .K74 2011
ISBN: 9781412974943
Publication Date: 2010
Click on the Supplements tab above for further details on the different versions of SPSS programs. Making statistics--and statistical software--accessible and rewarding This book provides readers with step-by-step guidance on running a wide variety of statistical analyses in IBM® SPSS® Statistics, Stata, and other programs. Author David Kremelberg begins his user-friendly text by covering charts and graphs through regression, time-series analysis, and factor analysis. He provides a background of the method, then explains how to run these tests in IBM SPSS and Stata. He then progresses to more advanced kinds of statistics such as HLM and SEM, where he describes the tests and explains how to run these tests in their appropriate software including HLM and AMOS. This is an invaluable guide for upper-level undergraduate and graduate students across the social and behavioral sciences who need assistance in understanding the various statistical packages.

Cover Art
Social Statistics for a Diverse Society - Chava Frankfort-Nachmias; Anna Leon-Guerrero
Call Number: HA 29 .N25 2006
ISBN: 1412915171
Publication Date: 2005
The what and the why of statistics -- Organization of information -- Graphic presentation -- Measures of central tendency -- Measures of variability -- Relationships between two variables -- Measures of association for nominal and ordinal variables -- Regression and correlation -- Sampling -- Estimation -- Testing hypotheses

Cover Art
SPSS Basics - Holcomb; Zealure C. Holcomb
Call Number: HA 32 .H65 2009
ISBN: 1884585825
Publication Date: 2009

Cover Art
SPSS 16 Made Simple - Paul R. Kinnear; Colin D. Gray
Call Number: HA 32 .K553 2009
ISBN: 9781841697291
Publication Date: 2008
"SPSS 16 Made Simple is the latest edition of one of the most widely read textbooks in its field. This new edition maintains the book's friendly, practical and informal style, while at the same time keeping the reader abreast of the latest improvements in SPSS. Each statistical technique is presented in a realistic research context and is fully illustrated with screen shots of SPSS dialog boxes and output. The book also provides guidance on the choice of statistical techniques and advice on how to report the results of statistical analysis."--BOOK JACKET.

Cover Art
SPSS Essentials - John T. Kulas
Call Number: HA 32 .K85 2009
ISBN: 9780470226179
Publication Date: 2008
Written by a highly experienced researcher and teachers, this book provides a much-needed guide to the proper use of Statistical Package for the Social Sciences (SPSS) software in social research, particularly where data may not be presented in the most convenient way. The book focuses on data manipulations and covers the majority of real-world use of SPSS use. Among the book's many unique features are its 'syntax diary' method for organization of manipulations and analyses. Offers both novices and intermediate users a framework within which they can safely and comfortably work with SPSS.

Cover Art
SPSS 15. 0 Advanced Statistical Procedures Companion - Marija J. Norusis
Call Number: HA 32 .N653 2007
ISBN: 9780132447126
Publication Date: 2007
Look toSPSS 15.0 Advanced Statistical Procedures Companionfor statistical introductions to some of the more advanced procedures in SPSS, including loglinear and logit analysis for categorical data, multinomial, two-stage and weighted least-squares regression, Generalized Estimating Equations, Generalized Linear Model, Kaplan-Meier, actuarial and Cox models for analysis of time-to-event data, variance components analysis, and ALSCAL.

Statistical Methods for Organizational Research - Chris Dewberry
Call Number: HD 30.4 .D484 2004
ISBN: 0415334241
Publication Date: 2004

Cover Art
Statistical Methods for Practice and Research - Ajai S. Gaur; Sanjaya S. Gaur
Call Number: HA 32 .G38 2009
ISBN: 9788132101000
Publication Date: 2009
Much like Alice Liddell in Lewis Carroll’s Through the Looking Glass, multimedia artist Clifford Ross looks beyond the natural world to uncover another world bound only by the imagination, in which images are reversed and landscapes reimagined in ravishing color. A digital visionary, Ross uses methods old and new to produce exceptionally beautiful and radically redesigned conceptions of reality. In 2009, Ross was commissioned in collaboration with the fine art manufacturers at Franz Mayer of Munich to create a monumental public art project for the US Federal Courthouse in Austin, Texas. The culmination of this collaboration is a colorful twenty-eight-foot-square stained glass wall with built-in hydraulic doors opening into a large event space. This book documents the long process, which brought together architects, engineers, craftsmen, and government officials and combined centuries-old construction techniques with twenty-first-century digital technology. With one hundred full-color illustrations from all phases of the wall’s design and construction, ranging from photographs to pencil sketches and computer renderings, this book charts the creation of a modern monument.

Cover Art
Statistical Persuasion - Robert W. Pearson
Call Number: HA 29 .P348 2010
ISBN: 9781412974967
Publication Date: 2010
This text helps readers understand how to collect, manage, evaluate, and analyze data. It also provides guidelines for the presentation of analysis, especially for nonacademic audiences without training in statistical analysis. These guidelines help ensure that statistics and graphical displays tell the story that analysts want to convey while protecting their analysis from methodological criticism. Author Robert Pearson focuses attention on the conceptual understanding of statistics, while referring (sparingly) to specific formulas when they help reveal a conceptual point about the statistics. Key Features · Combines a concern for the design, collection, measurement, and the management of data with its analysis and presentation · Provides examples and data concerning real world problems in education, crime, government performance, and other policy arenas · Clearly demonstrates the steps used to generate the appropriate statistics and graphs in Excel and SPSS and then provides exercises to replicate and elaborate on these examples This book and its supporting materials are ideally suited for graduate students in professional degree programs in public policy, education, social work, criminology, urban planning, and related schools as well as advanced undergraduates in these fields. The book's explanations, descriptions, illustrations, and step-by-step exercises create the skills and knowledge required of a policy analyst, advisor, consultant or the elected or appointed public official or nonprofit officer who wants to be better able to interpret and evaluate others' applied social research. Its data sets, solutions sets, instructors' manual, lecture slides, and student workbook provide instructors with a complete and fully integrated instructional package.

Cover Art
Statistics for People Who (Think They) Hate Statistics - Neil J. Salkind
Call Number: HA 29 .S2365 2004
ISBN: 0761927883
Publication Date: 2003
This scarce antiquarian book is a facsimile reprint of the original. Due to its age, it may contain imperfections such as marks, notations, marginalia and flawed pages. Because we believe this work is culturally important, we have made it available as part of our commitment for protecting, preserving, and promoting the world's literature in affordable, high quality, modern editions that are true to the original work.

Cover Art
The Tao of Statistics - Dana K. Keller; Helen Cardiff (Illustrator)
Call Number: QA 276 .K253 2006
ISBN: 1412924731
Publication Date: 2005
The Tao of Statistics: A Path to Understanding (With No Math) provides a new approach to statistics in plain English. Unlike other introductions to statistics, this text explains what statistics mean and how they are used, rather than how to calculate them. The book walks readers through basic concepts, as well as some of the most complex statistical models in use. Professionals and college students who want to be informed about statistics but do not want to spend a lot of time learning to how compute them should not be without this volume.

Cover Art
Statistics for Marketing and Consumer Research - Mario Mazzocchi
Call Number: HF 5415.2 .M3817 2008
ISBN: 9781412911214
Publication Date: 2008
Balancing simplicity with technical rigour, this practical guide to the statistical techniques essential to research in marketing and related fields, describes each methods as well as showing how they are applied. Real data sets and detailed guidance on the use of appropriate software is included along with discussion of: - Sampling - Data management an statistical packages - Hypothesis testing - Cluster analysis - Structural equation modelling

Cover Art
Understanding and Using Advanced Statistics - Christian Yavorsky; Emma Barkus; Jeremy J. Foster
Call Number: HA 29 .F583 2006
ISBN: 9781412900133
Publication Date: 2005
The spread of sophisticated computer packages and the machinery on which to run them has meant that procedures which were previously only available to experienced researchers with access to expensive machines and research students can now be carried out in a few seconds by almost every undergraduate. Understanding and Using Advanced Statistics provides the basis for gaining an understanding of what these analytic procedures do, when they should be used, and what the results provided signify. This comprehensive textbook guides students and researchers through the transition from simple statistics to more complex procedures with accessible language and illustration.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
George Libbey
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip