This is the "Ethnographic Research" page of the "Marketing Research Methodology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Marketing Research Methodology  

Last Updated: Jan 8, 2015 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/content.php?pid=546892 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Ethnographic Research Print Page
  Search: 
 
 
 

Ethnographic Research

Cultural Struggles - Dwight Conquergood
ISBN: 9780472029297
Publication Date: 2013
You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Digital Ethnography - Natalie M. Underberg
ISBN: 9780292744349
Publication Date: 2013
You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Ethnographer's Method - Alex Stewart
Call Number: GN 346 .S74 1998
ISBN: 761903933
Publication Date: 1998

Cover Art
Ethnographer's Toolkit vols. 1-7 - Jean J. Schensul; Margaret Diane LeCompte (Editor)
Call Number: GN 345 .E73 1999
ISBN: 0761990429
Publication Date: 1999
In a series of seven brief books, the editors and authors of the Ethnographer's Tookit take you through the multiple, complex steps of doing qualitative research in simple, reader-friendly language. For individual book information, visit www.altamirapress.com.

Cover Art
The Ethnographic Interview - James P. Spradley
Call Number: GN 346.3 .S66 1979
ISBN: 9780030444968
Publication Date: 1979
The Ethnographic Interview is a practical, self-teaching handbook which guides students step by step through interview techniques commonly used to research ethnography and culture. The text also teaches students how to analyze the data they collect, and how to write an ethnography. The appendices include research questions and writing tasks.

Cover Art
Ethnography - David M. Fetterman
Call Number: GN 345 .F47 2010
ISBN: 9781412950459
Publication Date: 2009
Emphasis on the use of theory as a guide is excellent and cannot be stressed enough among students . . . . Ethical standards are comprehensively addressed. Any doubts the reader may have had are dispelled by the author s compelling arguments and illustrative examples. Patricia I. Documet, "University"" of Pittsburgh" The text has included most topics that I cover in my seminar with doctoral students and some that believe they will find helpful. One of those items an actual approach to writing a research proposal and distinctions between action research, policy research, and investigatory kinds of explorations. Barbara K. Curry, "University"" of Delaware" The Third Edition of Ethnography: Step-by-Step guides readers in collecting and making sense of large amounts of ethnographic data. It also offers current discussion about the use of technology in the pursuit of ethnography. Fundamentally, however, it demonstrates how ethnography is more than a methodological approach. For David M. Fetterman, ethnography is a way of life.

Cover Art
Ethnography for Marketers - Hy Mariampolski
Call Number: HF 5415.2 .M3164 2006
ISBN: 0761969462
Publication Date: 2005
Ethnography, with its focus on observed everyday behavior, is quickly becoming the method of choice to identify unmet needs, stimulate novel insights, create strategies and develop new ideas. Hy Mariampolski, author of Qualitative Market Research: A Comprehensive Guide (Sage, 2001) again takes readers on a voyage of discovery in Ethnography for Marketers. These two companion works are essential guides for marketers seeking rich insights into their customers' thoughts and behaviors.  

Cover Art
Ethnography: A Way of Seeing - Harry F. Wolcott
Call Number: GN 345 .W62 1999
ISBN: 0761990909
Publication Date: 1999
Harry Wolcott, one of anthropology's leading writers on ethnographic methods, here addresses the nature of the ethnographic enterprise itself. Tracing its development from its disciplinary origins in sociology and anthropology, he helps the reader understand what is distinctive about ethnography and what it means to conduct research in the ethnographic tradition. In this engaging, thought-provoking book, he distinguishes ethnography as more than just a set of field methods and practices, separating it from many related qualitative research traditions as a way of seeing through the lens of culture. For both beginning and experienced ethnographers in a wide range of disciplines, Wolcott's book will provide important ideas for improving research practice.

Cover Art
Qualitative Research and Hypermedia: Ethnography for the Digital Age - Bella Dicks; Bruce Mason; Amanda Jane Coffey; Paul A. Atkinson
ISBN: 9781847877093
Publication Date: 2005
Digital culture and digital technologies have rapidly become unavoidable and essential forms of social experience and communication in our emerging globalised society. If we want to attempt to analyse and understand our technology-saturated society, and all its new media, then we must also develop research methods and forms of analysis that can accommodate and exploit digital culture and digital technologies.This important new methods text sets out to equip qualitative researchers with the tools necessary to conduct ethnography in the age of email and the internet. It will investigate how digital technologies potentially transform the ways in which we do research. This text also introduces the reader to new emerging methods that utilise new technologies and explains how to conduct data collection, analysis and representation using new technologies and `hypermedia'.Essential reading for any student or researcher interested in qualitative research in an age of hypermedia, this text:- explains how digital technology impacts on social research;- investigates how digital technology has reshaped the field of social research;- consider the implications of bringing multimedia into the forefront of qualitative research;- suggests new ways of observing and documenting a `technologised' and design-rich society;- enables the reader to use new technologies to handle and represent qualitative data;- unpacks the theoretical implications of writing and researching for the electronic screen

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Quick Ethnography - W. Penn Handwerker
Call Number: GN 345 .H39 2001
ISBN: 0759100586
Publication Date: 2001
Quick Ethnography takes traditional anthropological fieldwork techniques and applies them to contemporary applied research problems. For most applied projects, time is of the essence, and QE shows how ethnographic work can be successfully accomplished in a matter of weeks. Handwerker guides the reader through the use of research teams, highly focussed research problems, and a variety of structured techniques. This book will be a valuable reference for fieldworkers in anthropology and sociology, and other applied social science fields.

Selecting Ethnographic Informants - Jeffrey C. Johnson (Editor)
Call Number: GN 346.3 .J64 1990
ISBN: 0803935862
Publication Date: 1990
From the author of the groundbreaking New York Times bestseller The Female Brain, here is the eagerly awaited follow-up book that demystifies the puzzling male brain. Dr. Louann Brizendine, the founder of the first clinic in the country to study gender differences in brain, behavior, and hormones, turns her attention to the male brain, showing how, through every phase of life, the "male reality" is fundamentally different from the female one. Exploring the latest breakthroughs in male psychology and neurology with her trademark accessibility and candor, she reveals that the male brain: *is a lean, mean, problem-solving machine. Faced with a personal problem, a man will use his analytical brain structures, not his emotional ones, to find a solution. *thrives under competition, instinctively plays rough and is obsessed with rank and hierarchy. *has an area for sexual pursuit that is 2.5 times larger than the female brain, consuming him with sexual fantasies about female body parts. *experiences such a massive increase in testosterone at puberty that he perceive others' faces to be more aggressive. The Male Brain finally overturns the stereotypes. Impeccably researched and at the cutting edge of scientific knowledge, this is a book that every man, and especially every woman bedeviled by a man, will need to own. Praise for The Female Brain: "Louann Brizendine has done a great favor for every man who wants to understand the puzzling women in his life. A breezy and enlightening guide to women and a must-read for men." -Daniel Goleman, author of Emotional Intelligence.

Cover Art
Specialized Ethnographic Methods - Jean J. Schensul; Margaret Diane LeCompte
Call Number: GN 345 .S628 2013
ISBN: 9780759122055
Publication Date: 2012
The second edition of the Ethnographer's Toolkit is designed with the novice field researcher in mind. In this revised and updated version, the authors of the Toolkit take the reader through a series of seven books that spell out the steps involved in doing ethnographic research in community and institutional settings. Using simple, reader-friendly language, the Toolkit includes case studies, examples, illustrations, checklists, key points, and additional resources. The Toolkit is the perfect starting point for students and faculty in the social sciences, public health, education, environmental studies; allied health, and nursing, who may be new to ethnographic research. It also introduces professionals from diverse fields to the use of observation, assessment, and evaluation for practical ways to improve programs and achieve better service outcomes. This collection of individually authored chapters provides cutting-edge approaches to ethnography. Specialized Ethnographic Methods: A Mixed Methods Approach complements the basic inventory of ethnographic data collection tools presented in Book 3 with a number of important additional approaches to conducting ethnography. These include defining and collecting cultural artifacts, collecting secondary and archival data, cultural sorting and comparing methods, spatial research and analysis, network research and analysis, use of multimedia strategies for the collection of ethnographic data, ways to recruit and study "hidden populations," and participatory ethnographic video production. These data collection strategies are called "enhanced ethnographic methods" because each of them parallels and enhances a strategy first presented in Book 3. Most ethnographers will want to use at least one or two of these enhanced ethnographic methods in their work. Each classic chapter is comprehensive, offering an introduction, description, examples of how to use the method or approach, and discussion of how to conduct effective analyses. Using Book 3 and Book 4 together adds depth and accuracy to cultural portraits and explications. Book jacket.

Cover Art
Understanding Qualitative Research and Ethnomethodology - Paul Ten Have
ISBN: 9781412933612
Publication Date: 2004
`The book makes a valuable addition to the field…providing a very useful resource for those evaluating, engaging in, or embarking on, research' - Monika Buscher, Department of Sociology, Lancaster UniversityThis book provides a discussion of qualitative research methods from an ethnomethodological perspective. Detailed yet concise, Paul ten Have's text explores the complex relation between the more traditional methods of qualitative social research and the discipline of ethnomethodology. It draws on examples from both ethnomethodological studies and the wider field of qualitative research to discuss critically an array of methods for qualitative data collection and analysis.Key features of the book include:· A broad coverage - includes discussions of interviewing, the use of documents, ethnography, and methods of data analysis· An understanding of different research traditions and illustrations of how these may be used in practice· Concise chapter summaries and further reading sections to aid student learning with a student-friendly structure, this engaging book will be an invaluable resource for both students and researchers across the social sciences.

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
George Libbey
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip